Close
Uncategorized 20 September 2018, 12:00

AS Monaco - Nimes in Ligue 1, 26 years later

Friday night at 20:45, AS Monaco receives the Nimes Olympique opening the sixth day of Ligue 1 Conforama. To find trace of a last confrontation between the two clubs in the first division must go back to the season 1992/1993.

The XI of AS Monaco: Jean-Luc Ettori, Lilian Thuram, Luc Sonor, Patrick Valery, Luiz Henrique, Marcel Dib, Claude Puel, Christian Perez, Emmanuel Petit, Jürgen Klinsmann, Yuri Djorkaeff. Coach: Arsène Wenger.

After a win and a defeat in the first two days, AS Monaco welcomes the Nimes Olympique with the desire to get another win. League runner-up the Rouge et Blanc can rely on a very high quality workforce. Note for example the presences of Jean-Luc Ettori, Emmanuel Petit or Yuri Djorkaeff.

But the player who attracts the most attention in the beginning of the 1992 season is the German rookie: Jürgen Klinsmann. And for good reason, the striker of the Mannschaft arrives on the shores of the Mediterranean with a status. Since the beginning of his career he has scored 135 goals in 292 league games (played for Stuttgarter Kickers, VfB Stuttgart and Inter Milan).

After registering a double for his first league match against Toulon, the 1990 World Champion also participates in the party against the Nimes Olympique. After opening Djorkaeff, Luiz Henrique doublesthe score before Klinsmann sealed the fate of this match (3-1). He will score twenty times in 35 league games.

The gap between the two teams is confirmed throughout the season. The Principality’s players finish in third place with a run up to the semi-finals of the Champions League. For their second season of first division rank, the Nîmes failed to maintain themselves.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Histoire 20 septembre 2018, 12:00

AS Monaco – Nîmes en Ligue 1, 26 ans après

Vendredi soir à 20 h 45, l’AS Monaco reçoit le Nîmes Olympique en ouverture de la sixième journée de Ligue 1 Conforama. Pour trouver trace d’une dernière confrontation entre les deux clubs en première division il faut remonter à la saison 1992/1993. A l’image de Djibril Sidibé cette année, les Rouge et Blanc avaient déjà un Champion du monde dans leurs rangs : Jürgen Klinsmann.

Le XI de l’AS Monaco : Jean-Luc Ettori, Lilian Thuram, Luc Sonor, Patrick Valéry, Luiz Henrique, Marcel Dib, Claude Puel, Christian Pérez, Emmanuel Petit, Jürgen Klinsmann, Youri Djorkaeff. Entraîneur : Arsène Wenger. 

Après une victoire et une défaite lors des deux premières journées, l’AS Monaco accueille le Nîmes Olympique avec l’envie de repartir du bon pied. Vice-champion en titre, les Rouge et Blanc peuvent s’appuyer sur un effectif de très grande qualité. On notera par exemple les présences de Jean-Luc Ettori, Emmanuel Petit ou encore Youri Djorkaeff.

Mais le joueur qui attire le plus l’attention en ce début de saison 1992, c’est la recrue allemande : Jürgen Klinsmann. Et pour cause, le buteur de la Mannschaft arrive sur les bords de la Méditerranée avec un statut. Depuis le début de sa carrière, il a inscrit 135 buts en 292 rencontres de championnat (passé par le Stuttgarter Kickers, le VfB Stuttgart et l’Inter Milan).

Après avoir inscrit un doublé pour sa première en championnat contre Toulon, le Champion du monde 1990 participe également à la fête contre le Nîmes Olympique. Après l’ouverture du score de Djorkaeff, Luiz Henrique double la mise avant que Klinsmann ne scelle le sort de ce match (3-1). Il marquera à vingt reprises en 35 matchs de championnat.

L’écart entre les deux équipes se confirme tout au long de la saison. Les joueurs de la Principauté terminent à la troisième place avec un parcours jusqu’en demi-finale de la Ligue des Champions. Pour leur deuxième saison de rang en première division, les Nîmois ne réussissent pas à se maintenir.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.