Close
Matches 10 December 2020, 14:15

They wore the jersey of both AS Monaco and OM

They wore the jersey of both AS Monaco and OM
Like Paris Saint-Germain, who we faced three weeks ago, many players have played for both AS Monaco and Olympique Marseille. Here's an overview of the 38 players who have worn both jerseys.

This Saturday, Olympique de Marseille and AS Monaco will face each other for the 98th time in league history. One of the biggest rivalries in Ligue 1 has turned very slightly in favor of the Marseille club by the numbers, with 39 victories against 34 for the Red and Whites. But if this clash for regional supremacy has always attracted a lot of fans, who see it having the makings of a derby, despite the 226 kilometers that separate the Stade Vélodrome from the Stade Louis-II. Above all, it is an opportunity to remember that many players have played for both sides.

Fabien Barthez, a bulwark of winning sides

To date, 40 players have defended the colors of AS Monaco and OM — 38 players as well as two coaches. Many have won titles with both teams. Among the best known of them, is obviously the 1998 world champion and winner of Euro 2000 with France, probably the greatest French goalkeeper in history: Fabien Barthez. Winner of the Champions League in 1993 with Eric Di Meco and Manuel Amoros in particular, Les Bleus‘ goalkeeper was also  champion of France 1997 and 2000 in the Diagonale.

Manu Amoros, a product of the AS Monaco training center (348 games with the Red and White), probably remains one of the most successful players with five French league titles to his credit, two with his first club (1982, 1988) and three with Marseille (1990, 1991, 1992). Eric Di Meco does as well as, having won the European championship in 1984 with Les Bleus and five league titles as well. After winning four straight titles with OM, as well as the Champions League in 1993, he experienced success in 1997 with Jean Tigana’s AS Monaco.

Five Champions League winners in 1993

But they are not the only winners of the Champions League to have worn both shirts. There is Didier Deschamps, who obviously never played for AS Monaco, but has coached the Principality club, having been a key to the epic European run in 2004. A World Champion 1998 and a European Champion in 2000, like Fabien Barthez, he was the captain of OM in 1993, in the win against the great AC Milan. That day, Basile Boli, author of the winning goal with the header, and Franck Sauzée, both of whom turned out in Monegasque colors, were also starters.

Other big names have also spent time in the Principality and on the Cannebière: Rolland Courbis, Bernard Genghini, Sonny Anderson and George Weah, especially on the Monegasque side. But we must also talk about the great Lucien Leduc, a legend in the history of AS Monaco. Three times league champion and twice winner of the Coupe de France on the Monaco bench, the great manager of the 60s and 70s also won two titles with OM, with whom he would win the double in 1972… after having done the same with the Red and Whites in 1963!

He was a great man in French football, who perfectly symbolizes the common history shared by these two emblematic clubs of the French league. Here is the list of 38 players and two coaches, who donned the colors of these two legendary clubs, AS Monaco and Olympique de Marseille. We’re obviously also noting our two former players who now work in the Academy, Manu Dos Santos and Gaël Givet.

The 38 players who featured for AS Monaco and OM

Goalkeepers: Fabien Barthez, Stéphane Porato

Defenders: Aymen Abdennour, Manuel Amoros, Patrick Blondeau, Basile Boli, Laurent Bonnart, Philippe Christanval, Rolland Courbis, Eric Di Meco, Cyril Domoraud, Manu Dos Santos, Patrice Evra, Gaël Givet, Yvon Le Roux, Nicolas N’Koulou, Benjamin Mendy, Julien Rodriguez

Midfielders: Lucas Bernardi, Daniel Bravo, Édouard Cissé, Marcel Dib, Albert Émon, Bernard Genghini, Xavier Gravelaine, Sabri Lamouchi, Camel Mériem, Raul Noguès, Lucas Ocampos, Franck Sauzée, William Vainqueur

Forwards: Sonny Anderson, Valère Germain, Toifilou Maoulida, Fernando Morientes, Serge Roy, Gil Rui Barros, George Weah,

Managers: Didier Deschamps & Lucien Leduc

 

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Histoire 10 décembre 2020, 14:15

Ils ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco et de l’OM

Ils ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco et de l’OM
A l’image du Paris Saint-Germain, affronté il y a trois semaines, beaucoup de joueurs passés par l’AS Monaco ont également défendu les couleurs de l’Olympique de Marseille. Tour d’horizon des 38 joueurs qui ont porté les deux maillots.

Ce samedi, l’Olympique de Marseille et l’AS Monaco vont s’affronter pour la 98e fois de l’histoire en championnat. Un duel phare de la Ligue 1 donc, qui tourne très légèrement en faveur du club phocéen dans les chiffres, avec 39 victoires contre 34 pour les Rouge et Blanc. Mais si cet affrontement pour la suprématie régionale a toujours beaucoup attiré les supporters, qui y voient les ingrédients d’un derby, malgré les 226 kilomètres qui séparent le stade Vélodrome du Stade Louis-II. Il est surtout l’occasion de rappeler que beaucoup de joueurs ont porté les deux maillots.

Fabien Barthez, le dernier rempart de la gagne

A ce jour, ils sont 40 à avoir défendu les couleurs de l’AS Monaco et de l’OM, 38 joueurs ainsi que deux coachs. Beaucoup ont d’ailleurs remporté des titres avec les deux formations. Parmi les plus connus d’entre eux, on retrouve évidemment le champion du Monde 1998 et vainqueur de l’Euro 2000 avec l’équipe de France. Probablement le plus grand gardien tricolore de l’histoire : Fabien Barthez. Vainqueur de la Coupe des clubs champions en 1993 avec Eric Di Meco et Manuel Amoros notamment, le portier des Bleus a ensuite été sacré champion de France 1997 et 2000 avec la Diagonale sur les épaules.

Manu Amoros justement, sorti du centre de formation de l’AS Monaco (348 matchs avec les Rouge et Blanc), reste probablement l’un des joueurs les plus titrés avec cinq trophées de champion de France à son actif, deux avec son club formateur (1982, 1988) et trois avec Marseille (1990, 1991, 1992). Eric Di Meco fait aussi bien que le champion d’Europe 84 avec les Bleus, avec cinq titres également. Après avoir raflé quatre titres d’affilée avec l’OM, ainsi que la coupe aux grandes oreilles en 1993, il sera couronné de succès en 1997 avec l’AS Monaco de Jean Tigana.

Cinq vainqueurs de la C1 en 1993

Mais ils ne sont pas les seuls vainqueurs de l’ancêtre de la Ligue des Champions à avoir connu les deux maillots. Didier Deschamps, qui a n’a évidemment jamais joué pour l’AS Monaco. En revanche, il a entraîné le club de la Principauté, s’offrant même la plus belle épopée européenne en 2004. Champion du Monde 1998 et d’Europe 2000, comme Fabien Barthez, c’était lui le capitaine de l’OM en 1993, lors de la victoire face au grand AC Milan. Ce jour-là, Basile Boli, auteur du but vainqueur de la tête, et Franck Sauzée, tous deux passés sous la bannière monégasque, étaient également titulaires.

D’autres grands noms ont évidemment marqué leur passage en Principauté ou bien sur la Cannebière : Rolland Courbis, Bernard Genghini, Sonny Anderson ou encore George Weah, surtout côté monégasque. Mais comment ne pas parler du grand Lucien Leduc, monument de l’histoire du club du Rocher. Trois fois champion et deux fois vainqueur de la Coupe de France sur le banc de Monaco, le grand entraîneur des années 60-70, a aussi raflé deux titres avec l’OM, avec qui il réalisera le doublé en 1972… après l’avoir fait avec les Rouge et Blanc en 1963 !

Un grand monsieur du football français, qui symbolise parfaitement l’histoire commune que partagent ces deux clubs emblématiques du championnat de France. Voici donc la liste des 38 joueurs et deux coachs, qui ont défendu les couleurs de ces deux grands fanions que sont l’AS Monaco et l’Olympique de Marseille. Avec évidemment nos deux anciens joueurs reconvertis à la formation au sein de l’Academy, Manu Dos Santos et Gaël Givet.

Les 38 joueurs passés par l’AS Monaco et l’OM

Gardiens : Fabien Barthez, Stéphane Porato

Défenseurs : Aymen Abdennour, Manuel Amoros, Patrick Blondeau, Basile Boli, Laurent Bonnart, Philippe Christanval, Rolland Courbis, Eric Di Meco, Cyril Domoraud, Manu Dos Santos, Patrice Evra, Gaël Givet, Yvon Le Roux, Nicolas N’Koulou, Benjamin Mendy, Julien Rodriguez

Milieux : Lucas Bernardi, Daniel Bravo, Édouard Cissé, Marcel Dib, Albert Émon, Bernard Genghini, Xavier Gravelaine, Sabri Lamouchi, Camel Mériem, Raul Noguès, Lucas Ocampos, Franck Sauzée, William Vainqueur

Attaquants : Sonny Anderson, Valère Germain, Toifilou Maoulida, Fernando Morientes, Serge Roy, Gil Rui Barros, George Weah,

Entraîneurs : Didier Deschamps & Lucien Leduc

 

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.