Close
PES 04 November 2020, 18:30

Imad Mihoubi: "Exceptional to join AS Monaco Esports"

Imad Mihoubi: "Exceptional to join AS Monaco Esports"
Imad Mihoubi is the new Coach of AS Monaco Esports. In a long interview, this PES enthusiast, who also keeps a close eye on FIFA, retraces his career and recounts his arrival at the Club.

Aged 31, Imad Mihoubi is the new Coach of AS Monaco Esports. Founder of Neo eSports in 2016, this video game enthusiast, and one who is, in particular, a fan of of football, has trained many professional players on FIFA, but has also known, for many years, the three players who form the PES roster for AS Monaco Esports: Kilzyou, Lotfi and Usmakabyle. Moreover, it is on this game that the player who calls himself “ID7Kun” on social networks has developed his fame, notably by reproducing many real goals on simulation. Here is an interview to learn more about our new coach.

What are your earliest memories of video games?

I have always been passionate about video games. I was never a big geek, but to repeat the story, I’ve been a fan since Super Nintendo. My uncle had this console, and I watched him play. It was a bit like Twitch before its time! I remember the games, it was Donkey Kong Country and Street Fighter II. Good memories like that will be remembered for life.

Did your passion for soccer games develop next?

I discovered International Superstar Soccer, the ancestor of Pro Evolution Soccer. PES is really the game that made me buy all the consoles. As soon as it comes out, every year or on a Nextgen (name given to new generation consoles, note), I adapt to that new version. Next to that, in terms of the games that can get me out of a daily e-football routine, there is The Last Of Us, which is really my favorite because I had even given up on PES a bit but then it was time to get back to it.

Speaking more generally about Esport, how did you get into this environment?

It was in 2016, when I launched my Neo eSports team, although I myself was a competitor before that in PES. So I have this activity of president of the team and alongside that, I am also a social media manager and content creator.

We know you in particular for your famous videos where you reproduce real goals on PES. How did this idea come about originally?

I saw a lot of fairly redundant content happening: those that are filmed while playing, or tutorials, for example. Me, I really like the creative aspect and the realistic aspect of PES which has been on a very good trajectory since 2015. I told myself that the game was being under exploited in this respect. No one knows that in PES there is all the entertainment one can find in real football. This history of remakes began in 2016, when Johan Cruyff passed away. I paid tribute to him by reproducing two of his famous goals, and I really liked the idea because it can reach an audience that is not necessarily specialized in video games. Whoever watches the remake remembers their memories of those goals. And then one day, while sitting in my room, someone called to tell me that it just came was featured in L’Equipe. I thought I was being trolled and then I noticed that my views had increased considerably. Seeing that people liked it, I continued to make them. I like doing it because it puts me back into a context that enhances my love for football.

 

My mission will be to support the players in order to put them in the best possible condition, provide them with moral support and to be a presence during in-person competitions. Creating this link between the club and the players will allow them to be in the best condition to perform. I will really be there to allow them to flourish and to allow them to think only of their performance itself, removing all extraneous concern for them.
Imad MihoubiCoach, AS Monaco Esports

How does the creation of a goal happen?

By dint of doing it, I know the mechanics of the game and what some players are capable of doing. Now, it’s true that I’m a little faster than before, but the time to create a goal depends on a lot of things, whether the ball hits the bar or not for example. Most of the work is mostly preparation, because I manipulate the game to make it realistic. I have someone in South America who does the boots for me, another person in Russia who is an excellent face-maker (making realistic faces in the game), we can also change all the LED panels around the pitch … There are a lot of possibilities to make things as realistic as possible.

Is there a remake you’re most proud of?

Riyad Mahrez’s against Nigeria, in the semifinals of CAN 2019. I am of Algerian descent. That free kick, in the last minute, I felt he was going to score it. He did, and my brother then suggested that I go and celebrate the event downstairs in the house where a few people had already gathered. I tell him no, because I want to make a remake of the goal. It was a way for me to celebrate the team’s qualification for the finals. It was my first big hit, as Bleacher Report and 4-3-3 picked up the video. Just talking about it gives me chills.

 

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Remake of @riyadmahrez26.7 free-kick against Nigeria in #afcon2019 🇩🇿🎯 . #Mahrez #algeria #dz #can2019 #pes2019

Une publication partagée par ID Kun (@id7kun) le

So far, we’ve talked a lot about PES. Are you following the FIFA community, too?

I have always been a PES player, but when I created my team, I couldn’t just stick to PES. FIFA offers a more developed circuit, so at Neo eSports, we recruited players for this game, such as Coco-V-Bastos or Mino7x who are now professionals. And then there was also Kilzyou and Usmakabyle, who did a bit of both. Since the inception of the e-LEAGUE 1, Neo eSports has always had a representative, whether in winter or spring. I’m used to having FIFA players in recent years.

And the two games, their gameplay, their modes of play, what is your opinion?

There are a lot more people on FIFA than on PES, and the difference is made here. People buy FIFA. When we still talk about the famous PES 6, it’s been 15 years already! People don’t realize time flies. The delusions about Adriano are good, but let’s live in the moment. PES is working hard to catch up, even if they still have a way to go. The problem with PES is really the content and the ergonomics of the game, but the gameplay is superb. It’s the other way around for FIFA: I don’t really buy into the gameplay, but for example, in modes like “Pro Club” you get on Discord with your friends and have a blast. Honestly, if you combined the gameplay from PES and the content from FIFA, you would have the best football game.

 

I started in PES as a competitor and then saw Esport take an interesting turn afterwards. When I had Kilzyou, Lotfi and Usmakabyle with me at Neo eSports, I really had a fantastic roster. For me, it's a kind of recognition for the work that has been done. I know them well. We started off small, we played small tournaments in our city, and a few years later, here we are. “From the bottom to the top”, as they say.
Imad MihoubiCoach, AS Monaco Esports

Let’s look back at your arrival at AS Monaco Esports. How did the first contacts go?

It was Simon Rémoussin, Head of AS Monaco Esports, who contacted me on Twitter. He was interested in my profile and we talked a lot. He wanted to know more about me, about my profile, my mindset, my expertise. I have always followed AS Monaco Esports because the players I trained at Neo Esport have become professionals there. When I was offered this project, which I find great, I didn’t hesitate because I’m starting to be limited a bit. We are only a group of players, and we cannot afford to compete without the support and financial means of a professional club. We specialize in e-Foot, and managing my former players in a team as prestigious as AS Monaco Esports is a pleasure. It’s all coming full circle.

What will be your future role within the Club?

My mission will be to support the players in order to put them in the best possible condition, provide them with moral support and to be a presence during in-person competitions. Creating this link between the club and the players will allow them to be in the best condition to perform. I will really be there to allow them to flourish and to allow them to think only of their performance itself, removing all extraneous concern for them.

Imad Mihoubi alongside Lotfi, Kilzyou and Usmakabyle

What does joining AS Monaco Esports mean to you?

It’s an exceptional moment as I have always been a fan of Esport — I started in PES as a competitor and then saw Esport take an interesting turn afterwards. When I had Kilzyou, Lotfi and Usmakabyle with me at Neo eSports, I really had a fantastic roster. For me, it’s a kind of recognition for the work that has been done. I know them well. We started off small, we played small tournaments in our city, and a few years later, here we are. “From the bottom to the top”, as they say.

How did your first match go?

Kilzyou and Usmakabyle were my teammates, we were on the PES 95 team. We were doing tournaments together, and Lotfi joined us later. Before being their manager, I was really their teammate, especially with Kilzyou and Usmakabyle. It was from PES 2016 that I had more and more managerial tasks, and I really liked this role because I didn’t have the time to compete or spend time on the game.

 

We wish to have  a good level of continuity, to once again go on to seek victory in the end. This is a criterion that we always had at Neo eSports, with the incredible level of the players. This is the ultimate goal, and we know it is within our grasp. They have already proven it.
Imad MihoubiCoach, AS Monaco Esports

And about these three players Lotfi, Kilzyou and Usmakabyle, what more can you tell us?

They are really top talents. On PES 2016, they won everything, notably Usmakabyle who was world champion. The relationship I have with them is really special. Kilzyou, I knew him when he was 13. He was very small, with his mother. Lotfi, as I said just before, arrived a bit later but he integrated well right away. A real relationship has been established, we all live next door to each other and we chat every day. This proximity is very important. The family spirit means that the players will then fight for the jersey and for each other. They don’t have to be there just to play. Communication is really the key word. They are like my little cousins.

How did they react when you told them you were their coach again?

They were happy. It touched me that they were happy that I could join them. The time invested has paid off, whether for me or for them. No matter what happens, there are always bright spots among the darkness. When I think back to the tournaments we had at the time and the tournaments we are going to do now, together, at AS Monaco Esports…

To conclude, then — what are your objectives with the Club?

We wish to have  a good level of continuity, to once again go on to seek victory in the end. This is a criterion that we always had at Neo eSports, with the incredible level of the players. This is the ultimate goal, and we know it is within our grasp. They have already proven it.

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Esports 04 novembre 2020, 18:30

Imad Mihoubi : "Exceptionnel de rejoindre l'AS Monaco Esports"

Imad Mihoubi : "Exceptionnel de rejoindre l'AS Monaco Esports"
Imad Mihoubi est le nouveau Coach de l'AS Monaco Esports. A travers une longue interview, ce passionné de PES, qui garde un oeil attentif sur FIFA, retrace son parcours et raconte son arrivée au sein du Club.

Agé de 31 ans, Imad Mihoubi est le nouveau Coach de l’AS Monaco Esports. Fondateur de la structure Neo eSports en 2016, ce passionné de jeux-vidéos, et un peu plus particulièrement de ceux de football, a formé de nombreux joueurs professionnels sur FIFA, mais connaît également depuis de longues années les trois joueurs qui forment le roster PES de l’AS Monaco Esports, Kilzyou, Lotfi et Usmakabyle. C’est d’ailleurs sur ce jeu que celui qui se nomme “ID7Kun” sur les réseaux sociaux a développé sa notoriété, en reproduisant notamment de nombreux buts réels sur la simulation. Interview à la découverte de notre nouveau Coach.

Quels sont tes premiers souvenirs de jeux-vidéos ?

J’ai toujours été un passionné de jeux-vidéos. Je n’ai jamais été un gros geek, mais pour reprendre l’histoire, je suis fan depuis la Super Nintendo. Mon oncle avait cette console, et je le regardais jouer. C’était un peu le Twitch avant l’heure ! Je me rappelle des jeux, il s’agissait de Donkey Kong Country et de Street Fighter II. Des bons souvenirs comme ça, on s’en rappelle à vie.

Ta passion pour les jeux de football est apparue ensuite ?

J’ai découvert International Superstar Soccer, l’ancêtre de Pro Evolution Soccer. PES est vraiment le jeu qui fait que j’achète toutes les consoles. Dès qu’il sort, chaque année ou sur une Nextgen (nom donné aux consoles nouvelle génération, ndlr), je m’adapte. A côté, dans les jeux qui peuvent me sortir de ce quotidien de l’e-Foot, il y a The Last Of Us, qui est vraiment mon favori car j’avais même délaissé un peu PES le temps de le terminer.

Pour parler plus globalement Esport, comment es-tu entré dans ce milieu ?

C’était en 2016, lorsque j’ai lancé ma structure Neo eSports, même si j’étais moi-même compétiteur avant cela sur PES. J’ai donc cette activité de président de la structure et à côté, je suis aussi social media manager et créateur de contenu.

On te connaît notamment pour tes célèbres vidéos où tu reproduis des vrais buts (des remakes, ndlr) sur PES. Comment étais-venue cette idée à l’origine ?

Je voyais passer beaucoup de contenus assez redondants : ceux qui se filment en jouant, qui font des tutoriels, par exemple. Moi, j’aime beaucoup l’aspect créatif et le côté réaliste de PES qui a pris une très bonne trajectoire depuis 2015. Je me suis dit que le jeu était sous exploité. Personne ne sait que sur PES, il y a toutes les animations que l’on retrouve dans le vrai football. Cette histoire des remakes a commencé en 2016, lorsque Johan Cruyff est décédé. Je lui ai rendu hommage en reproduisant deux de ses buts, et j’ai vraiment kiffé l’idée car elle peut toucher un public qui n’est pas forcément spécialisé dans le jeu-vidéo. Celui qui visionne le remake se remémore des souvenirs. Et puis un jour, en étant posé dans ma chambre, on m’appelle pour me dire que cela vient de sortir sur L’Equipe. Je pensais qu’on me trollait (chambrait, ndlr), et là, j’ai constaté que mes vues avaient considérablement augmentées. En voyant que les gens aimaient ça, j’ai continué. Ca me plait de le faire car ça me replonge dans un contexte et étoffe ma culture footballistique.

Ma mission sera d’accompagner les joueurs afin de les mettre dans les meilleures dispositions, leur apporter un soutien moral et d’avoir une présence lors des compétitions physiques. La création de cette liaison entre la structure et les joueurs leur permettra d’être dans les meilleures conditions pour avoir des performances. Je serai vraiment là pour leur permettre de s’épanouir et de ne devoir penser qu’à la performance en elle-même, en leur enlevant toutes les charges parasites.
Imad MihoubiCoach de l'AS Monaco Esports

Comment se passe la création d’un but ?

A force d’en faire, je connais les mécaniques du jeu et ce que sont capables de faire certains joueurs. Maintenant, c’est vrai que je suis un peu plus rapide qu’avant, mais le temps de création d’un but dépend de plein d’éléments, si le ballon touche la barre ou pas par exemple. Le gros du travail est surtout la préparation, car je patch le jeu pour le rendre réaliste. J’ai quelqu’un en Amérique du Sud qui me modélise les crampons, une autre personne en Russie qui est un excellent facemaker (acte de reproduction des visages dans le jeu, ndlr), on peut changer tous les panneaux LEDs autour du terrain… Il y a énormément de possibilités pour que ce soit le plus réaliste possible.

Est-ce qu’il y a un remake dont tu es le plus fier ?

Celui de Riyad Mahrez contre le Nigéria, en demi-finale de la CAN 2019. Je suis d’origine algérienne. Ce coup-franc, à la dernière minute, je sentais qu’il allait le marquer. Il le fait, et mon frère me propose ensuite d’aller fêter l’événement en bas de la maison où quelques personnes se sont déjà rassemblées. Je lui réponds alors que non, car je veux faire un remake du but. Cela représentait pour moi une façon de célébrer cette qualification. Ca a été mon premier coup d’éclat, car les comptes Bleacher Report et 4-3-3 ont repris la vidéo. Rien que d’en parler, j’en ai les frissons.

Jusqu’ici, nous avons beaucoup parlé de PES. L’écosystème FIFA, tu le suis un peu, aussi ?

J’ai toujours été un joueur PES, mais lorsque j’ai créé ma structure, je ne pouvais pas me cantonner à PES. FIFA propose un circuit plus développé, donc à la Neo eSports, nous avions recruté des joueurs sur ce jeu, comme Coco-V-Bastos ou encore Mino7x qui sont aujourd’hui professionnels. Et puis il y avait aussi Kilzyou et Usmakabyle, qui faisaient un peu les deux. Depuis la création de l’e-LIGUE 1, la Neo eSports a toujours eu un représentant, que ce soit à l’hiver au printemps. J’ai toujours été habitué à avoir des joueurs FIFA ces dernières années.

Et sur les deux jeux, leurs gameplay, leurs modes de jeu, quel regard portes-tu ?

Il y a beaucoup plus de monde sur FIFA que sur PES, et la différence se fait ici. Les gens achètent FIFA. Lorsque l’on parle encore de ce fameux PES 6, ça fait 15 ans ! Les gens ne se rendent pas compte, le temps passe vite. Les délires sur Adriano, c’est bien, mais vivons le moment actuel. PES fait de nombreux efforts pour rattraper ce retard, même s’il leur reste du chemin. Le problème de PES, ce sont vraiment les contenus et l’ergonomie du jeu, mais le gameplay est superbe. C’est l’inverse pour FIFA : je n’adhère pas vraiment au gameplay, mais par exemple, dans des modes comme le “Club pro”, tu te mets sur Discord avec tes potes et tu t’éclates. Honnêtement, si l’on combinait le gameplay de PES et les contenus de FIFA, on aurait le meilleur jeu de football.

J’ai commencé sur PES en tant que compétiteur et vu que l’Esport prenait ensuite un virage intéressant. Lorsque j’avais Kilzyou, Lotfi et Usmakabyle dans la Neo eSports, j’avais vraiment un roster fantastique. Pour moi, c’est une certaine reconnaissance par rapport au travail qui a été fait. Je les connais par coeur. On a commencé, on faisait des petits tournois dans notre ville, et quelques années plus tard, nous voici rassemblés. “Floor the bottom to the top”, comme on dit.
Imad MihoubiCoach de l'AS Monaco Esports

Revenons-en à ton arrivée au sein de l’AS Monaco Esports. Comment se sont passés les premiers contacts ?

C’est Simon Rémoussin, le Responsable de l’AS Monaco Esports, qui m’a contacté sur Twitter. Il était intéressé par mon profil et nous avons beaucoup discuté. Il voulait en savoir plus sur moi, sur mon profil, mon état d’esprit, mon expertise. J’ai toujours suivi l’AS Monaco Esports car les joueurs que j’ai formés à la Neo Esport y sont devenus professionnels. Lorsqu’on m’a proposé ce projet, que je trouve formidable, je n’ai pas hésité car je commence à avoir fait un peu le tour avec ma structure. Nous ne sommes qu’une association, et nous n’avons pas les moyens de rivaliser avec l’encadrement et les moyens financiers d’un club professionnel. Nous sommes spécialisés e-Foot, et gérer mes anciens joueurs dans une structure aussi prestigieuse que l’AS Monaco Esports est un plaisir. C’est un peu comme une boucle finalement.

Quel va être ton futur rôle au sein du Club ?

Ma mission sera d’accompagner les joueurs afin de les mettre dans les meilleures dispositions, leur apporter un soutien moral et d’avoir une présence lors des compétitions physiques. La création de cette liaison entre la structure et les joueurs leur permettra d’être dans les meilleures conditions pour avoir des performances. Je serai vraiment là pour leur permettre de s’épanouir et de ne devoir penser qu’à la performance en elle-même, en leur enlevant toutes les charges parasites.

Imad Mihoubi aux côtés de Lotfi, Kilzyou et Usmakabyle

Que représente pour toi le fait de rejoindre l’AS Monaco Esports ?

C’est exceptionnel dans la mesure où j’ai toujours été fan d’Esport. J’ai commencé sur PES en tant que compétiteur et vu que l’Esport prenait ensuite un virage intéressant. Lorsque j’avais Kilzyou, Lotfi et Usmakabyle dans la Neo eSports, j’avais vraiment un roster fantastique. Pour moi, c’est une certaine reconnaissance par rapport au travail qui a été fait. Je les connais par coeur. On a commencé, on faisait des petits tournois dans notre ville, et quelques années plus tard, nous voici rassemblés. “Floor the bottom to the top”, comme on dit.

Comment s’était passée votre première rencontre ?

Kilzyou et Usmakabyle étaient mes coéquipiers, on était dans la team PES 95. On faisait des tournois ensemble, et Lotfi nous a rejoints plus tard. Avant d’être leur manager, j’étais vraiment leurs coéquipiers, surtout pour Kilzyou et Usmakabyle. C’est à partir de PES 2016 que j’ai eu de plus en plus de tâches managériales, et je préférais vraiment ce rôle-là car je n’avais plus le temps de faire des compétitions ou de passer du temps sur le jeu.

Nous souhaitons rester dans la continuité, en allant une nouvelle fois chercher la victoire finale. C’est un critère que l’on a toujours eu à la Neo eSports, avec le niveau incroyable des joueurs. C’est le but ultime, et on sait qu’il est à notre portée. Ils l’ont déjà prouvé.
Imad MihoubiCoach de l'AS Monaco Esports

Et sur ces trois joueurs que sont Lotfi, Kilzyou et Usmakabyle, que peux-tu nous dire de plus ?

Ce sont vraiment des cracks. Sur PES 2016, ils ont tout raflé, notamment Usmakabyle qui a été champion du monde. La relation que j’ai avec eux est vraiment particulière. Kilzyou, je l’ai connu lorsqu’il avait 13 ans. Il était tout petit, avec sa mère. Lotfi, comme je l’ai dit juste avant, est arrivé un peu plus tard mais il s’est tout de suite bien intégré. Une vraie relation s’est installée, on habite tous à côté et on discute vraiment tous les jours. Cette proximité est très importante. L’esprit de famille fait qu’ensuite, les joueurs vont se battre pour le maillot et pour leurs convictions. Il ne faut pas qu’ils soient là juste pour jouer. La communication est vraiment le maître-mot. Ce sont comme mes petits cousins.

Comment ont-ils réagi lorsque tu leur as appris que tu étais à nouveau leur coach ?

Ils étaient contents. Ca m’a touché qu’ils soient satisfaits du fait que je puisse les rejoindre. Le temps a payé, que ce soit pour moi ou pour eux. Peu importe ce qu’il se passe, il y a toujours des éclaircies parmi l’obscurité. Quand je repense aux tournois que l’on faisait à l’époque et ceux que l’on va faire désormais, ensemble, à l’AS Monaco Esports…

Justement, pour conclure : quels sont tes objectifs avec le Club ?

Nous souhaitons rester dans la continuité, en allant une nouvelle fois chercher la victoire finale. C’est un critère que l’on a toujours eu à la Neo eSports, avec le niveau incroyable des joueurs. C’est le but ultime, et on sait qu’il est à notre portée. Ils l’ont déjà prouvé.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.