Close
Team 15 October 2019, 04:17

France and Turkey share the spoils

France and Turkey share the spoils
Les Bleusconceded a draw against Turkey on Monday night at the Stade de France (1-1). Wissam Ben Yedder led the French attack.

In a hotly contested match, the Monegasque striker was unable to profit from the close quarters offered by a  Turkish defense sat deep in their half, before being replaced in the 72nd minute by Olivier Giroud, who opened the scoring of the head at a corner four minutes later.

From there, Les Bleus saw Turkey draw level on a free kick by Ayhan in the 81st minute. Despite having been domineering, Didier Deschamps’ players conceded a draw that allows the Turks to retain the lead of Group H following their victory in the reverse fixture.

Both teams have 19 points, while Iceland remains behind with 15 points after their success against Andorra (2-0). France will still have to beat Moldova on 14 November to secure its qualification for Euro 2020.

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Sélection 14 octobre 2019, 22:55

La France et la Turquie dos à dos

La France et la Turquie dos à dos
Les Bleus ont concédé le match nul face à la Turquie ce lundi soir au Stade de France (1-1). Wissam Ben Yedder était titulaire sur le front de l'attaque française.

Dans un match très disputé, l’attaquant monégasque s’est montré disponible dans les petits espaces face à une défense turque regroupée devant sa surface, avant d’être remplacé à la 72e par Olivier Giroud, qui a ouvert le score de la tête sur corner quatre minutes plus tard.

Mais les Bleus ont vu la Turquie revenir sur un coup de pied arrêté exploité par Ayhan à la 81e minute. Pourtant dominateurs, les joueurs de Didier Deschamps ont concédé un match nul qui permet aux Turcs de conserver la tête du Groupe H au bénéfice de leur victoire du match aller.

Les deux équipes comptent 19 points, l’Islande reste en embuscade avec 15 points après son succès contre Andorre (2-0). La France devra encore battre la Moldavie le 14 novembre prochain pour assurer sa qualification pour l’Euro 2020.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.