Close

1930-1960: Growing in Stature

1930-1960: Growing in Stature

After some difficult experiences at the beginning of the 1930s, and then again at the end of the Second World War, it was at the dawn of the 1950s that AS Monaco began to impose itself at the highest level.

On September 3, 1933, against neighboring of Football Athlétic Club de Nice, AS Monaco won their very first professional match, in Division 2 South, but the Nice club having folded during the season erases the result. Thus the team’s first official victory at this level came against FC Lyon (5-1) a few weeks later. Despite these promising beginnings, the process of learning to be a professional team is painful. The club was close to a move to Division 1, but its dream collapsed after losing a promotion playoff against St-Etienne (2-4). Worse, facing financial problems, the club was forced to drop back into amateur football. Everything was in need of a reset, and it would take the club fourteen years to play another professional match.

1939, the first Stade Louis-II is opened

AS Monaco eventually came back to being on more solid footing, winning several regional titles, such as in the 1936-1937 season, and with the opening of the Stade Louis II opposite the Port of Fontvieille in 1939 the Club finally had an infrastructure worthy of its ambitions, but World War II shattered the team’s momentum. During the conflict, the club remained active in the Provence Championship, even winning in 1941-1942, and it also reached the quarterfinals of the Coupe de France during that same season.

1953: A first spell in Division 1

At the end of the war, the 1947-1948 season saw the team win the South-East Honor Division, a success which allowed it to move back up to Division 2 and therefore regain their professional status. It was again against Lyon and by the same score, 5-,1 that the team’s first win would come in the following season. Benefiting from the unwavering support of Prince Rainier III, who had succeeded his grandfather, Prince Louis II, AS Monaco finally reached Division 1 in 1953. On August 23 of that same year, the Red and White competed in (and lost) their first match at this level against Toulouse FC.

On the podium at the Coupe de France

Their first finish on the Division 1 podium came at the end of the 1955-1956 season, a performance which was repeated two years later, in 1957-1958. The following season marked a real turning point for AS Monaco with the arrival of Lucien Leduc as coach. He would lead the club to its first great success, winning the Coupe de France in 1959-1960. Victorious over AS St-Etienne at the end of a nerve-jangling final (4-2 after extra time), AS Monaco thus wrote the first line of what would become a long list of honors.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer

1930-1960 : La montée en puissance

1930-1960 : La montée en puissance

Après des premières expériences difficiles au début des années 30, puis au sortir de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, c’est à l’aube des années 50 que l’AS Monaco s’impose au plus haut niveau.

Le 3 septembre 1933, face au voisin du Football Athlétic Club de Nice, l’AS Monaco remporte son tout premier match professionnel en Division 2 (groupe Sud). Mais le forfait du club niçois en cours de saison efface le résultat. Ainsi la première victoire officielle à ce niveau intervient contre le FC Lyon (5-1) quelques semaines plus tard. Malgré des débuts prometteurs, l’apprentissage du professionnalisme se fait dans la douleur. Le club est aux portes de la Division 1, mais son rêve s’effondre après un barrage d’accession perdu contre St-Etienne (2-4). Pire, faisant face à des problèmes financiers, le club est contraint de retrouver le monde amateur. Tout est à refaire, il lui faudra quatorze ans pour disputer à nouveau un match professionnel.

1939, inauguration du premier Stade Louis-II

L’AS Monaco repart sur des bases plus solides, remportant notamment plusieurs titres régionaux, comme lors de la saison 1936-1937, et l’inauguration du Stade Louis II face au Port de Fontvieille en 1939 lui offre enfin une infrastructure digne de ses ambitions. Mais la Seconde Guerre Mondiale brise ce bel élan. Durant le conflit, le club reste actif au sein du Championnat de Provence, remporté en 1941-1942, il atteint également les quarts de finale de la Coupe de France lors de cette même saison.

1953 : premier match en Division 1

Au sortir de la guerre, la saison 1947-1948 voit l’équipe remporter la Division d’Honneur Sud-Est, succès qui lui permet de retrouver la Division 2 et donc le statut professionnel. Comme un symbole, c’est à nouveau face à Lyon et sur le même score de 5-1 qu’intervient le premier succès de l’équipe la saison suivante. Bénéficiant du soutien indéfectible du Prince Rainier III, qui succède alors à son grand-père, le Prince Louis II, l’AS Monaco atteint enfin la Division 1 en 1953. Le 23 août de cette même année, les Rouge et Blanc disputent et perdent leur premier match à ce niveau contre Toulouse FC.

Des podiums à la Coupe de France

Le premier podium en Division 1 arrive au terme de la saison 1955-1956, performance rééditée deux ans plus tard, en 1957-1958. La saison suivante marque un vrai tournant pour l’AS Monaco avec l’arrivée de Lucien Leduc au poste d’entraîneur. Ce dernier va conduire le club à son premier grand succès en remportant la Coupe de France en 1959-1960. Victorieuse de l’AS St-Etienne au terme d’une finale à suspense (4-2 après prolongations), l’AS Monaco écrit une première ligne prestigieuse à son palmarès.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.