Close
Team 17 October 2018, 16:58

Thierry Henry: "Back at AS Monaco, it's extraordinary"

Thierry Henry: "Back at AS Monaco, it's extraordinary"
New AS Monaco coach Thierry Henry was introduced to the press on Wednesday afternoon at the Yatch Club Monaco. In the company of Vadim Vasilyev, Vice President of AS Monaco, he answered questions from the many journalists present.

Vadym Vasilyev : I present to you Thierry Henry who has been a very great player with the track record that we all know. He is a child of the club but also a technician who impressed us with his vision of the game, his knowledge of football and especially our team. He has been a very good player and we have no doubt that he will be a very good coach.

Thierry Henry : Hello and thank you for being here, I would first like to thank the president, the vice-president and the sporting director for giving me the opportunity to come home. I would also like to thank the Belgian national team for allowing me to blossom. I wish to greet my staff which is very important in the preparation. As a former player, it helps a lot to be able to rely on people who have a lot of experience. I am very happy to be the coach of AS Monaco. It’s here that everything started and having the opportunity to come back is amazing.

Was starting AS Monaco natural for you? You have known several coaches like Arsene Wenger and Pep Guardiola, were they your sources of inspiration?

TH: When I received the offer from AS Monaco it was the choice of the heart. It’s a dream come true. There is a lot of work, but it’s a pleasure to be here. I also learned a lot from FC Nantes Jean-Claude Suaudeau and Raynald Denoueix, they breathe football. I do not forget my trainers in Clairefontaine. Of course, Arsène Wenger has unlocked a lot of things in my head. I also had the chance to play for Guardiola who brought me a lot.

What do you think of AS Monaco’s squad and do you have any wishes for the next transfer window?

TH: You have to think of Strasbourg in the first place. Morale is not high especially when half of the team is with national teams. Given the situation, I prefer to think of the present. We must find a balance and secure the players, all with a little joy. I repeat, I prefer to live in the present and the present is Strasbourg.

What are your areas of work to go up the table?

TH: We first and foremost need security and balance, without going into details, we must know how to set up quickly when we have the ball. You have to find the right balance both defensively and offensively.

What kind of coach would you like to be?

TH: You knew me as a player and that will not change, there are times when you have to laugh and have fun. We must also be strict and do what the coach asks. Dialogue is very important.
Since you have not asked me the question yet, I would like to thank Leonardo Jardim for all his work. He will remain forever engraved in the history of AS Monaco, I wish him good luck for the future.

What style of play will you adopt?

TH: I do not want to go into details. We will first work on the opponent at the moment. I’m not the only one to decide, I have a staff that brings me another vision but remains very close to mine. We must dialogue and decide together.

Can you tell us about the love you have for AS Monaco?

TH: AS Monaco is where I started, where I scored my first goal, but since then, “Titi” has grown. I continued to follow the club, AS Monaco is in my heart.

Can your great career be an asset to coach?

TH: I hope so, but that does not mean it will be easy. There is a lot to learn, when you go to the other side you have to be patient.

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Team 17 octobre 2018, 16:58

Thierry Henry : "Revenir à l'AS Monaco, c'est extraordinaire"

Thierry Henry : "Revenir à l'AS Monaco, c'est extraordinaire"
Nouvel entraîneur de l’AS Monaco, Thierry Henry a été présenté à la presse ce mercredi après-midi au Yacht Club de Monaco. En compagnie de Vadim Vasilyev, vice-président de l’AS Monaco, il a répondu aux questions des nombreux journalistes présents.

Vadym Vasilyev : Je vous présente Thierry Henry qui a été un très grand joueur avec le palmarès qu’on lui connaît. C’est un enfant du club mais aussi un technicien qui nous a impressionné par sa vision du jeu, sa connaissance du football et plus particulièrement de notre équipe. Il a été un très bon joueur et nous n’avons aucun doute sur le fait qu’il sera un très bon entraîneur.

Thierry Henry : Bonjour et merci d’être là, je voudrais tout d’abord remercier le président, le vice-président ainsi que le directeur sportif de m’avoir donné l’opportunité de revenir à la maison. Je tiens aussi à remercier la sélection belge de m’avoir permis de m’épanouir. Je souhaite saluer mon staff qui est très important dans la préparation. En tant qu’ancien joueur, cela aide énormément de pouvoir s’appuyer sur des personnes qui ont beaucoup d’expérience. Je suis très content d’être l’entraîneur de l’AS Monaco. C’est ici que tout a commencé et avoir l’opportunité de pouvoir revenir, c’est extraordinaire.

Démarrer à l’AS Monaco était-il naturel pour vous? Vous avez connu plusieurs entraîneurs comme Arsène Wenger et Pep Guardiola, qu’elles ont été vos sources d’inspiration ?

TH : Quand j’ai reçu l’offre de l’AS Monaco c’était le choix du cœur. C’est un rêve qui devient réalité. Il y a beaucoup de travail, mais c’est un plaisir d’être ici. J’ai aussi beaucoup appris du FC Nantes de Jean-Claude Suaudeau et de Raynald Denoueix, ils respirent le football. Je n’oublie pas non plus mes formateurs à Clairefontaine. Bien évidemment, Arsène Wenger a débloqué beaucoup de choses dans ma tête. J’ai également eu la chance de jouer pour Guardiola qui m’a beaucoup apporté.

Que pensez-vous de l’effectif de l’AS Monaco et avez-vous des souhaits pour le prochain mercato ?

TH : Il faut penser à Strasbourg en premier lieu. Le moral n’est pas au plus haut surtout quand la moitié de l’équipe est en sélection. Au vu de la situation, je préfère penser au présent. Il faut trouver un équilibre et sécuriser les joueurs, le tout avec un peu de joie. Je le répète, je préfère vivre dans le présent et le présent c’est Strasbourg.

Quels sont vos axes de travail pour remonter au classement ?

TH : On a avant tout besoin de sécurité et d’équilibre, sans entrer dans les détails, il faut qu’on sache se mettre en place rapidement quand nous avons le ballon. Il faut trouver le bon équilibre autant défensivement qu’offensivement.

Quel genre de coach souhaitez-vous être ?

TH : Vous m’avez connu comme joueur et cela ne changera pas, il y a des moments où il faut rigoler et prendre du plaisir. Il faut aussi cravacher et faire ce que le coach demande. Le dialogue est très important.
Puisque vous ne m’avez pas encore posé la question, je voudrais remercier Leonardo Jardim pour tout son travail. Il restera à jamais gravé dans l’histoire de l’AS Monaco, je lui souhaite bonne chance pour la suite.

Quel style de jeu adopter?

TH : Je ne veux pas entrer dans les détails. Il faudra avant tout travailler sur l’adversaire du moment. Je ne suis pas non plus le seul à décider, j’ai un staff qui m’apporte une autre vision mais qui reste très proche de la mienne. Nous devons dialoguer et trancher communément.

Pouvez-vous nous parler de l’amour que vous avez pour l’AS Monaco ?

TH : L’AS Monaco c’est là où j’ai commencé, là où j’ai marqué mon premier but, mais depuis, « Titi » a bien grandi. J’ai continué à suivre le club, l’AS Monaco est dans mon cœur.

Votre grande carrière peut-elle être un atout pour entraîner ?

TH : Je l’espère en tout cas, mais cela ne veut pas dire que cela sera facile. Il y a beaucoup de choses à apprendre, quand tu passes de l’autre côté il faut être patient.