Close

The 1990s: A European Dimension

The 1990s: A European Dimension

Two titles, a Coupe de France, three semi-finals and a European final: the 1990s saw AS Monaco join the European elite.

The 1990s began with fresh success in the Coupe de France; thanks to a goal from Gérald Passi scored in the last seconds of the final, AS Monaco triumphed over OM, thus taking revenge for the final of 1989. In the league, the situation was, different, though, with two consecutive second place finishes behind the Marseillais in 1990-1991 and 1991-1992. This last season was one of the most beautiful and also disappointing in the history of the club. In the hunt on three fronts: the league, Coupe de France, and Cupwinners Cup, the club would end the season without any trophy. Qualified for the final of the Coupe de France after a victory against AS Cannes in the semifinal, the Rouge et Blanc would never play the final due to the tragedy that had occurred in Bastia before the other semi-final could take place, the day before the first European final of AS Monaco against Werder Bremen in Lisbon. In a cheerless Stade de la Luz, the team looked aimless in its match, and lost 2-0 with a certain anonymity, leaving the Cup Winners’ Cup to the Germans.

Jean-Luc Ettori: 755 matches

At a time when only the winner of the league could compete in the Champions League, AS Monaco took advantage of the disqualification of OM in 1993 to play in a reformatted Champions League, with a group stage replacing the early rounds. Arsène Wenger’s would men reach the semi-finals stage, stopped by the future winners, AC Milan it was to the detriment of their league form, where they finish ninth despite having Djorkaëff, Thuram, Petit, Klinsmann, and Scifo in their ranks… At the end of the 1993-1994 season, Jean-Luc Ettori, then the record holder for the number of matches played in Ligue 1, would play his 755th and last match in Monegasque colors to become the record holder for matches played with AS Monaco, but also for matches played in Ligue 1 (602, a record broken in 2013 by Mickaël Landreau). For his part, after seven years of good and loyal service, Arsène Wenger left his post the following season.

The Monegasque reign

It was Jean Tigana who would take charge of the team after an interlude with Gérard Banide and qualification for the UEFA Cup. The former member of the Carre Magique lead AS Monaco to their sixth title of champion of France at the end of the 1996-1997 season, which coincided with the celebrations in the Principality of the 700 years of reign of the Grimaldi family. Under his direction, AS Monaco were one of the most impressive teams in the history of the club, with, among others, Barthez, Petit, Benarbia, Henry, Anderson, and Ikpeba. It was an exceptional season at all levels with another European semifinal, in the Europa League being reached, only to fall short against Inter Milan.

With the European elite

The next season would be almost as impressive. Despite the departures of Sonny Anderson, Manu Petit and Gilles Grimandi, AS Monaco finished fourth in the league and would reach the semifinals of the Champions League, after eliminating Manchester United in the quarterfinals, with a memorable goal by David Trezeguet at Old Trafford. But it was once more an Italian side, Juventus this time, which would deprive the Monegasques of a long-awaited final by winning 4-1 in the first leg. A 3-2 victory in the return fixture would be insufficient for qualification, but AS Monaco came out proud and felt a part of  the elite of European football. With the departure of Jean Tigana, replaced by Claude Puel in January 1999, the 1998-1999 season was less brilliant, despite a third place finish in the league.

Champions at the turn of the millennium!

But this decade of high flying ended even better than it had started, with the team obtaining a seventh title in the spring of 2000. The “Millenium Team” was made up of exceptional players such as Barthez, Marquez, Lamouchi, Gallardo, Trezeguet and even Simone who brought AS Monaco into the 21st Century  in top spot.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer

Années 90, la dimension européenne

Années 90, la dimension européenne

Deux titres, une coupe de France, trois demi-finales et une finale européennes, les années 90 voient l’AS Monaco intégrer le gotha européen.

La décennie 90 démarre par un nouveau succès en Coupe de France. Grâce à un but de Gérald Passi marqué dans les dernière secondes de la finale, l’AS Monaco triomphe de l’OM, prenant ainsi sa revanche sur la finale de 1989. En championnat la donne est différente avec deux deuxièmes places consécutives derrière cette même formation marseillaise en 1990-1991 et 1991-1992. Cette dernière saison est l’une des plus belles et des plus tristes de l’histoire du club. En course sur les trois tableaux : championnat, Coupe de France, Coupe des Coupes, le club termine la saison sans aucun trophée. Qualifiés pour la finale de la Coupe de France après une victoire face à l’AS Cannes en demi-finale, les Rouge et Blanc ne joueront jamais la finale en raison de drame de Furiani survenu avant que l’autre demi-finale ne puisse se disputer. Une tragédie qui survient la veille de la première finale européenne de l’AS Monaco face au Werder Breme à Lisbonne. Dans un Stade de la Luz qui sonne creux, l’équipe passe à côté de son match, perdu 2-0 dans un certain anonymat, et laisse la Coupe des Vainqueurs de Coupe aux Allemands.

Jean-Luc Ettori, l’homme au 755 matchs

À une époque ou seul le vainqueur du championnat peut disputer la Ligue des Champions, l’AS Monaco profite de la disqualification de l’OM en 1993 pour découvrir la nouvelle formule de la C1, avec cette phase de groupes remplaçant les premiers tours. Si les hommes d’Arsène Wenger atteignent le stade des demi-finales, stoppés par le futur vainqueur milanais, c’est au détriment du championnat où ils terminent neuvièmes avec pourtant dans leurs rangs Djorkaëff, Thuram, Petit, Klinsmann, Scifo… Au terme de cette saison 1993-1994, Jean-Luc Ettori, recordman du nombre de matches en D1, jouera sa 755e et dernière rencontre sous les couleurs monégasques pour devenir le recordman des matchs joués avec l’AS Monaco, mais également celui des matchs joués en Division 1 (602, record battu en 2013 par Mickaël Landreau). De son côté, après sept ans de bons et loyaux services Arsène Wenger quitte son poste lors de la saison suivante.

Le règne monégasque

C’est Jean Tigana qui prend l’équipe en main, après un intermède assuré par Gérard Banide et une qualification en Coupe de l’UEFA. L’ancien membre du « carré magique » conduit l’AS Monaco à un sixième titre de champion de France au terme de la saison 1996-1997, qui coïncide avec les célébrations en Principauté des 700 ans de règne de la famille Grimaldi. Sous ses ordres, l’une des plus belles équipes de l’histoire du club avec entre autres Barthez, Petit, Benarbia, Henry, Anderson, Ikpeba… Une saison exceptionnelle à tous les niveaux avec une nouvelle demi-finale européenne (C3) perdue cette fois-ci contre l’Inter Milan.

Avec le gotha européen

La suivante est presque aussi belle. Malgré les départs de Sonny Anderson, Manu Petit ou encore Gilles Grimandi, l’AS Monaco termine quatrième du championnat et arrive en demi-finale de la Ligue des Champions, après avoir éliminé Manchester United en quart de finale, avec un but d’anthologie de David Trezeguet à Old Trafford. Mais c’est encore une formation italienne, la Juventus cette fois, qui privent les Monégasques d’une finale tant attendue en s’imposant 4-1 à l’aller. La victoire rouge et blanche 3-2 au retour sera insuffisante pour la qualification, mais l’AS Monaco sort avec les honneurs et intègre le gotha du football européen. Marquée par le départ de Jean Tigana, remplacé par Claude Puel en janvier 1999, la saison 1998-1999 est moins brillante, malgré une troisième place en championnat.

Champion du Millenium !

Mais cette décennie de haut vol s’achève encore mieux qu’elle n’avait commencé, avec l’obtention d’un septième titre de champion de France au printemps 2000. L’équipe du Millenium est constituée de joueurs d’exception tels que Barthez, Marquez, Lamouchi, Gallardo, Trezeguet ou encore Simone qui font entrer l’AS Monaco dans le XXIe Siècle par la grande porte.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.