Close
25 September 2018, 15:10

The AS Monaco Dream Team

The AS Monaco Dream Team

Almost 600 players have worn the red and white of AS Monaco in professional competition. This dream team is a tribute to each and every one of them, along with their pioneering predecessors of the 1920s and 30s.

1 / 11

To pick this dream team, we went for a time-honoured 4-4-2 with a diamond formation. We then selected fifty-three players on the basis of their performances, trophies won and impact on the club’s history. Many others were worthy of a place on this first list, and it was not an easy choice. The list was then presented to three sets of voters: the fans, via the official website www.asmonaco.com (60,000 votes!), eighteen former players and eight journalists from the sports desk at Nice-Matin, along with the former president of the Monaco Supporters Club, Norbert Siri.

Champions of ’88 and ’98…

The result is an impressive looking line-up, with Jean Petit the natural choice for captain, seconded by another Red & White stalwart Jean-Luc Ettori. The long-serving goalkeeper finished ahead of Fabien Barthez in the voting and joins four other veterans of the 1988 French Championship-winning side: Manuel Amoros, who was a unanimous pick by all three sets of voters alongside Patrick Battiston, while Bruno Bellone was chosen by the former players and journalists. Meanwhile, Glenn Hoddle was a favourite with the former players, enabling him to edge out Marcelo Gallardo (the fans’ choice) and Theo (the journalists’ choice). While they arrived in the team just after that great 1987-88 season, Lilian Thuram and Emmanuel Petit, the two 1998 World Cup winners in this Dream Team, also collected a majority of the votes from all three sets of voters. On the left side of defence, there was a tight battle between Luc Sonor and Patrice Evra, with the fans tipping the vote in favour of the younger player.

Onnis/Weah, a blistering strike force!

The Dream Team boasts a forward line of the very highest quality, with Delio Onnis, the leading goalscorer in the history of AS Monaco and Ligue 1, partnering George Weah, who made his breakthrough at AS Monaco before winning the Ballon d’Or in 1995 with AC Milan. Once again, the choice was determined by the votes of the former players and journalists. Never winning but always well placed in the voting, Thierry Henry edged out Dado Prso (the fans’ choice) for the super-sub spot. The same goes for Claude Puel, narrowly beaten by Emmanuel Petit, and Rafael Marquez, who was very close to Thuram and Battiston for a place in central defence with every set of voters. As in Ligue 1 or the UEFA Champions League, there are seven players on the bench for this Dream Team, which would have looked every bit as formidable had they been in the first eleven.

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
25 septembre 2018, 15:10

La Dream Team AS Monaco

La Dream Team AS Monaco

Près de 600 joueurs ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco dans une compétition professionnelle. Cette dream team est un hommage à chacun d’entre eux ainsi qu’à leurs aînés, les pionniers des années 1920/1930.

Jean-Luc Ettori
Manuel Amoros
Patrice Evra
Lilian Thuram
Patrick Battiston
Emmanuel Petit
Bruno Bellone
Jean Petit
Delio Onnis
Glenn Hoddle
George Weah
1 / 11

Pour constituer cette équipe de rêve, nous avons privilégié un système de jeu : le 4-4-2 en losange. Nous avons ensuite sélectionné cinquante-trois joueurs en fonction de leurs performances, palmarès et impact sur l’histoire du club. De nombreux autres joueurs auraient mérité de figurer dans cette première sélection bien difficile à faire. Cette liste a été présentée à trois collèges de votants : les fans, par le biais du site officiel www.asmonaco.com (60 000 votes !), dix-huit anciens joueurs et huit journalistes du service des sports de Nice-Matin, plus l’ancien président du Club des Supporters de Monaco, Norbert Siri.

Champions de 88 et de 98…

Il en ressort une équipe qui a fière allure, dont le capitaine naturel est Jean Petit, secondé par un autre fidèle aux couleurs rouge et blanche : Jean-Luc Ettori. Ce dernier a devancé Fabien Barthez dans les votes et retrouve quatre autres joueurs de l’équipe championne de France 1988 : Manuel Amoros, qui a fait l’unanimité dans tous les collèges comme Patrick Battiston, tandis que Bruno Bellone a été plébiscité par les anciens joueurs et les journalistes. Quant à Glenn Hoddle, c’est le vote des anciens joueurs qui lui a permis de devancer Marcelo Gallardo (choix des fans) et Theo (choix des journalistes). S’ils sont arrivés dans l’équipe juste après cette belle saison 1987-88, Lilian Thuram et Emmanuel Petit, les deux champions du Monde 1998 de cette Dream Team, ont également recueilli la majorité des votes des trois collèges. Sur le côté gauche de la défense, la bataille a été rude entre Luc Sonor et Patrice Evra, mais le vote des fans a fait pencher la balance en faveur du plus jeune.

Onnis/Weah, l’attaque de feu !

Quant au duo d’attaque, c’est du très haut niveau avec Delio Onnis, meilleur buteur de l’histoire de l’AS Monaco et de la Ligue 1, mais également George Weah, révélé à l’AS Monaco avant de devenir Ballon d’Or en 1995 sous les couleurs du Milan AC. Là aussi, le vote des anciens joueurs et des journalistes a été prépondérant. Jamais gagnant mais toujours placé, Thierry Henry devance Dado Prso (choix des fans) pour un poste de « super sub ». Idem pour Claude Puel, battu par Emmanuel Petit d’une courte tête, ou Rafael Marquez, qui est resté très poche de la paire Thuram/Battiston dans tous les votes concernants la charnière centrale. Comme en Ligue 1 ou en UEFA Champions League, sept joueurs sont sur le banc de cette Dream Team, qui n’aurait pas été moins belle s’ils avaient eu leur place dans le onze.