Close
Portrait 02 September 2020, 12:41

Kevin Volland: versatility for the team

Kevin Volland: versatility for the team
The 28-year-old German international forward, who has just signed with AS Monaco for four years, has extensive experience in the Bundesliga and in Europe, where he has shown he can play in any position.

“Kevin’s profile is that of a versatile forward, capable of playing a center forward, second forward or winger on both flanks.” These are the words of Paul Mitchell, AS Monaco’s Sporting Director, to describe Kevin Volland, the club’s new recruit. If versatility is sometimes seen as a handicap in modern football, the Germany international has made it a real strength of his since his debut.

Prolific at a young age at 1860 Munich

Originally from Bavaria, Kevin joined the Munich 1860 academy in the summer of 2007 at the age of 14. He played first with the club’s U-17s, already a step above his peers. His performances  there saw him selected for the German national team in that age category a year later. He quickly climbed the steps at the club with the U19s and then the club’s reserves, while continuing to be called up in all age categories for his country (44 caps, 24 goals).

He appeared in the German Cup in August 2010, and began to appear with the professional squad a month later in the Bundesliga 2, at age 18. In Munich, he would total 60 appearances in two seasons with the first team, scoring 20 goals and providing 16 assists. During this period, his altruism was reflected in his performances and his versatility saw him be on the radar of Hoffenheim, which he joined in 2012.

 

Always decisive, everywhere

As in Munich, he quickly proved indispensable in attack and quickly became the starter in the attacking third. And just like in Munich, he proved with his statistics (36 goals and 39 assists in 144 games) that he is capable of scoring and setting up his teammates. Whether playing on the wing, supporting a striker or playing himself as a center forward, the left-footed player uses his liveliness and athleticism to speak for itself in the opponent’s box.

In 2016, after four full seasons with the Stuttgart-area club, Kevin Volland signed for Bayer Leverkusen. There he would experience play at the very highest level, with a team regularly playing in the Champions League. In four years, he played around twenty European matches, including 12 in the Champions League. He even faced AS Monaco in their exceptional 2016-2017 season in the famous 1-1 draw secured by an extraordinary goal by Kamil Glik in the last minute.

The age of reason at Bayer

With the club run by a world giant in the pharmaceutical industry, he became a senior international a Germany side led by Joachim Löw (10 caps, 1 goal); he would play 148 matches (50 goals, 32 assists). More often played centrally at Leverkusen, he asserted himself a little more as a very effective striker, regularly cited among the best strikers in the Bundesliga alongside Robert Lewandowski, and also as a leader, as he wore the captain’s armband about 30 times.

Very complete in his play and possessed of a high workate, Kevin Volland has a powerful shot with both feet, which makes him one of the few ambidextrous left-footed players. A player who is very experienced with nearly 250 Bundesliga matches played, he is also comfortable in the air thanks to his sense of timing despite his height (1.79m), and was a recruitment priority for AS Monaco. “His arrival demonstrates our desire to strengthen the squad with specific profiles”,  summarized Oleg Petrov, Vice-President and CEO.

These are qualities that fit perfectly with the aggressive playing style that Niko Kovac has already out in place since the resumption of Ligue 1. The club welcomes Kevin and wishes him the greatest possible success for this 2020-2021 season and the years to come.

1 / 4
AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Portrait 02 septembre 2020, 12:41

Kevin Volland ou la polyvalence au service du collectif

Kevin Volland ou la polyvalence au service du collectif
L’attaquant international allemand de 28 ans qui vient de s’engager quatre ans avec l’AS Monaco, bénéficie d’une solide expérience en Bundesliga, où il a démontré qu’il pouvait évoluer dans toutes les positions.

« Le profil de Kevin est celui d’un attaquant polyvalent, capable d’occuper le poste d’avant-centre, de deuxième attaquant ou d’ailier sur les deux côtés ». Voici les mots de Paul Mitchell, Directeur Sportif de l’AS Monaco, pour décrire Kevin Volland, la nouvelle recrue du club. Si la polyvalence est parfois vue comme un handicap dans le football moderne, l’international allemand en a fait lui une vraie force depuis ses débuts.

Déjà prolifique très jeune à Munich 1860

Originaire de Bavière, Kevin rejoint le centre de formation de Munich 1860 à l’été 2007 à l’âge de 14 ans. Il évolue d’abord avec les U17 du club, déjà surclassé. Ses performances lui valent d’être sélectionné avec l’équipe d’Allemagne de la catégorie un an plus tard. Rapidement il franchit les étapes pour se hisser avec les U19 puis la réserve du club, tout en continuant à être convoqué dans toutes les catégories d’âge en sélection (44 sélections, 24 buts).

Aligné en Coupe d’Allemagne en août 2010, il commence à faire son apparition avec le groupe pro un mois plus tard en Bundesliga 2, à 18 ans. A Munich, il totalisera 60 matchs en deux saisons avec l’équipe une, inscrivant 20 buts et délivrant 16 passes décisives. Dès cette période, son altruisme transpire de ses performances et sa polyvalence lui permet d’être dans les radars d’Hoffenheim, qu’il rejoint en 2012.

Décisif partout, toujours

Comme à Munich, il se montre rapidement indispensable en attaque et devient assez vite titulaire sur le front de l’attaque. Et comme à Munich, il démontre par ses statistiques (36 buts et 39 passes en 144 matchs) qu’il est capable de marquer et de faire marquer ses partenaires. Qu’il évolue sur une aile, en soutien de l’attaquant de pointe ou bien lui-même au poste d’avant-centre, le gaucher fait parler sa vivacité et ses performances athlétiques pour se montrer décisif dans la surface adverse.

En 2016, après quatre saisons pleines dans le club de la région de Stuttgart, Kevin Volland s’engage avec le Bayer Leverkusen. Là-bas il va connaître le très haut niveau, avec une équipe régulièrement engagée en Ligue des Champions. En quatre ans, il y dispute une vingtaine de rencontres européennes, dont 12 en C1. Il affronte même l’AS Monaco en poules lors de la saison 2016-2017 et le fameux match nul 1-1 sur un but extraordinaire de Kamil Glik à la dernière minute.

L’âge de raison au Bayer

Avec le club du géant mondial de l’industrie pharmaceutique, celui qui est devenu international A avec l’Allemagne de Joachim Löw (10 sélections, 1 but), va disputer 148 matchs (50 buts, 32 passes). Plus souvent aligné dans l’axe à Leverkusen, il s’affirme un peu plus comme un buteur très efficace, régulièrement cité parmi les meilleurs attaquants de Bundesliga aux côtés de Robert Lewandowski. Mais aussi comme un leader, puisqu’il portera le brassard de capitaine à une trentaine de reprises.

Très complet dans son jeu et généreux dans l’effort, Kevin Volland possède une lourde frappe des deux pieds, qui fait de lui un des rares gauchers ambidextres. Très expérimenté avec près de 250 matchs de Bundesliga au compteur, celui qui est aussi à l’aise dans les airs grâce à son timing malgré sa taille (1,79m), était une priorité de recrutement de l’AS Monaco. « Son arrivée démontre notre volonté de renforcer l’effectif avec des profils bien précis », résume ainsi Oleg Petrov, Vice-Président Directeur Général. 

Des qualités qui collent parfaitement avec le style de jeu agressif que Niko Kovac a déjà mis en place en préparation et depuis la reprise de la Ligue 1. Le club souhaite la bienvenue à Kevin et la plus grande réussite possible pour cette saison 2020-2021 et les années à venir.

1 / 4
L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.