Close
Matches 28 August 2020, 16:33

Niko Kovac : "I want to keep this aggressive style of play"

Niko Kovac : "I want to keep this aggressive style of play"
Two days before AS Monaco’s first away match of the season, to FC Metz for Matchday 2 of Ligue 1, the Rouge et Blancs' coach answered questions from the press.

Five days after the draw against Stade de Reims (2-2), Niko Kovac looked back on the first match in charge of his players in Ligue 1, while also looking ahead to the first trip of AS Monaco’s league campaign, to Metz this Sunday at the Stade Saint-Symphorien (3 p.m.). Here are some excerpts from the pre-match press conference.

Medical update

For the moment we are very happy since we have no more injuries. The only injured players so far, Cesc Fabregas, Pietro Pellegri and Stevan Jovetic, all trained with us yesterday. If nothing happens between now and tomorrow's practice, they'll be available for Sunday.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

On the signing of Caio Henrique

We are very happy to sign this talented young player. He will unfortunately not be available for the match, as it has been several months since he played, so we have to be careful and not take risks. We will take the necessary time over the next few weeks to get him back on top form.
Niko Kovac Manager, AS Monaco

The return of Djibril Sidibé

Djibril Sidibé is back with us, he trained with the group. He is a good player who has shown his qualities on loan in the Premier League. He's a French international and I'm counting on him, he's a great player. We haven't talked about his situation. I will give him a chance like all the other players to be able to play according to his performance. Everything is possible. He finished the Premier League three weeks ago, he's in good condition so we'll see if he can play on Sunday. He can play on the right and left and his mentality is good, I like him, we'll see.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

The match against Reims

What matters to me when the team is on the pitch is that they play together. The start was not good against Reims but I liked the reaction of my players. We had possession, dictated play, and created chaces. Certainly there were 2-3 situations that I didn't like, but when I watch the whole match against Reims, I'm pretty happy.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

On the style of play

Yes, I want to keep this aggressive style of play, I want to play well, to get forward quickly. I realize this exposes us, but I want us to have more chances than the opponent. After six weeks, not everything is perfect but I'm happy with our progress. Give us a little time and the quality will be there.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

To watch Niko Kovac’s press conference, click here.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 28 août 2020, 16:33

Niko Kovac : "Je veux garder ce style de jeu agressif"

Niko Kovac : "Je veux garder ce style de jeu agressif"
Deux jours avant le premier déplacement de l’AS Monaco sur le terrain du FC Metz, pour le compte de la 2e journée de Ligue 1, l’entraîneur des Rouge et Blanc a répondu aux questions de la presse.

Cinq jours après le match nul accroché face au Stade de Reims (2-2), Niko Kovac est revenu sur la première rencontre de ses joueurs en Ligue 1, tout en se projetant sur le premier déplacement de l’AS Monaco à Metz ce dimanche au stade Saint-Symphorien (15h). Extraits de la conférence de presse d’avant-match.

Le point sur les blessés

Pour le moment nous sommes très contents puisque nous n’avons plus de blessés. Les seuls blessés jusqu’à maintenant, Cesc Fabregas, Pietro Pellegri et Stevan Jovetic se sont entraînés avec nous hier. S’il ne se passe rien d’ici l’entraînement de demain, ils seront disponibles pour dimanche.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Son avis sur l’arrivée de Caio Henrique

Nous sommes très contents de signer ce jeune joueur talentueux. Il ne sera malheureusement pas disponible pour le match, car cela fait plusieurs mois qu’il n’a pas joué, donc nous devons faire attention et ne pas prendre de risque. Nous prendrons le temps nécessaire ces prochaines semaines pour le récupérer au top.
Niko Kovac Entraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Sur le retour de Djibril Sidibé

Djibril Sidibé est de retour avec nous, il s’est entraîné avec le groupe. C’est un bon joueur qui a montré ses qualités en prêt en Premier League. Il est international français et je compte sur lui, c’est un joueur de grande qualité. Nous n’avons pas parlé de sa situation. Je lui donnerai sa chance comme tous les autres joueurs de pouvoir jouer selon ses performances. Tout est possible. Il a fini il y a trois semaines la Premier League, il est en bonne condition, donc nous verrons s’il peut jouer dimanche. Il peut évoluer à droite et à gauche et sa mentalité est bonne, je l’aime bien, nous verrons.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Le match face à Reims

Ce qui m’importe lorsque l’équipe est sur le terrain, c’est qu’elle joue ensemble. L’entame n’a pas été bonne face à Reims mais j’ai aimé la réaction de mes joueurs. Nous avons eu la possession, avons créé du jeu et nous nous sommes procurés des occasions. Certes il y a eu 2-3 situations qui ne m’ont pas plu, mais si je regarde tout le match de Reims, je suis plutôt satisfait.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Sur le style de jeu

Oui j’ai envie que l’on ait ce style agressif, je veux bien jouer, vite vers l’avant. Je suis conscient que cela nous expose, mais je veux que l’on ait plus d’opportunités que l’adversaire. Après six semaines, tout n’est pas parfait mais je suis content de l’évolution. Laissez-nous un peu de temps et la qualité va être au rendez-vous.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Pour revivre la conférence de presse de Niko Kovac, rendez-vous ici.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.