Close
Matches 23 August 2020, 15:39

Monaco shows character against Reims

Monaco shows character against Reims
For the return of football to the Stade Louis II, after more than five months without playing, AS Monaco hung on to get a point from a draw against Stade de Reims, after falling behind 2-0.

The spotlight, the air of competition. AS Monaco were finally back on the pitch at the Stade Louis II this Sunday, more than five months after the end of the 2019-2020 season. For this first matchday of Ligue 1, the Red and Whites returned to the pitch against Stade de Reims, the team they had faced in the penultimate match of last season, on February 29. For this match, Niko Kovac started the same eleven who had won against Alkmaar  in a friendly last weekend (2-0), playing the same 4-3-3.

The match did not start in the best possible way for the Red and Whites. In the wake of a superb curled shot from Aleksandr Golovin, which passed just above the goal of Predrag Rajkovic (4th), it was Boulaye Dia, well picked out over the top on a clearance by his goalkeeper, who beat Benjamin Lecomte (1-0, 5th). Stade de Reims quickly led 1-0 and fell back into a low block in midfield, leaving little room for Henry Onyekuru’s teammates.

1 / 7

Disasi decisive in his first match

Yet it was on a foray by the Nigerian winger into the Reims area that AS Monaco believed they had a clear chance. The cross in his direction touched the ground, before bouncing off the hand of Thomas Foket (20th). The referee instructed the 22 players to play on, and following on from this action, El Bilal Touré recovered the ball in the opposing half, before hitting his shot perfectly with his left foot (2-0, 21st). The disputed action was meanwhile  reviewed by VAR, which ultimately validated Stade de Reims’ goal.

There was an immediate reaction from the Red and Whites after the cooling break, putting pressure on Predrag Rajkovic’s goal. After a one-two with Ruben Aguilar, Gelson Martins found himself in a shooting position. The Portuguese unfortunately found the Serbian goalkeeper holding his line (29th). He was the most dangerous attacker on the Monegasque side, since he had two other chances on a shot that was a little over-hit (33rd), and then another from close range (37th).

 

Monaco pushes and gets back together

But the clearest opportunity came on a set piece that saw Aurélien Tchouameni looking for Wissam Ben Yedder, who hit the bar with his volley (38 ‘). The former Bordeaux midfielder would have another chance with a powerful strike from the left (45th), before the lead was reduced by… Axel Disasi. Starting against his former club, the central defender headed in another pass from Tchouameni (2-1, 45 + 3).

Back from the locker room, the Red and Whites continue to put great pressure on the Reims goal. Sofiane Diop, who came on at halftime for Onyekuru, is shows his intent with his first ball (46′). Benjamin Lecomte, ever vigilant, then allowed AS Monaco to stay in the match, winning a one-on-one against Touré (51st). But it was once again from a set piece that Monaco found the scoreboard.

On free kick by Aleksandr Golovin, Benoît Badiashile made an acrobatic control of the ball before following that touch up with a volley across goal from the right, unstoppable as it was impressive (2-2, 55 ‘). The flow of play remained the same, with Monaco playing high up the pitch, as in the first period, and having 80% possession. Reims, who were trying to play on the counter,  were on the verge of regaining the  lead on a run by Zeneli, which was well stopped by the Monaco defense (60’).

The Red and Whites are close to pulling out a win

Another chance for the visitors worried the Monegasque supporters, but Dia lacked a cutting edge on a cross from Konan (74th). At the end of the match, which was more choppy, the proceedings were still dominated by the Red and Whites who are close to breaking the deadlock. Unfortunately Predrag Rajkovic was alert to the danger. Wout Faes also blocked a low shot from Jean-Eudes Aholou who had just come on (90th + 1).

And on the corner that followed, Axel Disasi barely missed getting his double on a pass from Sofiane Diop. His header flashed wide, just a few centimeters from the left post of the Reims goal (90th + 4).

 

Match details

AS Monaco 2-2 Stade de Reims

Half-time : 1-2

Goals: Disasi (45+3′) and Badiashile (55′) for Monaco ; Boulaye Dia (5′) and Touré (21′)

Bookings : Disasi (89e) for Monaco, Kutesa (41′), Faes (76′) and Foket (90′) for Reims

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Ballo-Touré – Tchouameni, Fofana, Golovin (Aholou, 87′) – Gelson Martins (Geubbels, 81′), Ben Yedder, Onyekuru (Diop, 45′)
Manager : Niko Kovac

Stade de Reims : Rajkovic – Foket, Faes, Abdelhamid, Konan – Munetsi, Kutesa (Berisha, 56′), Chavalerin – Cafaro (Sierhuis, 60′), Touré (Zeneli, 60′), Dia (Cassama, 78′)
Manager : David Guion

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 23 août 2020, 15:39

L'AS Monaco montre du caractère face à Reims

Pour le retour du football au Stade Louis II, après plus de cinq mois sans jouer, l’AS Monaco s’est accroché pour obtenir le point du match nul face au Stade de Reims, après avoir été mené 2-0.

La lumière des projecteurs, le parfum de la compétition. L’AS Monaco retrouvait enfin la pelouse du Stade Louis II ce dimanche, plus de cinq mois après l’arrêt définitif de la saison 2019-2020. Pour cette première journée de Ligue 1, les Rouge et Blanc retrouvaient le Stade de Reims, avant-dernière équipe affrontée le 29 février dernier. Pour l’occasion, Niko Kovac reconduisait le onze de départ victorieux à Alkmaar en amical le week-end dernier (2-0), dans le même schéma en 4-3-3.

La rencontre ne commence pas de la meilleure des manières pour les Rouge et Blanc. Dans la foulée d’une superbe frappe enroulée d’Aleksandr Golovin, juste au-dessus du but de Predrag Rajkovic (4e), c’est Boulaye Dia, bien lancé en profondeur sur le dégagement de son gardien, qui trompe Benjamin Lecomte d’une frappe croisée (1-0, 5e). Le Stade de Reims mène donc 1-0 et se replie alors en bloc au milieu de terrain, ne laissant que peu de possibilités aux coéquipiers d’Henry Onyekuru.

1 / 7

Disasi décisif pour son premier match

C’est pourtant sur une incursion dans la surface remoise de l’ailier nigérian que l’AS Monaco croit obtenir une occasion franche. Le centre en sa direction touche alors le sol, avant de rebondir sur la main de Thomas Foket (20e). L’arbitre indique aux 22 acteurs de jouer, et sur la continuité de l’action, El bilal Touré récupère le ballon dans les 30 mètres adverses, avant de croiser parfaitement son tir du pied gauche (2-0, 21e). L’action litigieuse est entre-temps revisionnée par la VAR, qui valide finalement le but du Stade de Reims.

Réaction immédiate des Rouge et Blanc après la pause fraîcheur, qui se ruent sur le but de Predrag Rajkovic. Après un dédoublement avec Ruben Aguilar, Gelson Martins se retrouve en position de frappe. Le Portugais trouve malheureusement le gardien serbe sur la trajectoire (29e). Il est le plus dangereux côté monégasque, puisqu’il se procure deux autres situations sur un tir un peu trop écrasé (33e), puis de près (37e).

Monaco pousse et recolle

Mais l’occasion la plus nette est déclenchée après un coup de pied arrêté sur lequel Aurélien Tchouameni remise de la tête pour Wissam Ben Yedder, qui trouve la barre sur sa reprise de volée (38e). L’ancien milieu bordelais aura une autre possibilité avec une frappe puissante du gauche (45e), avant la réduction de l’écart par… Axel Disasi. Aligné d’entrée face à son ancien club, le défenseur central reprend de la tête une nouvelle déviation de Tchouameni dans les airs (2-1, 45e+3).

Au retour des vestiaires, les Rouge et Blanc continuent à mettre une grosse pression sur le but rémois. Sofiane Diop, rentré à la mi-temps à la place d’Onyekuru se signale sur son premier ballon (46e). Benjamin Lecomte, vigilant, permet ensuite aux Asémistes de rester dans le match, sur un face-à-face remporté devant Touré (51e). Mais c’est une nouvelle fois sur coup de pied arrêté que Monaco recolle au tableau d’affichage.

Sur coup-franc botté par Aleksandr Golovin, Benoît Badiashile contrôle le ballon de manière acrobatique avant d’enchaîner avec une volée croisée du droit, imparable (2-2, 55e). La tendance reste la même, avec une grosse domination territoriale, à l’image de la première période, bouclée avec 80% de possession de balle en faveur des Rouge et Blanc. Les Rémois, qui opèrent en contre, sont à deux doigts de reprendre l’avantage sur un déboulé de Zeneli, bien stoppé par l’arrière-garde monégasque (60e).

Les Rouge et Blanc proches de l’exploit

Une autre alerte vient faire trembler les supporters monégasques, mais Dia manque de précision sur un centre en retrait de Konan (74e). La fin de match, plus hachée, est toujours dominée par les Rouge et Blanc qui sont proches de la décision. Malheureusement Predrag Rajkovic veille au grain. Wout Faes détourne lui une frappe à ras de terre de Jean-Eudes Aholou tout juste rentré en jeu (90e+1).

Et sur le corner qui suit, Axel Disasi manque de très peu le doublé sur un service de Sofiane Diop. Sa tête décroisée vient en effet mourir à quelques centimètres du poteau gauche du but rémois (90e+4). Match nul finalement assez logique entre les deux équipes, avec un sacré caractère démontré par les joueurs de Niko Kovac pour revenir dans une partie qui était pourtant mal embarquée.


La feuille de match

AS Monaco 2-2 Stade de Reims
Mi-temps : 1-2

Buts : Disasi (45e+3) et Badiashile (55e) pour Monaco ; Dia (5e) et Touré (21e)

Avertissements : Disasi (89e) pour Monaco, Kutesa (41e), Faes (76e) et Foket (90e) pour Reims

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Ballo-Touré – Tchouameni, Fofana, Golovin (Aholou, 87e) – Gelson Martins (Geubbels, 81e), Ben Yedder, Onyekuru (Diop, 45e)
Entraîneur : Niko Kovac

Stade de Reims : Rajkovic – Foket, Faes, Abdelhamid, Konan – Munetsi, Kutesa (Berisha, 56e), Chavalerin – Cafaro (Sierhuis, 60e), Touré (Zeneli, 60e), Dia (Cassama, 78e)
Entraîneur : David Guion

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.