Close
Matches 24 November 2019, 17:20

An afternoon of regret in Bordeaux

An afternoon of regret in Bordeaux
AS Monaco lost 2-1 to Bordeaux despite opening the score through Islam Slimani in the first period. The latter was unfortunately sent off in the build-up to Bordeaux's winning penalty.

If the first shot of the game went to Bordeaux, with a shot too powerfully hit by Kalu, it was AS Monaco who bossed the game during the first half-hour. The Bordeaux defense paid the price in the 16th minute, when Ben Yedder deflected a cross by Golovin into the path of Slimani. Well placed at the far post, the Algerian international gave Costil no chance, beating him with a flat-footed shot with his right. Bordeaux reacted three minutes later and it took a nice intervention from Maripán to avoid an equalizer.

Pablo equalizes against the run of play

Despite this warning, AS Monaco continued to dominate their opponent and Bakayoko was not far from taking the lead on a corner by Dias. In total, AS Monaco would get six corners during this first half, against only two for Bordeaux. But it was enough for them, who equalized through Pablo in the 30th minute, after a first intervention by Henrichs against Maja on the previous action. At the end of the first period Benjamin Lecomte had a save on a shot by Tchouameni (44th), then Costil kept his side level by blocking Ben Yedder (45th + 1).

1 / 30

Red and white pressure…

It was therefore in the second half that this match was to be played and AS Monaco came back to the pitch with a lot of determination. That determination culminated in a big opportunity in the 49th minute, when Basic did well to block a shot by Ben Yedder, who had been picked out by Slimani. The corners were still coming for the Red and Whites (12 in total!) Again, AS Monaco were dominating the proceedings, but Les Girondins were beginning to wake up as the hour mark approached. After several off-target attempts,  it was finally another that saw the match tilt in the hosts’ favor in the 67th minute.

Slimani sent off, De Préville makes the difference

After a foul by Henrichs on De Préville, Bordeaux got a good free kick from which Slimani was penalized for handball. Already cautioned a few minutes earlier, he collected a second yellow card, and was sent off; De Préville converted the penalty awarded by Mr. Millot (67th). Behind a goal and outnumbered on the pitch, the Red & Whites had several opportunities to equalize, but Costil preserved his side’s lead from two attempts by Bakayoko (72nd and 75th), before intervening again on a shot by Ben Yedder (79th) . Even if Bordeaux hit the woodwork through Benrahou (77th), the regrets were all on the Monegasque side cruel 2-1 defeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Conforama 24 novembre 2019, 17:16

Regrets bordelais...

Regrets bordelais...
L'AS Monaco s'incline 2-1 à Bordeaux malgré l'ouverture du score d'Islam Slimani en première période. Ce dernier a malheureusement été expulsé sur l'action amenant le pénalty victorieux des Bordelais.

Si le premier tir du match était Bordelais, avec une tentative trop écrasée de Kalu, c’est bien l’AS Monaco qui maîtrisait les débats durant la première demi-heure. La défense bordelaise en faisait les frais à la 16e minute, quand Ben Yedder déviait un centre de Golovin en faveur de Slimani. Bien placé au second poteau, l’international algérien ne laissait aucune chance à Costil en reprenant du plat du pied droit. Bordeaux réagissait tout de même trois minutes plus tard et il fallait une belle intervention de Maripán pour éviter l’égalisation.

Pablo égalise contre le cours du jeu

Malgré cette alerte, l’AS Monaco continuait de dominer son adversaire et Bakayoko n’était pas loin du break en reprenant de la tête un corner tiré par Dias. Au total, l’AS Monaco allait obtenir six corners durant ce premier acte, contre seulement deux pour les Bordelais. Mais c’était suffisant pour eux, qui égalisaient par Pablo à la 30e, après un premier sauvetage de Henrichs face à Maja sur l’action précédente. En fin de première période Benjamin Lecomte se signalait sur un tir de Tchouaméni (44e), puis Costil sauvait les siens devant Ben Yedder (45e+1).

1 / 59

Pression rouge et blanche…

C’est donc en seconde période que cette rencontre devait se jouer et l’AS Monaco revenait avec beaucoup de détermination sur la pelouse. Cela se concrétisait par une grosse occasion à la 49e minute, quand Basic déviait avec beaucoup de réussite un tir de Ben Yedder, trouvé par Slimani. Les corners s’enchaînaient pour des Rouge et Blanc (12 au total !) à nouveau dominateurs, mais les Bordelais se réveillaient à l’approche de l’heure de jeu. Après plusieurs tentatives non cadrées, c’est finalement sur un nouveau coup de pied arrêté que le match basculait à la 67e.

Slimani expulsé, De Préville en profite

Après une faute de Henrichs sur De Préville, Bordeaux obtenait un bon coup-franc sur lequel Slimani était sanctionné pour avoir dévié le ballon du bras. Déjà averti quelques minutes plus tôt, il récoltait un second carton jaune synonyme d’expulsion, alors que De Préville transformait le pénalty accordé par M. Millot (67e). Menés au score et en infériorité numérique, les Rouge et Blanc se procuraient plusieurs occasions d’égaliser, mais Costil sauvait les siens sur deux tentatives de Bakayoko (72e et 75e), avant de s’interposer sur un tir de Ben Yedder (79e). Si Bordeaux touchait du bois par Benrahou (77e), les regrets étaient bien monégasques dans cette partie, avec une cruelle défaite 2-1 à la clé.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.