Close
History 22 October 2020, 15:46

Happy Birthday Arsène Wenger!

Happy Birthday Arsène Wenger!
AS Monaco wish a happy birthday to their former coach, the 1988 French champion and 1991 Coupe de France winner, who is 71 today.

He is the most British of French trainers. And yet his career began in Alsace, in Strasbourg, his birthplace. Champion of France as a player with RCSA in 1979, Arsène Wenger soon saw his career as a coach take flight. This second career, that he would begin at AS Nancy-Lorraine in 1984 at the age of 35 saw him join AS Monaco three seasons later, when President Jean-Louis Campora called on him to take AS Monaco to the next level in Europe.

AS Monaco switches to a European focus

The marriage was immediately a success, as the Alsatian coach, on the strength of some ambitious recruitment including the arrival of Englishmen Glenn Hoddle and Mark Hateley, became champion of France in his first season at the foot of the rock, in 1988. The following summer, the French manager oversaw the arrival of George Weah, a future Ballon d’Or winner, to the Principality. The club’s European ambitions did not finally materialize until 1990, with a first continental semifinal in the Cupwinners Cup, against Sampdoria.

In the following year, the rivalry between Arsène Wenger’s Rouge et Blanc and Bernard Tapie’s Olympique de Marseille took another turn, with Monaco winning the Coupe de France in 1991, the club’s latest win in this competition. It was Gérald Passi who delivered the victory to his teammates, with a goal scored in the 90th minute of play on the lawn of the Parc des Princes, as if to take revenge for being runner-up to OM in the league. of France. The 1991-1992 season was then one of confirmation in the European Cup, this time with Monaco reaching the Cupwinners Cup final, played and unfortunately lost against Werder Bremen.

One last European run before the big leap

AS Monaco nevertheless had confirmed that it is now a regular and serious candidate in European competitions. This continued two years later, during Arsène Wenger’s final season on the bench for the Rouge et Blanc. Led by a duo of Youri Djorkaeff and Jurgen Klinsmann and academy products Emmanuel Petit and Claude Puel, the Monegasques would only stumble against the great AC Milan of Marcel Desailly in the semifinal of the Champions League this time. This run to the last four of the queen of European competitions was one which would definitely place AS Monaco on the map in Europe as the most successful French club, one most often at the end of some fantastic campaigns.

Nevertheless Arsène Wenger decided to make a move in his young coaching career by trying his hand at managing in Japan with Nagoya Grampus before making history in the Premier League with his almost quarter-century spell on the Arsenal bench (1,219 games from 1996 to 2018), a longevity record which sits just behind that of his Scottish counterpart, Sir Alex Ferguson. In total, the Alsatian coach was in charge for 325 matches on the bench of AS Monaco, winning the title of champion of France 1988 and the Coupe de France in 1991.

On the occasion of his 71st birthday today, the Club wish a happy birthday to their former coach. Happy Birthday Arsène!

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Carnet 22 octobre 2020, 13:16

Happy birthday Arsène Wenger

Happy birthday Arsène Wenger
L’AS Monaco souhaite un joyeux anniversaire à son ancien coach, champion de France 1988 et vainqueur de la Coupe de France 1991, qui fête aujourd’hui ses 71 ans.

Il est le plus british des entraîneurs français. Et pourtant son parcours a débuté en Alsace, à Strasbourg, sa ville natale. Champion de France en tant que joueur avec le RCS en 1979, Arsène Wenger ne tarde pas à voir naître en lui une vocation d’entraîneur. Une seconde carrière qu’il va débuter à l’AS Nancy-Lorraine dès 1984 à l’âge de 35 ans. Trois saisons plus tard, le Président Jean-Louis Campora fait appel à lui pour faire passer un cap au niveau européen à l’AS Monaco.

L’AS Monaco bascule dans une dimension européenne

Le mariage est immédiatement un succès, puisque l’entraîneur alsacien, fort d’un recrutement ambitieux avec notamment l’arrivée des Anglais Glenn Hoddle et Mark Hateley, décroche le titre de champion de France dès sa première saison au pied du rocher, en 1988. Dès l’été suivant, le technicien tricolore est à l’origine de l’arrivée de George Weah, futur Ballon d’Or, en Principauté. Les ambitions européennes du club ne se concrétisent finalement qu’en 1990, avec une première demi-finale continentale à la clé, en Coupe des Coupes, face à la Sampdoria Gênes.

Lors de l’exercice suivant, la rivalité entre les Rouge et Blanc d’Arsène Wenger et l’Olympique de Marseille de Bernard Tapie prend un autre virage, avec la victoire monégasque en finale de Coupe de France 1991, la dernière en date du club dans la compétition. C’est Gérald Passi qui offre alors la victoire à ses partenaires, d’un but inscrit à la 90e minute de jeu sur la pelouse du Parc des Princes, comme pour se venger du statut de vice-champion face à l’OM en championnat de France. La saison 1991-1992 est celle de la confirmation en coupe d’Europe, avec cette fois une finale de Coupe des Coupes (C2), disputée et malheureusement perdue face au Werder Brême.

Une dernière épopée européenne avant le grand saut

L’AS Monaco confirme tout de même qu’il est désormais un candidat régulier et sérieux aux compétitions continentales. Une donnée qui se vérifie deux ans plus tard, lors de l’ultime saison d’Arsène Wenger sur le banc des Rouge et Blanc. Emmenés par un duo Youri Djorkaeff – Jurgen Klinsmann et les enfants du club Emmanuel Petit et Claude Puel, les Monégasques ne butent que sur le grand AC Milan de Marcel Desailly en demi-finale de la Ligue des Champions cette fois. Une expérience dans le dernier carré de la reine des compétitions européennes qui placera définitivement l’AS Monaco sur la carte de l’Europe, comme le club français le plus performant et le plus souvent à la conclusion d’épopées fantastiques.

Néanmoins Arsène Wenger décide de prendre un virage dans sa jeune carrière de coach en tentant une expérience exotique au Japon au Nagoya Grampus. Avant de marquer l’histoire de la Premier League lors de son passage de près d’un quart de siècle sur le banc d’Arsenal (1219 matchs de 1996 à 2018), record de longévité derrière son homologue écossais Sir Alex Ferguson. Au total, le coach alsacien aura tout de même dirigé 325 matchs sur le banc de l’AS Monaco, remportant donc le titre de champion de France 1988 et la Coupe de France 1988.

A l’occasion de ses 71 ans aujourd’hui, le Club souhaite ainsi un joyeux anniversaire à son ancien entraîneur. Happy birthday Arsène !

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.