Close
Préparation 14 August 2020, 15:30

AS Monaco against Dutch teams

AS Monaco against Dutch teams
Ahead of their trip to Alkmaar, we focus on the last three official matches played by AS Monaco against Dutch teams.

AS Monaco are set to play this Saturday against Alkmaar in their last preseason match, before the league campaign starts against Reims on August 23 at the Stade Louis II. This trip to the Netherlands is an opportunity to look back on the Club’s last official matches against Dutch teams.

2003-2004 (Champions League) : PSV, the first match in a long story

Le XI (first match) : Roma, Squillaci, Rodriguez, Evra, Givet, Zikos, Bernardi, Cissé, Rothen, Giuly, Morientes
Le XI (reverse fixture) : Roma, Squillaci, Rodriguez, Evra, Givet, Zikos, Giuly, Rothen, Bernardi, Prso, Morientes

AS Monaco started its European campaign on September 17, 2003 at the Philips Stadion in Eindhoven. Didier Deschamps’ players did not know it yet, but this match marked the start of a formidable journey to the semifinals. Fernando Morientes with a header then Edouard Cissé with his right foot perfectly launched the Red and Whites’ European campaign. Wilfred Bouma’s reducing the score did not change anything, and AS Monaco won 2-1. In the reverse fixture in the group stage, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink answered Fernando Morientes’ opener and the two teams finished in a draw (1-1).

2004-2005 (Champions League) : End of the road for AS Monaco

Le XI (first leg) : Roma, Givet, Rodriguez, Evra, Maicon, Zikos, Plasil, Bernardi, Saviola, Kallon, Adebayor
Le XI (second leg) : Roma, Givet, Rodriguez, Evra, Maicon, Zikos, Plasil, Bernardi, Saviola, Kallon, Chevanton

A year later, Didier Deschamps is still there, but the players at his disposal have changed a lot. Ludovic Giuly left for Barcelona, Fernando Morientes returned to Real Madrid, Edouard Cissé joined PSG and Jérôme Rothen also left for the club in the capital. It was a team which mixed new and old players which thus managed to progress from a group made up of Liverpool, Olympiakos and Deportivo La Coruña. In the round of 16 of the Champions League, the Principality’s players faced PSV Eindhoven and lost 1-0 in the first leg to a header from the Brazilian defender Alex. In the return leg, the Dutch club won 2-0 and progressed to the next round.

2005-2006 (UEFA Cup) : Qualification for the group stages

Le XI (match aller) : Warmuz, Evra, Maicon, Squillaci, Modesto, Bernardi, Kapo, Meriem, Sorlin, Zikos, Adebayor
Le XI (match retour) : Warmuz, Evra, Givet, Maicon, Squillaci, Bernardi, Kapo, Meriem, Perez, Zikos, Adebayor

Third in Ligue 1 in 2004-2005, AS Monaco had the opportunity to play in the Champions League once again, but would lose their first European meeting of the season against Real Beti. Following this defeat in a play-off for a qualification to the Champions League, AS Monaco had to defeat Willem-II to play in the UEFA Cup. In the first leg, Didier Deschamps’ players won 2-0 thanks to Olivier Kapo and Emmanuel Adebayor. The Red and Whites thus had a good chance for qualification, and they confirmed as much in the return league. Jean Petit had taken over an interim role on the bench, and with success: AS Monaco returned from the Netherlands with a 3-1 win (goals from Maicon, Emmanuel Adebayor and Javier Chevanton) and qualified for the tournament proper.


AS Monaco against Dutch clubs:

10 matches in total: 5 wins, 3 draws and 2 losses.

2 matches against Roda JC, 2 matches against Willem-II, 2 matches against Feyenoord Rotterdam and 4 matches against PSV Eindhoven.

The Netherlands are 7th  in terms of countries of most frequently faced opponents, behind France, Germany, Spain, England, Italy and Greece.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Histoire 14 août 2020, 15:30

L'AS Monaco face aux équipes néerlandaises

L'AS Monaco face aux équipes néerlandaises
A la veille du déplacement à Alkmaar, focus sur les trois dernières rencontres officielles disputées par l'AS Monaco face à des équipes néerlandaises.

L’AS Monaco joue ce samedi sur la pelouse d’Alkmaar pour son dernier match de préparation, avant la reprise du championnat contre Reims le 23 août prochain au stade Louis II. Ce déplacement aux Pays-Bas est l’occasion de revenir sur les derniers matchs officiels du Club face à des formations néerlandaises.

2003-2004 (Ligue des Champions) : Le PSV, premier match d’une longue histoire

Le XI (match aller) : Roma, Squillaci, Rodriguez, Evra, Givet, Zikos, Bernardi, Cissé, Rothen, Giuly, Morientes
Le XI (match retour) : Roma, Squillaci, Rodriguez, Evra, Givet, Zikos, Giuly, Rothen, Bernardi, Prso, Morientes

L’AS Monaco démarre sa campagne européenne le 17 septembre 2003 au Philips Stadion d’Eindhoven. Les joueurs de Didier Deschamps ne le savent pas encore, mais ce match marque le début de leur formidable parcours jusqu’en finale. Fernando Morientes de la tête puis Edouard Cissé du pied droit lancent parfaitement la campagne européenne des Rouge et Blanc en marquant chacun un but. La réduction du score de Wilfred Bouma ne change rien, l’AS Monaco s’impose 2-1. Au match retour, toujours en phases de poule, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink répond à Fernando Morientes et les deux équipes se quittent sur un score de parité (1-1).

2004-2005 (Ligue des Champions) : Fin de parcours pour l’AS Monaco

Le XI (match aller) : Roma, Givet, Rodriguez, Evra, Maicon, Zikos, Plasil, Bernardi, Saviola, Kallon, Adebayor
Le XI (match retour) : Roma, Givet, Rodriguez, Evra, Maicon, Zikos, Plasil, Bernardi, Saviola, Kallon, Chevanton

Un an après, Didier Deschamps est toujours présent, mais les joueurs à sa disposition ont bien changé. Ludovic Giuly est parti pour Barcelone, Fernando Morientes est retourné au Real Madrid, Edouard Cissé a retrouvé le PSG et Jérôme Rothen est également parti dans le club de la capitale. C’est une équipe mêlant nouveaux joueurs et plus anciens qui arrive ainsi à s’extraire d’un groupe composé de Liverpool, l’Olympiakos et La Corogne. En huitièmes de finale de la Ligue des Champions, les joueurs de Principauté héritent du PSV Eindhoven et s’inclinent 1-0 au match aller sur une tête du défenseur Brésilien Alex. Au retour, le club des Pays-Bas l’emporte 2-0 et file au tour suivant.

2005-2006 (Coupe de l’UEFA) : Une qualification pour les phases de poule

Le XI (match aller) : Warmuz, Evra, Maicon, Squillaci, Modesto, Bernardi, Kapo, Meriem, Sorlin, Zikos, Adebayor
Le XI (match retour) : Warmuz, Evra, Givet, Maicon, Squillaci, Bernardi, Kapo, Meriem, Perez, Zikos, Adebayor

Troisième de Ligue 1 en 2004-2005, l’AS Monaco a l’opportunité de jouer une nouvelle fois la Ligue des Champions, mais va manquer son premier rendez-vous européen de la saison face au Betis Séville. Suite à cette défaite en match de barrage pour une qualification en C1, les Asémistes doivent vaincre Willem-II pour être reversé en Coupe de l’UEFA. Au match aller, les joueurs de Didier Deschamps gagnent 2-0 grâce à Olivier Kapo et Emmanuel Adebayor. Les Rouge et Blanc ont alors pris une belle option pour la qualification, et ils confirment au match retour. Jean Petit assure l’intérim sur le banc, avec réussite : l’AS Monaco revient des Pays-Bas avec un succès 3-1 (buts de Maicon, d’Emmanuel Adebayor et de Javier Chevanton) et se qualifie pour le tournoi principal.


L’AS Monaco face aux clubs néerlandais, c’est…

10 matchs pour un total de 5 victoires, 3 nuls et 2 défaites.

2 matchs face à Roda JC, 2 matchs face à Willem-II, 2 matchs face au Feyenoord Rotterdam et 4 matchs face au PSV Eindhoven.

La 7e nation la plus rencontrée derrière la France, l’Allemagne, l’Espagne, l’Angleterre, l’Italie et la Grèce.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.