Close
Training 03 August 2020, 11:07

A first progress report for Niko Kovac

A first progress report for Niko Kovac
In an interview with the newspaper L’Equipe, the new AS Monaco coach gave a first assessment of the team since his arrival after leaving the training camp in Poland, and says he is confident for the future.

Two weeks after having arrived in the Principality Niko Kovac knows his squad a little better now. After making his first impressions at La Turbie and leading a five-day training camp in Poland, the new coach of the Red and Whites was able to manage a second friendly match from the bench. It was a return to Frankfurt, the club which he saved from relegation in 2016 before winning the German Cup (2018) and giving the Eintracht fans a place in European competition.

“With Paul, we will show that it was the right method”

Everyone I have known here and who played under him (Haller, Fallette, Gelson Fernandes in particular) told me he was a very good coach. He has a very good image here in Germany,” as was confirmed to us by Almamy Touré before the match, which ended in a draw (1-1). In an interview with the newspaper L’Équipe this Sunday, the coach of AS Monaco says in any case that he is there to build: “I signed a three-year contract, Paul Mitchell four, it shows that a process is taking place. ( …) I know that in football we don’t have time. But in our case, we have it and we will show that it was the right method”.

At the head of a group of 22 years of average age at Opalenica, the former Croatian international (83 caps, 15 goals) was enthusiastic about the idea of working again with young talents, surrounded by elements of experience. “Being on the pitch is my life. The titles are important but I am so happy to see former players that I had with the Croatian U-21s (2013) or the Salzburg reserve team (2009-2011) do well in their careers, “said Niko Kovac.

All players are able to get into the team. Show me you're the best, and you will play.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

Two months to boost the team

A product of his work with Giovanni Trapattoni, the last coach of his career in Salzburg (2006-2008), and by Ottmar Hitzfeld at Bayern Munich (2001-2003), the former coach of the German champion then admitted that he has been inspired by the great coaches he knew during his playing career. And that he himself would be demanding on the job, but fair in his choices: “All players are able to join the team. Show me that you are the best, and you will play.”

Niko Kovac, who is giving himself “two months” with his staff to boost the team’s physical strength, still has three weeks ahead of him to prepare for Reims’ visit to the Stade Louis II, for the kick-off of the 2020-2021 season.

 

Read the full interview here.

1 / 8
AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Interview 03 août 2020, 11:07

Premier bilan d’étape pour Niko Kovac

Premier bilan d’étape pour Niko Kovac
Dans un entretien accordé au quotidien L’Équipe, le nouvel entraîneur de l’AS Monaco dresse un premier bilan depuis son arrivée au sortir du stage en Pologne, et se dit confiant pour l’avenir.

Deux semaines après son arrivée en Principauté, Niko Kovac connaît un peu mieux son groupe désormais. Après avoir pris ses marques à La Turbie et dirigé un stage de cinq jours en Pologne, le nouveau coach des Rouge et Blanc a pu vivre son deuxième match amical sur le banc. Un retour à Francfort, club qu’il avait sauvé de la relégation en 2016 avant d’y remporter la Coupe d’Allemagne (2018) et d’offrir une place européenne aux fans de l’Eintracht.

« Avec Paul, on montrera que c’était la bonne méthode »

« Tous ceux que j’ai côtoyés ici et qui ont joué sous ses ordres (Haller, Fallette, Gelson Fernandes notamment) m’ont dit que c’était un très bon coach. Il a une très bonne image ici en Allemagne », nous confirmait ainsi Almamy Touré avant la rencontre, terminée sur un score de parité (1-1). Dans une interview accordée au journal L’Équipe ce dimanche, l’entraîneur de l’AS Monaco affirme en tout cas qu’il est là pour construire : « J’ai signé un contrat de trois ans, Paul Mitchell de quatre, ça montre qu’un processus s’installe. (…) Je sais que dans le foot on n’a pas de temps. Mais dans notre cas, on en a et on montrera que c’était la bonne façon de faire ».

A la tête d’un groupe de 22 ans de moyenne d’âge à Opalenica, l’ex-international croate (83 sélections, 15 buts) s’est montré enthousiaste à l’idée de travailler à nouveau avec des jeunes talents, entourés par des éléments d’expérience. « Être sur le terrain, c’est ma vie. Les titres sont importants mais je suis tellement heureux de voir d’anciens joueurs que j’ai eus avec les Espoirs croates (2013) ou la réserve de Salzbourg (2009-2011) faire carrière », a notamment confié Niko Kovac.

Tous les joueurs sont capables d’intégrer l’équipe. Montre-moi que tu es meilleur, et tu vas jouer.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Deux mois pour faire monter en puissance l’équipe

Marqué par la stature de Giovanni Trapattoni, son dernier coach en carrière à Salzbourg (2006-2008), ou encore par Ottmar Hitzfeld au Bayern Munich (2001-2003), l’ancien coach du champion d’Allemagne a ensuite avoué qu’il s’inspirait des grands entraîneurs qu’il a connus durant sa carrière de joueur. Et qu’il serait lui-même exigeant sur le travail, mais juste dans ses choix : « Tous les joueurs sont capables d’intégrer l’équipe. Montre-moi que tu es meilleur, et tu vas jouer ».

Niko Kovac, qui se donne « deux mois » avec son staff pour faire monter en puissance l’équipe sur le plan physique, a encore trois semaines devant lui pour préparer la réception de Reims au Stade Louis II, pour le coup d’envoi de la saison 2020-2021.

Retrouvez l’intégralité de l’interview ici.

1 / 8
L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.