Close
Portrait 07 August 2020, 12:01

In the footsteps of Axel Disasi

In the footsteps of Axel Disasi
The 22-year-old center back has just signed with AS Monaco until June 2025. Here's a look back at his career before arriving at the foot of the Rock.

He helped make the Stade de Reims the best defense in Ligue 1 last year (21 goals conceded in 28 games), ahead of Paris Saint-Germain. In his first full season in the top flight, he took part in 27 of the 28 matches contested in the league by the Champagne club. Axel Disasi has joined AS Monaco on a five-year contract.

A standout at Paris FC’s academy

A native of Gonesse in Val d´Oise, the central defender born March 11, 1998, started playing football in 2006 at JS Villiers-le-Bel, a club where he would train until he was 15, before spending a season at USM Senlis, in the neighboring department of Oise. He was then spotted by Paris FC, who placed him in their academy where he was quickly playing with first the U17s and then the U19s.

Axel finally  played his first Ligue 2 match with the Ile-de-France club on December 11, 2015 at the age of 17. He would go on to make three starts before moving to Stade de Reims the following summer. In Champagne, he first played with the CFA side in his first season, then signed his first professional contract in November 2017, earning a first call-up for the French U20s the same month.

 

We prepared him for 2 years, he was able to be patient and last season, he burst into our team.
David GuionManager, Stade de Reims

5th at the Toulon Espoirs Festival in 2018

It was also during this year that he managed to feature regularly with Stade de Reims in Ligue 2 (12 games and 1 goal in 2017-2018), contributing to the promotion of the six-time French champion. He would also participate in the Festival international Espoirs de Toulon with Les Bleuets in May.

With his two starts against South Korea in the group stage (4-1 win), then against Canada (a 2-1 success), he was a key to securing 5th place in the tournament. Back in the top flight, he would then play 31 games (1 goal) in two seasons, including 27 in 2019-2020, during which he formed the central defensive partnership of the Champagne side with Yunis Abdelhamid.

Very rarely cautioned

A very athletic central defender, Axel Disasi played on the right side. He has a very good aerial game and is invaluable in his anticipation and in his first touch. Eager to get stuck into challenges, he imposes himself of the game with his physical presence in both areas, with a height of 1m 90.

Finally, he is very disciplined, having only received three yellow cards in 31 Ligue 1 games with Stade de Reims. “We prepared him for 2 years, he was able to be patient and last season, he burst into our team,” his former coach David Guion recently confided about him.

 

AS Monaco welcomes him and wishes him all possible success with the Red and Whites.

1 / 4
AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Portrait 07 août 2020, 12:01

Sur les traces d’Axel Disasi

Sur les traces d’Axel Disasi
Le défenseur central de 22 ans vient de s’engager avec l’AS Monaco jusqu’en juin 2025. Retour sur son parcours avant son arrivée au pied du Rocher.

Il a contribué à faire du Stade de Reims la meilleure défense de Ligue 1 lors du dernier exercice (21 buts encaissés en 28 matchs), devant le Paris Saint-Germain. Pour sa première saison pleine dans l’élite, il a d’ailleurs pris part à 27 matchs sur les 28 disputés en championnat par le club champenois. Axel Disasi vient de s’engager avec l’AS Monaco pour cinq ans.

Surclassé chez les jeunes au Paris FC

Originaire de Gonesse dans le Val d’Oise, le défenseur central né le 11 mars 1998, a commencé à jouer au football en 2006 à la JS Villiers-le-Bel. Un club dans lequel il va grandir jusqu’à ses 15 ans, avant d’effectuer une saison à l’USM Senlis, dans le département mitoyen de l’Oise. Il se fait alors repérer par le Paris FC, qui l’intègre à son centre de formation où il est rapidement surclassé en U17 puis en U19.

Axel connaît finalement son premier match de Ligue 2 avec le club francilien le 11 décembre 2015 à l’âge de 17 ans. Il enchaînera trois titularisations d’affilée avant de rejoindre le Stade de Reims l’été suivant. En Champagne il intègre d’abord la CFA la première saison, puis signe son premier contrat professionnel en novembre 2017. Avec en cadeau, une première sélection avec les U20 tricolores le même mois.

On l'a préparé pendant 2 ans, il a su être patient et la saison dernière, il a éclaté au sein de notre équipe.
David GuionEntraîneur du Stade de Reims

5e au Festival Espoirs de Toulon en 2018

C’est également au cours de cet exercice qu’il arrive à enchaîner régulièrement avec le Stade de Reims en Ligue 2 (12 matchs et 1 but en 2017-2018), contribuant à la remontée du sextuple champion de France. Il participera au passage au Festival international Espoirs de Toulon avec les Bleuets au mois de mai.

Avec deux titularisations à la clé face à la Corée du Sud en phase de poules (victoires 4-1), puis contre le Canada (succès 2-1) pour décrocher une 5e place dans le tournoi. Au sein de l’élite, il va ensuite disputer 31 matchs (1 but) en deux saisons, dont 27 en 2019-2020, durant laquelle il forme la charnière centrale des Champenois avec Yunis Abdelhamid.

Très peu sanctionné

Défenseur central très athlétique, Axel Disasi évolue axe droit. Il possède un très bon jeu de tête et se révèle précieux dans l’anticipation et dans la première relance. Présent dans les duels, il impose son volume physique dans les deux surfaces, du haut de son mètre 90.

Enfin, il est très discipliné, puisqu’il n’a écopé que de trois cartons jaunes en 31 rencontres de Ligue 1 avec le Stade de Reims. « On l’a préparé pendant 2 ans, il a su être patient et la saison dernière, il a éclaté au sein de notre équipe », confiait très récemment son ancien coach David Guion à son sujet.

L’AS Monaco lui souhaite la bienvenue et toute la réussite possible avec les Rouge et Blanc.

1 / 4
L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.