National teams 11 October 2021, 23:10

Tchouameni and Ben Yedder win the Nations League!

Tchouameni and Ben Yedder win the Nations League!
The AS Monaco midfielder and captain lifted their first trophy with France last night, winning the Nations League final against Spain (2-1).

With just over a year to go until the World Cup in Qatar, they have already won a trophy with Les Bleus! Called up by Didier Deschamps to play in the Final 4 of the Nations League with the France team at the start of October, Aurélien Tchouameni and Wissam Ben Yedder ended up lifting the trophy in this second edition of the competition. Starting in midfield alongside Paul Pogba, in the absence of Adrien Rabiot, the Monegasque number 8 played the entire final against Spain on Sunday (2-1 victory).

Hugo Lloris and Wissam Ben Yedder – Crédits : équipe de France – Guillaume Bigot

The threat of Mikel Oyarzabal

Making what was only his fourth appearance, “Tchouam” had a great match, against an Spanish side who kept control of the ball for most of the match. It was even La Roja who opened the scoring through Mikel Oyarzabal, the Real Sociedad winger, whom the Rouge et Blanc had kept quiet ten days ago in San Sebastian in the Europa League (1-1 ). The latter turned Dayot Upamecano, running on to a long ball, before beating Hugo Lloris with a fine strike across goal (1-0, 64′).

Karim Benzema responds

The was no time to hesitate for Les Bleus, and Karim Benzema, as the Real Madrid man hit a wonder of a goal for the equalizer. Played in by Kylian Mbappé, the four-time Champions League winner took the ball on his right foot and sent a sumptuous strike into the opposite top corner to beat Unai Simon (1-1, 66′). Didier Deschamps’ team had thus only two minutes of trailing before levelling the score. And it was ultimately a certain attacker who is a product of the AS Monaco  Academy that would seal the match’s outcome.

A first honor for our Bleus

On yet another counterattack, the 2017 French champion beat the Spanish goalkeeper with a subtle play, sliding the ball under his body (1-2, 80′). The score would not change until full time, and the French team became the second champion after Portugal, who had been the first Nations League winner two years ago. Wissam Ben Yedder, on the bench at  kick-off, thus has won, along with Aurélien Tchouameni, his first title with Les Bleus. Bravo to both!

Aurélien Tchouamnei and Jules Koundé - Crédits : équipe de France - Guillaume Bigot
Crédits : équipe de France - Guillaume Bigot
Crédits : équipe de France - Guillaume Bigot
1 / 3
Rise. Risk. Repeat.