Close
Matches 08 November 2020, 19:09

The Côte d’Azur is Red and White!

The Côte d’Azur is Red and White!
AS Monaco won in the 99th Côte d'Azur derby by dominating OGC Nice at the Allianz Riviera (2-1), after a heroic match by the Red and Whites under Niko Kovac .

For this 99th derby in history between OGC Nice and AS Monaco, Niko Kovac decided to  keep in place the victorious starting XI from the win over Girondins de Bordeaux last weekend (4-0). The only notable change was the presence of Italian goalkeeper Vito Mannone in Monaco’s goal for his Ligue 1 debut, following the absence of Benjamin Lecomte, who suffered a fractured right hand in training. So it was with the same flat 4-4-2 that the Red and Whites started the match.

It was a derby which started off on at lightning speed, with an run by Kevin Volland in Nice’s half of the pitch from the 3rd minute of play. The German striker beat his defender and shifted the ball onto his left foot to send a powerful shot off the crossbar of Walter Benitez, who was visibly beaten. At the end of the play, Wissam Ben Yedder picked up the ball and tried his luck from the left as well. The ball, deflected by an OGCN defender, this time hit the left post of the Argentine goalkeeper.

 

Massive pressure finally rewarded

Kevin Volland, again made a chance for himself in the 9th minute when Sofiane Diop picked him out him in the middle. The player who scored twice last weekend against Bordeaux (4-0 victory), shifted to the right and then shot low, but the Nice goalkeeper intervened perfectly. As he did on a strike by Youssouf Fofana from 25 meters. It was then against Wissam Ben Yedder that he won another one-on-one (11th). AS Monaco were pushing but couldn’t find the breakthrough yet, despite constant pressure from Niko Kovac’s eleven.

After a quarter of an hour of madness on the Monegasque side, a few minutes with somewhat less intensity between the two teams calmed the pace of the match. Until a corner delivered by Youssouf Fofana, from which Axel Disasi took a perfect header, rising higher than everyone else in the box from Nice (0-1, 23rd). The Monegasque central defender scored his second goal of the season, after having scored at the opening of the league season against his former team, Stade de Reims. It was an achievement that was just reward for the ultra-domination of visitors.

 

The breakthrough goal is so close

It was this domination that was close to putting AS Monaco two goals after a poor clearance from Nice from which Sofiane Diop could not find the net (36′). Just before that, Kasper Dolberg had the first attempt from OGC Nice. Niko Kovac’s men maintained a high level of pressure, which allowed Wissam Ben Yedder to release Gelson Martins this time. Hanging on by his defender and undone by  a quick run off his line by Walter Benitez, the winger unfortunately did not manage to double the lead (41st). Despite everything, the Portuguese attacker and his teammates returned to the locker room a goal ahead.

It was an advantage that held up early in the second period, despite a warning from a strike by Jeff Reine-Adelaide, which Vito Mannone controlled without problem (51st). There was then an opportune moment that Sofiane Diop chose to intercept a mis-hit pass from Nice, and to go alone at goal. Already a scorer against Nantes on the third matchday, the Monegasque midfielder cleverly slipped the ball between the legs of Walter Benitez, who had come out to stop him (0-2, 53rd). Niko Kovac’s players had finally scored a second, just after their return to the pitch.

 

A breathtaking end to the match

OGC Nice, somewhat stunned by this goal, were on the verge of being beaten once again on an overpowering strike from Wissam Ben Yedder, which passed just over the crossbar of Walter Benitez (65′). Unfortunately for the Monegasques, Pierre Lees-Melou, on the lookout after a Lotomba shot was blocked by Vito Mannone, narrowed the gap by beating Axel Disasi (1-2, 69′). It was a big blow for the Red and Whites who had been controlling the game well so far. It was then the moment that was chosen by Niko Kovac to bring Florentino Luis into the heart of the game, lining him up in defensive midfield.

This move to playing three in midfield was saving for AS Monaco, who were again not far from registering a third goal. Well played in by a chip over the defense by Wissam Ben Yedder, Willem Geubbels, cutting in from the right, hit a beautiful shot which crashed against the right post of Walter Benitez, who was again beaten (83′). The end of the game was pins and needles in this 99th derby which did lack in its intensity. The tension even reached its peak when the 4th referee announced four minutes of added time.

 

The podium within reach

But the Red and Whites held on and won a victory as symbolic as it was important in this duel for regional supremacy. Because with these three points, the Monegasques seized 6th place in the top flight, just two points behind  second. Their next important match is at home after the break, with the reception of Paris Saint-Germain to start of the 11th matchday in Ligue 1.

Daghe Munegu!



Match details:

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – 10th Matchday
OGC Nice 1-2 AS Monaco
Halftime: 0-1

Goals: Pierre Lees-Melou (69′) for OGC Nice; Axel Disasi (23′) and Sofiane Diop (53′) for AS Monaco

Bookings: Boudaoui (19′) and Schneiderlin (69′); Diop (69′) and Ben Yedder (75′) for AS Monaco

OGC Nice: Benitez – Boudaoui (Claude-Maurice, 67e), Bambu, Schneiderlin, Nsoki (Ndoye, , Lotomba – Thuram (Pelmard, 46e), Lees-Melou – Reine-Adélaïde (Maolida, 67e), Dolberg (Lopes, 67e), Gouiri
Manager: Patrick Vieira

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Caio Henrique – Diop (Geubbels, 73e), Tchouameni, Fofana, Gelson Martins (Sidibé, 85e) – Volland (Florentino Luis, 79e), Ben Yedder © (Pellegri, 85e)
Manager: Niko Kovac

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 08 novembre 2020, 19:09

La Côte d’Azur est Rouge et Blanche

La Côte d’Azur est Rouge et Blanche
L’AS Monaco s’est imposé dans le 99e derby de la Côte d’Azur, en dominant l’OGC Nice à l’Allianz Riviera pour la première fois depuis cinq ans (2-1), au terme d’un match héroïque des Rouge et Blanc de Niko Kovac.

Pour ce 99e derby de l’histoire entre l’OGC Nice et l’AS Monaco, Niko Kovac décidait de reconduire le onze de départ victorieux des Girondins de Bordeaux le week-end dernier (4-0). Seul changement notable, la présence du portier italien Vito Mannone dans les buts monégasques pour sa première en Ligue 1, suite au forfait de Benjamin Lecomte, victime d’une fracture du 4e métatarse de la main droite à l’entraînement. C’est donc avec le même 4-4-2 à plat que les Rouge et Blanc démarraient la rencontre.

Un derby qui part sur les chapeaux de roues, avec une incursion de Kevin Volland dans le camp niçois dès la 3e minute de jeu. L’attaquant allemand crochète son défenseur et revient sur son pied gauche pour envoyer un missile sur la transversale de Walter Benitez, visiblement battu. Sur la fin de l’action, Wissam Ben Yedder reprend le ballon et tente également sa chance du gauche. Le ballon, dévié par un défenseur de l’OGCN, termine cette fois sa course sur le poteau gauche du portier argentin.

Une pression monstre finalement récompensée

Kevin Volland, encore lui, se signale de nouveau à la 9e minute lorsque Sofiane Diop l’alerte dans l’axe. Celui qui a inscrit un doublé le week-end dernier face à Bordeaux (victoire 4-0), se décale à droite puis frappe à ras de terre, mais le gardien niçois s’interpose parfaitement. Comme sur la frappe de Youssouf Fofana à 25 mètres dans la foulée. C’est ensuite face à Wissam Ben Yedder qu’il remporte son face-à-face (11e). L’AS Monaco pousse mais ne trouve pas encore l’ouverture, malgré une pression constante du onze de Niko Kovac.

Après un quart d’heure de folie côté monégasque, quelques minutes d’observation entre les deux équipes viennent calmer le rythme. Jusqu’à ce corner frappé par Youssouf Fofana, qu’Axel Disasi reprend parfaitement de la tête, plus haut que tout le monde dans les six mètres niçois (0-1, 23e). Le défenseur central monégasque inscrit là son deuxième but de la saison, après celui inscrit en ouverture du championnat face à son ancienne équipe du Stade de Reims. Une réalisation qui vient surtout récompenser l’ultra-domination des visiteurs, pas récompensés jusque-là.

Le but du break si proche

Une domination qui est proche d’offrir deux buts d’avance à l’AS Monaco sur cette mauvaise relance niçoise sur laquelle Sofiane Diop ne parvient pas à trouver le bon décalage (36e). Juste avant, Kasper Dolberg avait tenté la première frappe de la partie côté OGC Nice. Les hommes de Niko Kovac maintiennent un niveau de pression élevé, qui permet à Wissam Ben Yedder de lancer cette fois Gelson Martins. Accroché par son défenseur et gêné par la sortie furtive de Walter Benitez, ce dernier ne parvient malheureusement pas à finir de près (41e). Malgré tout les partenaires de l’ailier portugais rentrent au vestiaire avec un but d’avance.

Un avantage qui tient bon en début de seconde période, malgré une première alerte sur cette frappe de Jeff Reine-Adélaïde, que Vito Mannone capte sans problème (51e). Le moment opportun que choisit Sofiane Diop pour intercepter une mauvaise relance niçoise, et filer seul au but. Déjà buteur face à Nantes lors de la 3e journée, le milieu monégasque glisse astucieusement le ballon entre les jambes de Walter Benitez, sorti à sa rencontre (0-2, 53e). Les joueurs de Niko Kovac font alors ainsi le break juste après leur retour sur la pelouse.

Une fin de match haletante

L’OGC Nice, quelque peu assommé par ce but, est à deux doigts de craquer une nouvelle fois sur une frappe surpuissante de Wissam Ben Yedder, qui passe juste au-dessus de la transversale de Walter Benitez (65e). Malheureusement pour les Monégasques, Pierre Lees-Melou, à l’affût après un tir de Lotomba repoussé par Vito Mannone, réduit l’écart en pressant Axel Disasi (1-2, 69e). Un coup dur pour les Rouge et Blanc qui tenaient jusqu’à maintenant bien la rencontre. Le moment choisi par Niko Kovac pour faire rentrer Florentino Luis dans le coeur du jeu, à la récupération.

Un passage à trois au milieu salvateur pour l’AS Monaco, qui n’est pas loin d’inscrire un troisième but. Bien servi par dessus la défense par Wissam Ben Yedder, Willem Geubbels, légèrement excentré, croise une belle volée qui vient s’écraser contre le poteau droit de Walter Benitez, de nouveau battu (83e). La fin de rencontre est irrespirable dans ce 99e derby qui n’aura pas manqué de rythme. La tension atteint même son paroxysme lorsque le 4e arbitre annonce quatre minutes de temps additionnel.

Un podium à portée de fusil

Mais les Rouge et Blanc tiennent bon et remportent une victoire aussi symbolique qu’importante dans ce duel pour la suprématie régionale. La première en terre niçoise sur les cinq dernières saisons. Car avec ces trois points, les Monégasques s’emparent de la 6e place de l’élite, à seulement deux longueurs du fauteuil de deuxième. Prochain rendez-vous important à domicile après la trêve, avec la réception du Paris Saint-Germain pour le sommet de la 11e journée de Ligue 1.

Daghe Munegu !



La feuille de match :

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – 10e journée
OGC Nice 1-2 AS Monaco
Mi-temps : 0-1

Buts : Pierre Lees-Melou (69e) pour l’OGC Nice ; Axel Disasi (23e) et Sofiane Diop (53e) pour l’AS Monaco

Avertissements : Boudaoui (19e) et Schneiderlin (69e) ; Diop (69e) et Ben Yedder (75e) pour l’AS Monaco

OGC Nice : Benitez – Boudaoui (Claude-Maurice, 67e), Bambu, Schneiderlin, Nsoki (Ndoye, 84e), Lotomba – Thuram (Pelmard, 46e), Lees-Melou – Reine-Adélaïde (Maolida, 67e), Dolberg (Lopes, 67e), Gouiri
Entraîneur : Patrick Vieira

AS Monaco : Mannone – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Caio Henrique – Diop (Geubbels, 73e), Tchouameni, Fofana, Gelson Martins (Sidibé, 85e) – Volland (Florentino Luis, 79e), Ben Yedder © (Pellegri, 85e)
Entraîneur : Niko Kovac

Revivez la victoire des Rouge et Blanc en images.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.