Close
Matches 01 November 2020, 19:11

AS Monaco deliver a festival of attacking football

AS Monaco deliver a festival of attacking football
Niko Kovac's players inflicted a heavy defeat on Girondins de Bordeaux in a match played as part of of the 9th Matchday of Ligue 1 (4-0), remaining undefeated at Stade Louis-II since the start of the season.

In their fifth home game since the start of the season, AS Monaco played with a slightly revised starting XI. In search of a fourth top-flight victory, Niko Kovac decided to field Caio Henrique, Sofiane Diop and Kevin Volland from the start in a somewhat unprecedented flat 4-4-2. It was a strong change offered by the coach of the Rouge et Blancs, who were still undefeated at the Stade Louis-II (two wins and two draws).

Half an hour of observation before clicking into gear

In a closely-contested first quarter of an hour, the two teams kept each other at arm’s length, without getting any real opportunities. Until the 25th minute of play, that is, when Caio Henrique sent in a superb cross from the left wing for a header turned in by Wissam Ben Yedder. The Monaco captain believed he had scored his 6th goal this season, but match referee Rudy Buquet pointed to the penalty spot. Brazilian defender Pablo had deflected the ball in with his hand. Regardless, last season’s co-top scorer in Ligue 1 took responsibility from the spot and converted (1-0, 27′).

It was a breakthrough for an AS Monaco team that didn’t want to let up. In the wake of the penalty, another Monegasque side emerged. After a well-executed action in the Gironde half, Ruben Aguilar crossed for Gelson Martins at the far post. The Portuguese finished sublimely to register a second goal for the Red and Whites (2-0, 29′). One might think the hosts had had their fill, but it wasn’t to be the case. Buoyed by their strong start and seemingly, transfigured from their most recent matches, Wissam Ben Yedder’s teammates even gave themselves a third goal in just four minutes of play.

 

A good connection: Gelson Martins-Wissam Ben Yedder-Kevin Volland

Once again the solution came from the flanks, the left wing in this case, where Caio Henrique picked out his captain with a long ball. Ben Yedder  took his time to cross back towards Kevin Volland, who finished at close range with a header in the six yard box of Bordeaux (3-0, 30′). The German striker, who set up his fellow attacker’s two goals against Strasbourg on Matchday 5 of Ligue 1, took advantage of the confusion to score his first goal for AS Monaco. It was already looking like being a mind-blowing success for Niko Kovac’s men, who were truly on a mission.

We were even very close to seeing a fourth goal for AS Monaco on a new chance for Wissam Ben Yedder, whose shot, deflected by Pablo, spun just a few centimeters wide of the right post of Benoît Costil (43′). The two teams therefore went into half-time with a leade advantage for the hosts at Stade Louis-II, playing with great organization and clinical finishing in front of goal. On returning from the locker room, the character of the match changed, with Les Girondins looking to get onto the scoresheet.

 

Kevin Volland’s brilliant double

Despite this, the Monegasques remained dangerous on the counter. Gelson Martins gave himself a good chance in the 55th minute, but saw his shot blocked. On the next corner, Kevin Volland headed towards the near post, but Benoît Costil was able to save. This was only a delay of the inevitable for the German forward, though. Almost immediately thereafter, a good recovery by the Red and Whites landed at the feet of Wissam Ben Yedder after a long ball out from the back. The captain controlled, turned and picked out Gelson Martins at the far post. The Portuguese winger played it back for Kevin Volland, who had his second goal (4-0, 57′).

It was a real clincal display from the attacking trio of Gelson Martins – Ben Yedder – Volland, which did not prevent Niko Kovac’s players from continuing to push forward. Sofiane Diop also had an opportunity, but could not beat Benoît Costil with a fine shot low to the ground (74′). It was the perfect moment on the part of the Monaco staff to breathe life into the midfield as well as Gelson Martins. The match was thus finished, and the players of the Principality’s club had a fourth victory this season at home under the eyes of HSH Prince Albert II, who present in the presidential box. They are temporarily up to 7th place in the standings, just four points off the podium.

 



Match details:

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – Matchday 9
AS Monaco 4-0 Girondins de Bordeaux
Halftime: 3-0

Goals: Wissam Ben Yedder (27′), Gelson Martins (29′) and Kevin Volland (30′ and 57′) for Monaco

Bookings: Ruben Aguilar (40′) and Cesc Fàbregas (90′) for Monaco; Pablo (26′) and Benito (73′) for Bordeaux

AS Monaco: Lecomte – Aguilar (Sidibé, 46′), Disasi, Badiashile (Maripán, 72′), Caio Henrique – Tchouameni, Fofana, Diop (Fàbregas, 84′) – Gelson Martins (Jovetic, 84′), Ben Yedder ©, Volland (Pellegri, 67′)
Manager: Niko Kovac

Girondins de Bordeaux: Costil – Sabaly (Kwateng, 62′), Koscielny, Pablo, Benito – Basic, Otavio – Oudin (De Préville, 46′), Ben Arfa, Adli (Zerkane, 46′) – Hwang (Briand, 46′)
Manager: Jean-Louis Gasset

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 01 novembre 2020, 19:11

L’AS Monaco s’offre un festival offensif

L’AS Monaco s’offre un festival offensif
Les joueurs de Niko Kovac ont infligé une lourde défaite aux Girondins de Bordeaux pour le compte de la 9e journée de Ligue 1 (4-0), restant ainsi invaincus au Stade Louis-II depuis le début de saison.

Pour son cinquième match à domicile depuis le début de la saison, l’AS Monaco se présentait avec un onze de départ légèrement remanié. A la recherche d’une quatrième victoire dans l’élite, Niko Kovac avait ainsi décidé d’aligner Caio Henrique, Sofiane Diop et Kevin Volland d’entrée de jeu dans un schéma un peu inédit en 4-4-2 à plat. Un choix fort proposé par le coach des Rouge et Blanc, toujours invaincus au Stade Louis-II (deux victoires et deux matchs nuls).

Une première demi-heure d’observation avant la démonstration

Dans un premier quart d’heure cadenassé, les deux équipes s’observent, sans réellement se procurer de réelles opportunités. Jusqu’à cette 25e minute de jeu où Caio Henrique adresse un superbe centre depuis l’aile gauche pour la tête de Wissam Ben Yedder. Le capitaine monégasque croit inscrire son 6e but cette saison, mais l’arbitre de la rencontre M. Rudy Buquet montre le point de penalty. Le défenseur brésilien Pablo ayant détourné le ballon de la main. Qu’importe, le co-meilleur buteur de la saison dernière en Ligue 1 prend ses responsabilités et transforme la sentence d’un contre-pied parfait (1-0, 27e).

Une libération pour l’AS Monaco qui ne desserre pas pour autant l’étreinte. Dans la foulée du penalty, l’autre latéral monégasque se met en évidence. Au terme d’une action bien menée dans le camp girondin, Ruben Aguilar centre au cordeau pour Gelson Martins au deuxième poteau. Ce dernier tacle le ballon de rage, pour inscrire déjà le deuxième but des Rouge et Blanc (2-0, 29e). On croit alors les locaux rassasiés, mais il n’en est rien. Survoltés, transfigurés par rapport aux dernières sorties, les coéquipiers de Wissam Ben Yedder s’offrent le but du KO en seulement quatre minutes de jeu.

Une belle entente Gelson Martins – Ben Yedder – Volland

Encore une fois la solution vient d’un côté, l’aile gauche en l’occurrence, où Caio Henrique trouve son capitaine dans la profondeur. Ce dernier prend son temps pour centrer vers Kevin Volland, qui finit de près de la tête, dans les six mètres bordelais (3-0, 30e). L’attaquant allemand, qui avait offert deux buts à son compère d’attaque face à Strasbourg lors de la 5e journée de Ligue 1, profiter ainsi de l’euphorie ambiante pour signer son premier but avec la diagonale sur les épaules. Une réussite hallucinante pour les hommes de Niko Kovac, réellement investis d’une mission.

On est même très proche d’assister à un quatrième but de l’AS Monaco sur cette nouvelle opportunité de Wissam Ben Yedder, dans la frappe croisée, contrée par Pablo, file à quelques centimètres du poteau droit de Benoît Costil (43e). Les deux équipes se séparent donc à la mi-temps avec un large avantage pour les pensionnaires du Stade Louis-II, d’abord bien en place puis cliniques devant le but. Au retour des vestiaires, la physionomie change, les Girondins étant logiquement revanchards.

Le doublé salvateur de Kevin Volland

Malgré tout les Monégasques restant dangereux en contre. Gelson Martins s’offre ainsi une position de frappe à la 55e minute, mais voit sa frappe contrée. Sur le corner suivant, c’est Kevin Volland qui place une tête au premier poteau, mais Benoît Costil reste vigilant. Ce n’est que partie remise pour l’avant-centre allemand. Pratiquement dans la foulée, une bonne relance des Rouge et Blanc atterrit dans les pieds de Wissam Ben Yedder. Le capitaine contrôle, se retourne et lance Gelson Martins au second poteau. L’ailier portugais remise pour Kevin Volland, qui s’offre un doublé seul face au but (4-0, 57e).

Une véritable démonstration de réalisme de la part de la triplette d’attaque Gelson Martins – Ben Yedder – Volland, qui n’empêche pas les joueurs de Niko Kovac de continuer à aller de l’avant. Sofiane Diop offre ainsi une occasion à Benoît Costil de briller sur une belle frappe tendue à ras de terre (74e). Le moment choisi par le staff monégasque pour faire souffler le milieu de terrain ainsi que Gelson Martins. Le match est plié, les joueurs du club de la Principauté remportent une quatrième victoire cette saison sous les yeux de S.A.S. le Prince Albert II, présent en tribune présidentielle. Ils remontent provisoirement à la 7e place du classement, à quatre points du podium.



La feuille de match :

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – 9e journée
AS Monaco 4-0 Girondins de Bordeaux
Mi-temps : 3-0

Buts : Wissam Ben Yedder (27e), Gelson Martins (29e) et Kevin Volland (30e et 57e) pour Monaco

Avertissements : Ruben Aguilar (40e) et Cesc Fàbregas (90e) pour Monaco ; Pablo (26e) et Benito (73e) pour Bordeaux

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar (Sidibé, 46e), Disasi, Badiashile (Maripán, 72e), Caio Henrique – Tchouameni, Fofana, Diop (Fàbregas, 84e) – Gelson Martins (Jovetic, 84e), Ben Yedder ©, Volland (Pellegri, 67e)
Entraîneur : Niko Kovac

Girondins de Bordeaux : Costil – Sabaly (Kwateng, 62e), Koscielny, Pablo, Benito – Basic, Otavio – Oudin (De Préville, 46e), Ben Arfa, Adli (Zerkane, 46e) – Hwang (Briand, 46e)
Entraîneur : Jean-Louis Gasset

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.