Close
WHAT A GOAL ! 03 March 2020, 15:00

WAG : When Alejandro Alonso silenced the Ray

WAG : When Alejandro Alonso silenced the Ray
By scoring a double in the derby in Nice in 2009-2010, the Argentinian Alejandro Alonso delivered victory to the Red and Whites at the Stade du Ray (3-1). To celebrate our former captain's 38th birthday we look back at this incredible memory of his time at the club.

Saturday, September 19, 2009. That evening, Nice, who couldn’t manage to extricate themselves from the red zone, were preparing to welcome their Monegasque neighbor to their pitch. Les Aiglons were short of points at the start of the season, with only one victory in five games. For their part, Monaco were seventh at the time of kick-off of the match and had the opportunity to push into the European places. Nobody in the Principality had forgotten the insult of the previous season in the Riviera derby, when Le Gym had won by 3 goals to 1 at the Stade Louis-II. Guy Lacombe had been coach of AS Monaco for just a few weeks and the goal is clear: winning at the Stade du Ray.

A whirlwind start to the match

The game started with a flurry of action. In the sixth minute, Nenê was fouled in the area by Nice’s Apam and earned a penalty. The Brazilian took the spot kick and shot hard to the left. David Ospina’s hand is not firm enough to keep the ball out, and Monaco were already leading 1 to 0. Four minutes later, the Red and White assault on the opposing goal continued and Gudjohnsen, just arrived from Barça, managed to deflect a good ball with the outside of the foot towards Coutadeur. The young midfielder broke forward to push the ball towards his captain Alejandro Alonso, isolated on the right. Poorly marked, the Argentinian fired an unstoppable flat-footed shot  from the  edge of the area. AS Monaco had their breakthrough before the quarter of an hour of play in this derby.

An attack who are working hard

If Loïc Rémy, newly signed for Le Gym, managed to reduce the score before the break, but the players from the rock did not reduce their efforts. The Nice defense did not seem to be worried when they returned from the locker room and started the second period. On the bench, Guy Lacombe asked his team to continue attacking, to seek a third goal. Between Gudjohnsen, Nenê, Alonso, Gakpé and Park, the new Monegasque manager had no shortage of attacking options. In the visitors’ stand, the Red and White supporters who made the short trip continue to urge their side on.

The Argentinian sees double

And they are right: in the 71st minute of play, when the pace of this match had dropped, Alonso led a counterattack alongside Park into the opposing area. He picked out the Korean, who played back a sublime cross into the middle. The captain, more used to providing assists rather than scoring goals, lobbed Letizi perfectly with a header and scored the first double of his career in front of the Nice kop. Monaco won by 3 goals to 1 in the derby and continued a fourth season unbeaten against their rival.

 

Saturday, September 19, 2009 – Stade du Ray
Ligue 1 – Matchday Six
OGC Nice – AS Monaco (1-3)

Goals : Nenê (8′), Alonso (12′), Rémy (42′), Alonso (71′)
OGC Nice : Ospina – Apam – Echouafni – Rémy – Hellebuyck – Faé – Ben Saada – Diakité – Cid – Mounier – Paisley
AS Monaco : Mongongu – Alonso – Gudjohnsen – Park – Nenê – Adriano – Ruffier – Traoré – Coutadeur – Costa – Puygrenier

 

 

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
WHAT A GOAL ! 03 mars 2020, 15:00

#WAG : Quand Alejandro Alonso éteignait le Ray

#WAG : Quand Alejandro Alonso éteignait le Ray
En inscrivant un doublé lors du derby à Nice en 2009-2010, l'Argentin Alejandro Alonso offre la victoire aux Rouge et Blanc au Stade du Ray (3-1). Pour les 38 ans de notre ancien capitaine aujourd'hui, retour sur ce souvenir mémorable.

Samedi 19 septembre 2009. Ce soir-là, Nice, qui ne parvient pas à s’extirper de la zone rouge, se prépare à accueillir le voisin monégasque sur sa pelouse. Les Aiglons sont en manque de points en ce début de saison avec seulement une victoire au compteur en cinq matchs. De leur côté, les asémistes sont septièmes au coup d’envoi de la rencontre et ont l’opportunité de faire leur apparition dans les places européennes. Personne en Principauté n’a oublié l’affront de la saison précédente dans le derby azuréen, lorsque le Gym s’était imposé 3 buts à 1 au Louis-II. Voilà quelques semaines que Guy Lacombe est entraîneur de l’AS Monaco et le message est clair : gagner au Stade du Ray.

Début de match en trombe

La partie démarre sur les chapeaux de roue. À la sixième minute, Nenê est fauché dans la surface par le Niçois Apam et trouve un penalty. Le Brésilien s’élance et tire en force à gauche. La main de David Ospina n’est pas assez ferme pour sortir le ballon, Monaco mène déjà 1 à 0. Quatre minutes plus tard, l’assaut Rouge et Blanc continue dans le camp adverse et Gudjohnsen, tout juste arrivé du Barça, parvient à dévier un bon ballon de l’extérieur du pied vers Coutadeur. Le jeune milieu de terrain s’arrache pour pousser le cuir vers son capitaine Alejandro Alonso esseulé sur la droite. Défait de tout marquage, l’Argentin assène un plat du pied imparable à l’entrée de la surface. L’AS Monaco a fait le break avant le quart d’heure de jeu dans ce derby.

Un attirail offensif qui fait mal

Si Loïc Rémy, nouveau feu follet du Gym, est parvenu à réduire le score avant la pause, les joueurs du Rocher ne réduisent pas leurs efforts. Le bloc niçois ne parvient pas à se montrer de nouveau inquiétant au retour des vestiaires et subit le début de deuxième période. Sur le banc, Guy Lacombe demande à son équipe de continuer d’attaquer, d’aller chercher un troisième but. Entre Gudjohnsen, Nenê, Alonso, Gakpé ou Park, les profils offensifs ne manquent pas au nouveau technicien monégasque. Dans la tribune des visiteurs, les supporters Rouge et Blanc qui ont effectué le court déplacement continuent de pousser.

 

L’Argentin voit double

Et ils ont raison : à la 71ème minute de jeu, alors que le rythme de ce match était bien retombé, Alonso mène un contre assassin avec Park dans la surface adverse. Il trouve le Coréen dans l’intervalle, qui lui distille un sublime centre aveugle dans la course. Le capitaine, souvent plus habitué aux passes décisives qu’aux buts, lobe parfaitement Letizi de la tête et inscrit face au kop niçois le premier doublé de sa carrière. Monaco s’impose 3 buts à 1 dans le derby et poursuit sa quatrième saison d’invincibilité chez le voisin.

 

Samedi 19 septembre 2009 – Stade du Ray
Ligue 1 – 6ème journée
OGC Nice – AS Monaco (1-3)

Buts : Nenê (8e), Alonso (12e), Rémy (42e), Alonso (71e)
OGC Nice : Ospina – Apam – Echouafni – Rémy – Hellebuyck – Faé – Ben Saada – Diakité – Cid – Mounier – Paisley
AS Monaco : Ruffier – Mongongu – Alonso – Gudjohnsen – Park – Nenê – Adriano – Traoré – Coutadeur – Costa – Puygrenier

 

 

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.