Close
Portrait 28 July 2020, 19:15

Discovering Enzo Millot (1/3)

Discovering Enzo Millot (1/3)
In this week of the preseason, we are focusing on three young players from the Academy selected by Niko Kovac for the training camp in Poland. Today's subject is midfielder Enzo Millot, who is just 18 years old.

There are years that we remember more than others. Years that mark a life thanks to one or more elements that mark a step up, reaching a new level. 2019 was undoubtedly one of those for Enzo Millot. Originally from Martinique, the AS Monaco midfielder reached the semi-finals of the U17 Euros that year with the French team, signed his first professional contract with the Club, and finished third in the U17 World Cup with Les Bleue. All before even turning 18 years old.

With the ball, he is a player who has great technical quality, and a great personality. He's not afraid to have the ball, even with an opponent at his back, and not afraid to get forward. He is one of those who is capable of beating his man at any time. He must progress on the simplicity of his game but keep this technical facility.
Manu Dos SantosU17 Manager

The age of majority, Enzo Millot reached it a few days ago, on July 17th. It’s a birthday which often falls close to the start of the preseason. Last year, when he was a newly minted professional, the left-footed player found himself alongside one of his role models, Cesc Fabregas : “Cesc is an example for me on and off the pitch. He is an experienced player who has played and won the biggest competitions. I am lucky to be able to train with him,” admits Enzo Millot. We play in the same position, he inspires me a lot. His professionalism pushes me to always do better. ”

It’s something that’s been repeated this year. A year after taking part in his first preseason with the professionals, the midfielder with an eye for getting forward has been retained by Niko Kovac who takes him with him to Poland. This is the fruit of work started a few years ago by the Club’s recruitment unit and then by its various trainers. “We immediately saw Enzo’s technical potential on the pitch. He is a player with great instincts, but he had to be guided to meet expectations, remembers Manu Dos Santos, manager of the U17 side. “It took him a little while, two months, to understand what was being asked of him and to settle into the team. With the ball, he is a player who has great technical quality, and a great personality. He’s not afraid to have the ball, even with an opponent at his back, and not afraid to get forward. He is one of those who is capable of beating his man at any time. He must progress on the simplicity of his game but keep this technical facility.”

Cesc is an example for me on and off the pitch. We play in the same position, he inspires me a lot. His professionalism pushes me to always do better.
Enzo Millot

A left-footed midfielder, Enzo Millot joined AS Monaco in 2017 from FC Drouais, after playing for two other clubs in his native department: FC Chartres (2010-2015) and Etoile de Brou (2008-2010). Born in Lucé, a small town in Eure-et-Loire, Enzo Millot was followed for a long time by the Club, which attracted him to his Academy despite the competition in his same year from a certain Chrislain Matsima, with whom he has forged a real bond over the years. “He has a very good technique even if sometimes he is a bit annoying. Defensively he is very good, in the last pass his intelligence means that he is one step ahead of the opponent, the AS Monaco defender says of Enzo Millot. “About his character, he sulks too much, yells too much, talks too much. He’s too rowdy! “

Named in the 10 best goals of the 2018-2019 UEFA season

It was at the age of 15 that Enzo Millot began to impress himself on the general public. With four starts and two goals scored with the French team at the 2018 Mondial de Montaigu, Enzo Millot’s talent did not go unnoticed and confirmed the performances already seen in previous months with the AS Monaco U17s. Over time, the one who can play in a box-to-box role, as well as in a more offensive way or even as second striker has continued to grow. Until that famously decisive year of 2019.

At the U17 Euros in 2019, Enzo Millot scored two goals, including a sumptuous one in the quarterfinals against the Czech Republic, which was among UEFA’s 10 best goals of the season. Without controlling the ball, almost instinctively, he lobs the opposing goalkeeper, who is just a little too far off his line. Enzo Millot is a player renowned for being creative and technically adept. “If I have the opportunity, for sure I’ll try again. I was in the middle, just before the ball came to me I looked up, since the goalkeeper was advanced and instinctively I hit the ball and it went in “, remembers the left-footed player. The cherry on the cake, the AS Monaco youngster was named in the team of the tournament.

A creative player, but also one who is very skillful. In 2018/2019, Enzo Millot showed that despite his small size (1.75m), that he is comfortable in the air, in scoring the first goal for AS Monaco in their Youth League match against Dortmund  His consistency and his performances with the U19 side led him to his first professional contract in the summer of 2019. It was a vote of confidence on the part of the Club which saw him impress once again at the U17 World Cup in October, the French team finishing third in the competition.

Enzo Millot joined the National 2 team on his return from this international epic, but all does not go as planned.“Enzo got injured quite quickly (last season) and then came back. He might not have understood the demands of senior football right away, says David Bechkoura, the reserves manager. It was then that he realized what to do.” In some difficulty at the start f his spell there, Enzo Millot took his time. His favorite motto? “A lion never dies”. Despite having been njured, he got back up, then adapted to his new surroundings. “He understood what was expected of him in the second half of the season, showing good technical ability,” added his coach. The time has now come to prove it at the highest level.

BRUGGE, BELGIUM - JULY 17 : Charles Vanhoutte midfielder of Cercle Brugge is challenged by Enzo Millot of Monaco, pictured during a friendly between Cercle Brugge and AS Monaco FC on July 17, 2020 in Brugge, Belgium, 17/07/2020 ( Photo by Nico Vereecken / Photonews
1 / 7
AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Portrait 28 juillet 2020, 20:32

A la découverte d'Enzo Millot (1/3)

A la découverte d'Enzo Millot (1/3)
En cette semaine de préparation, lumière sur trois jeunes issus de l'Academy convoqués par Niko Kovac pour le stage en Pologne. Focus aujourd'hui sur le milieu de terrain Enzo Millot, tout juste âgé de 18 ans.

Il y a des années dont on se rappelle plus que d’autres. Des années qui marquent une vie grâce à un ou plusieurs éléments qui vous font basculer dans une nouvelle dimension. Celle de 2019 en fait sans doute partie pour Enzo Millot. D’origine martiniquaise, le milieu de terrain de l’AS Monaco atteint cette année-là les demi-finales de l’Euro U17 avec l’Équipe de France, signe son premier contrat professionnel avec le Club, et termine troisième du mondial U17 avec les Bleus. A l’aube de ses 18 ans, Enzo Millot montre déjà son potentiel.

Balle au pied, c'est un joueur qui a des grosses qualités techniques, une grosse personnalité. Il n'a pas peur d’avoir le ballon, même avec un adversaire dans le dos, et pas peur d’aller vers l’avant. Il fait partie de ceux qui sont capables d’éliminer à n’importe quel moment. Il doit progresser sur la simplicité de son jeu mais garder cette aisance technique.
Manu Dos SantosEntraîneur des U17 de l'AS Monaco

La majorité, le joueur du Rocher l’a atteinte il y a quelques jours, le 17 juillet. Une date anniversaire située chaque année en début de préparation. L’an dernier, alors qu’il est néo-pro, le gaucher se retrouve alors aux côtés de l’un de ses modèles, Cesc Fabregas : « Cesc est un exemple pour moi sur le terrain et en dehors. C’est un joueur expérimenté qui a disputé et gagné les plus grandes compétitions. J’ai la chance de pouvoir m’entraîner avec lui, avoue Enzo Millot. Nous jouons au même poste, il m’inspire énormément. Son professionnalisme me pousse à faire toujours mieux. »

Bis repetita cette année. Un an après avoir participé à sa première pré-saison avec les professionnels, le milieu relayeur au jeu toujours tourné vers l’offensive est retenu par Niko Kovac qui l’emmène avec lui en Pologne. Le fruit d’un travail amorcé il y a quelques années par la cellule de recrutement du Club puis par ses différents formateurs. « Nous avons tout de suite vu le potentiel technique d’Enzo sur le terrain. C’est un joueur instinctif, mais il a fallu le guider pour qu’il réponde aux attentes, se souvient Manu Dos Santos, l’entraîneur des U17. Il a mis un peu de temps, deux mois, avant de comprendre ce qu’on lui demandait et pour s’installer dans l’équipe. Balle au pied, c’est un joueur qui a des grosses qualités techniques, une grosse personnalité. Il n’a pas peur d’avoir le ballon, même avec un adversaire dans le dos, et pas peur d’aller vers l’avant. Il fait partie de ceux qui sont capables d’éliminer à n’importe quel moment. Il doit progresser sur la simplicité de son jeu mais garder cette aisance technique. »

Cesc est un exemple pour moi sur le terrain et en dehors. Nous jouons au même poste, il m’inspire énormément. Son professionnalisme me pousse à faire toujours mieux.
Enzo Millot

Milieu de terrain gaucher, Enzo Millot rejoint l’AS Monaco en 2017 en provenance du FC Drouais, après avoir joué dans deux autres clubs de son département natal : le FC Chartres (2010-2015) et l’Etoile de Brou (2008-2010). Né à Lucé, une petite ville de l’Eure-et-Loire, Enzo Millot était suivi de longue date par le Club, qui l’a attiré dans son Academy malgré la concurrence la même année qu’un certain Chrislain Matsima, avec qui il a noué une vraie complicité au fil des années. « Il a une très bonne technique même si des fois il est un peu fâcheux. Défensivement il est très bon, dans la dernière passe sa prise d’info fait qu’il a un temps d’avance sur l’adversaire, raconte le défenseur de l’AS Monaco sur Enzo Millot.

Nommé dans les 10 plus beaux buts UEFA de la saison 2018-2019

C’est à l’âge de 15 ans qu’Enzo Millot commence à se révéler au grand public. Avec quatre titularisations et deux buts inscrits avec l’Équipe de France lors du Mondial de Montaigu 2018, le talent d’Enzo Millot ne passe pas inaperçu et confirme les performances déjà entrevues les mois précédents avec les U17 de l’AS Monaco. Au fil du temps, celui qui peut jouer milieu relayeur, offensif ou deuxième attaquant a continué sa progression. Jusqu’à cette fameuse année 2019, décisive.

Lors de l’Euro U17 en 2019, Enzo Millot inscrit deux buts, dont un somptueux en quart de finale face à la République Tchèque, qui fait partie des 10 plus beaux buts UEFA de la saison. Sans contrôle, à l’instinct, il lobe le portier adverse, un peu trop avancé. Du Enzo Millot tout craché tant le joueur est réputé pour être créatif et fin techniquement. « Si j’ai l’opportunité, c’est sûr que je vais ré-essayer. J’étais dans l’axe, juste avant que la balle arrive j’ai levé la tête, vu que le gardien était avancé et instinctivement j’ai piqué mon ballon et c’est rentré », se souvient le gaucher. Cerise sur le gâteau, le joueur de l’AS Monaco est même dans l’équipe type de la compétition.

Créateur de jeu… Mais aussi très habile de la tête. En 2018/2019, Enzo Millot démontre malgré sa petite taille (1,75m), qu’il est à l’aise dans les airs, en marquant le premier but de l’AS Monaco face à Dortmund lors d’une rencontre de Youth League. Sa régularité et ses performances en U19 le conduisent à son premier contrat pro à l’été 2019. Une preuve de confiance de la part du Club qui le voit performer une nouvelle fois au Mondial U17 en octobre, l’Équipe de France terminant troisième de la compétition.

Enzo Millot retrouve le groupe Nationale 2 au retour de son épopée internationale, mais tout ne se passe pas comme prévu. « Enzo s’est blessé assez vite (la saison dernière), puis il est revenu. Il n’a peut-être pas compris tout de suite les spécificités du football senior, analyse David Bechkoura, l’entraîneur de la N2. C’est dans un second temps qu’il a pris conscience de ce qu’il fallait faire. » En difficulté au départ, Enzo Millot a pris son temps. Sa devise préférée ? « Un lion ne meurt jamais ». Blessé, il s’est relevé, puis s’est adapté. « Il a compris ce qu’on attendait de lui en seconde partie de saison, en montrant une belle technicité », ajoute son coach. Il doit désormais prouver sa valeur à un autre entraîneur, celui des pros, Niko Kovac.

1 / 7
L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.