Close

2010-2020: The rebirth

2010-2020: The rebirth

After rebuilding in Ligue 2 from 2011 to 2013, AS Monaco were back in the Champions League after finishing second in 2014 and even won their eighth league title in 2017 at the end of what was an incredible season!

AS Monaco’s recent histoy began with a thunderclap. At the end of an agonizing 2010-2011 season, the club was relegated to Ligue 2 for the first time in thirty-five years! It was a fall from which the club would take a season to recover.

From one extreme to the other

The first six months in Ligue 2 were the stuff of nightmares. At the winter break, the team were bottom of the league but things began to look up under Marco Simone, who had replaced Laurent Banide after the 5th round. Dmitry Rybolovlev became the club’s president in December 2011 with great ambition despite what was a very challenging sporting situation, something which proved to be a needed shock. In the spring, after an impressive second half of the season, the team narrowly missed out on third place, synonymous with promotion; they would have to wait another year for a return to Ligue 1.

Returning to Ligue 1…

In June 2012, Claudio Ranieri was recruited to carry out this mission. After spending the entire season on the podium, AS Monaco confirmed its return to the top flight with a victory away to Nîmes on the 36th matchday. A week later, the team was crowned Ligue 2 champions in their final home match against Le Mans. On August 10, 2013, the club celebrated its return to the top flight with a victory in Bordeaux.

..and to the Champions League!

Second in the league at the end of the 2013-2014 season, and with a new club record for points in Ligue 1, AS Monaco qualified directly for the 2014-2015 Champions League. Leonardo Jardim succeeded Claudio Ranieri on the bench and the Rouge et Blanc impressed in their return to the European scene by reaching the quarterfinals, having beaten eliminating Arsenal in the round of 16. Even if they were stopped by Juventus, their campaign was an impressive one, as they hung on to third place in Ligue 1 despite a challenging start to the campaign. In the following season, in 2015-2016, the team’s Champions League run was cut short with a play-off elimination against Valencia. In the league, though, another third place finish gave the team a fresh chance at  European play.

2016-2017: The Incredible Season!

In 2016-2017, AS Monaco did not let their chance to reach the group stage pass, eliminating Fenerbahçe and Villarreal over what was an auspicious summer, heralding an exceptional season. To wit, AS Monaco had a series of impressive results while a certain Kylian Mbappé exploded at the highest level. Tottenham, Manchester City and Borussia Dortmund fell as the team made it into the last four of the Champions League for the fourth time in its history. In the league, despite the resistance of PSG, the season ended in an eighth league title for AS Monaco!

AS Monaco 2.0

Even if AS Monaco had finished on the podium for the fifth consecutive season, ranking second behind PSG in 2017-2018, its experience in the Champions League was more challenging, having face elimination in the group stage. The scenario will be the same in 2018-2019, but worse. While the team was struggling in the league, Thierry Henry replaced Leonardo Jardim in October 2018 to try to get the team back to its best, but it was ultimately the Portuguese coach, who returned in January 2019, who led the team to survival. At the same time, President Rybolovlev had launched the La Turbie Performance Center project, which would allow AS Monaco to take a further step, with the Diagonale rising over the Stade Louis-II to welcome young talents. of the Academy. Over the last eight years, Dmitry Rybolovlev has structured the club to allow him to approach the 2020s with even more ambition.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer

Années 2010, la renaissance

Années 2010, la renaissance

Après s’être reconstruit en Ligue 2 de 2011 à 2013, l’AS Monaco retrouve la Ligue des champions au printemps 2014 et remporte son huitième titre de champion en 2017 au terme d’une incroyable saison !

C’est par un coup de tonnerre que débute l’histoire la plus récente de l’AS Monaco. Au terme d’une lente agonie lors de la saison 2010-2011, le club est relégué en Ligue 2 pour la première fois depuis trente-cinq ans ! Une chute dont le club va mettre une saison à se relever.

D’une extrême à l’autre

Les six premiers mois en Ligue 2 sont cauchemardesques. A la trêve, l’équipe est lanterne rouge du championnat, mais elle commence à relever la tête sous la direction de Marco Simone qui a remplacé Laurent Banide après la 5e journée. Dmitry Rybolovlev arrive à la présidence du club en décembre 2011 avec de grandes ambitions malgré une situation sportive très compliquée. c’est l’électrochoc. Au printemps, après une phase retour dantesque, l’équipe manque de peu la troisième place synonyme d’accession. Il lui faudra patienter encore un an pour la remontée en Ligue 1.

Retour en Ligue 1

En juin 2012, Claudio Ranieri est recruté pour mener à bien cette mission. Après avoir passé l’intégralité du championnat sur le podium, l’AS Monaco entérine son retour dans l’élite avec une victoire à Nîmes lors de la 36e journée. Une semaine plus tard elle est sacrée championne de France de Ligue 2 lors du dernier match à domicile face au Mans. Le 10 août 2013, le club fête son retour dans l’élite par une victoire à Bordeaux.

Et en Ligue des Champions

Deuxième du championnat au terme de la saison 2013-2014, battant au passage son record de points en Ligue 1, l’AS Monaco se qualifie directement pour la Ligue des Champions 2014-2015. Leonardo Jardim succède à Claudio Ranieri sur le banc et les Rouge et Blanc réussissent leur retour sur la scène européenne en atteignant les quarts de finale après avoir éliminé Arsenal en 8es de finale. S’ils sont stoppés par la Juventus, leur parcours marque les esprit tandis qu’ils accrochent la troisième place de Ligue 1 malgré un départ compliqué. Lors de la saison suivante, en 2015-2016, le parcours en Ligue des Champions tourne court, avec une élimination en barrage contre Valence. En championnat, une nouvelle troisième place offre une nouvelle opportunité européenne.

2016-2017 : l’incroyable saison !

En 2016-2017, l’AS Monaco ne laisse pas passer sa chance d’accéder à la phase de groupes en éliminant Fenerbahçe et Villarreal dans un été riche en émotions qui annonce une saison exceptionnelle. En effet, l’AS Monaco enchaîne les succès tandis qu’un certain Kylian Mbappé explose au plus haut niveau. Tottenham, City ou encore le Borussia mordent la poussière contre une équipe rouge et blanche qui se hisse dans le dernier carré de la C1 pour la quatrième fois de son histoire. En championnat, malgré la résistance du PSG, la saison débouche sur un huitième titre de champion pour l’AS Monaco !

AS Monaco 2.0

Si l’AS Monaco termine sur le podium pour la cinquième saison consécutive en se classant deuxième derrière le PSG en 2017-2018, son expérience en Ligue des Champions est plus compliquée, avec une élimination dès la phase de groupes. Le scénario sera le même en 2018-2019, mais en pire. Alors que l’équipe est à la peine en championnat, Thierry Henry remplace Leonardo Jardim en octobre 2018 pour tenter de redresser la barre, mais c’est finalement l’entraîneur portugais, de retour en janvier 2019, qui mène à bien l’opération maintien. En parallèle, le président Rybolovlev a lancé le projet du Centre de Performance de La Turbie, qui doit permettre à l’AS Monaco de passer un cap supplémentaire, tandis que la Diagonale s’élève face au Louis-II pour y accueillir les jeunes talents de l’Academy. En huit ans, Dmitry Rybolovlev a structuré le club pour lui permettre d’aborder les années 2020 avec encore plus d’ambition.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.