Close
Matches 28 September 2020, 18:06

Monaco's youth in the spotlight against Strasbourg

Monaco's youth in the spotlight against Strasbourg
At the end of the victory over Strasbourg this weekend at the Stade Louis-II (3-2), AS Monaco had four youngsters from the Academy out of the nine players present on the pitch.

Come the final whistle, they were four of the nine AS Monaco players still on the pitch  representing AS Monaco’s Academy. Benoît Badiashile, Giulian Biancone, Chrislain Matsima and Eliot Matazo have indeed been called upon by Niko Kovac, to hold the result and get three points against Strasbourg this Sunday at the Stade Louis-II  in what became a 3-2 win. It was strong management from the Red & Whites’ coach, who certainly did not expect his team to end the game nine to eleven.

An average age of 19 among the four substitutes

Even Enzo Millot, present on the bench, was ready to come on, even if his more attacking profile and the circumstances of the match meant that the AS Monaco coaching staff had to quickly review their plans. Still, the Red & Whites’ average age at the final whistle was just over 22 (22.4), including an average of 19 for the four players who came on. It was sign of confidence sent by Niko Kovac and the club towards the young people from the club’s Academy, to show that they can have their chance in the first team. Moreover, the Monegasque coach has started an average of eight French players since the start of the season in Ligue 1, as our partner Stats perform/Opta reminds us.

Benoît Badiashile plays his 51st match for AS Monaco

It was thus a good sign, especially since once again the facts of the match did not allow Chrislain Matsima and Eliot Matazo to make their debuts free from pressure when celebrating their first appearances in Ligue 1 in their young careers. Somehow, they adapted to the circumstances and delivered a performance full of courage and determination, with the desire to show that the coach can count on them, whatever the situation.

The day after this great victory, the third of the league season for AS Monaco, the four “Munegu babies” were still very happy. Even Benoît Badiashile, who was already playing in his 51st game in the colors of his formative club and Giulian Biancone, who was loaned last season to Cercle Bruges (25 matches, 1 goal).

Here are the reactions from these youngsters, who we caught up with at the La Turbie training center.

From the moment the coach sent me to warm up I had butterflies in my stomach, but once you set foot on the pitch, you have to get straight into it. The coach trusts the young players, we worked very hard during preseason and that's why we were ready to respond in this game.
Eliot Matazo

Eliot Matazo :

“It is a great pride, an honor to make my debut with AS Monaco, my training club. It is something that I have been waiting for since I was little. It was a special moment that I savored. While it is true that it was not the best conditions to make my debut (Monaco were only leading 3-2 in the 70th to minute, playing with nine against eleven). But as soon as I set foot on the pitch there was a good state of mind in the team which encouraged me, and that made it easier for me because I put myself directly into the fray. At the end we were nine against eleven and it was necessary to consider the situation, to directly to adapt to the situation and to cope with it. There will be many situations to manage like this in our career so frankly it was not the worst thing. It is another aspect of the game that we have learned about. It’s rare and it was not easy but I think that we did well and that we can be proud of ourselves. From the moment the coach sent me to warm up I had butterflies in my stomach, but once you set foot on the pitch, you have to get straight into it. The coach trusts the young players, we worked very hard during preseason and that’s why we were ready to respond in this game.”

It's nice that the coach trusts me despite the unfavorable match circumstances. I want to repay that confidence, to prove to him on a daily basis that he can count on me. I arrived here as an U17, I passed through the levels and today playing on the Stade Louis-II pitch in front of the fans is the result of a long journey. I hope to continue in this way and prove to AS Monaco that they can trust me."
Chrislain Matsima

Chrislain Matsima :

“It was a great pleasure for me to make my debut with AS Monaco in front of our home crowd. It’s true that it was a fairly difficult game but despite that the coach knew how to trust us young players. I was able to respond on the pitch and frankly it’s with a feeling of happiness that I look at the match. I knew it was going to be a difficult task when I came on, I had to be immediately at a top level defensively. But my teammates quickly made me comfortable, so I didn’t necessarily feel any pressure and I knew how to adapt. Since the start of the season I have been with the first team and I am working hard in training to have time to play with the first team. I think yesterday (Sunday) was the start of something, and I hope to play as much as possible here at AS Monaco. It’s nice that the coach trusts me despite the unfavorable match circumstances. I want to repay that confidence, to prove to him on a daily basis that he can count on me. I arrived here as an U17, I passed through the levels and today playing on the Stade Louis-II pitch in front of the fans is the result of a long journey. I hope to continue in this way and prove to AS Monaco that they can trust me.”

It is always a pride to wear the AS Monaco jersey -- Monaco, I've been here since I was 15 so the club is special to me. Beyond that, it's a shame that all our supporters could not be present due to the health restrictions, but this victory is for all those who were watching from in front of their screens, those who were at the Stade Louis-II and all those who support us across France.
Giulian Biancone

Giulian Biancone :

“At first, we had to think about keeping the score, because we had this victory which seemed to beckon us. There were the facts of play with the two red cards which we conceded. So in playing with nine against eleven our only mission was to keep the score the same. Then, when the pressure dropped a little after the match, we all enjoyed what we had done, the young players who played in their first match in Ligue 1 and even me. We were all happy with a first appearance this season and this victory. As the coach said in a press conference, he threw us into the deep end to find out if we could swim, and it turned out that we were able to do well. But it was a matter of doing it together. All the young player who came on were helped a lot by those who were already on the pitch. In addition to this, we have a tight, united squad, so there really weren’t any worries about that, about the cohesion and the job that had to be done. It is always a pride to wear the AS Monaco jersey — Monaco, I’ve been here since I was 15 so the club is special to me. Beyond that, it’s a shame that all our supporters could not be present due to the health restrictions, but this victory is for all those who were watching from in front of their screens, those who were at the Stade Louis-II and all those who support us across France.”

They were able to adapt quickly and on top of that we had already played together with Chrislain during preseason, so we had already created a sense of how to relate to each other on the pitch. Eliot is a very intelligent person so he already knew how to handle the situation. And the same goes for Giulian (Biancone), even if he already knows the highest level since he was on loan at the Cercle Brugge last season, so he's used to dealing with this kind of situation.
Benoît Badiashile

Benoît Badiashile :

“It was a very unique situation, especially given the circumstances of the match. We finished the game with nine men, so necessarily the coach had made changes to adapt to the circumstances. The young players who came on, Chrislain (Matsima) and Eliot (Matazo ) played very very well. They made good substitute appearances and I’m happy for them. They were able to adapt quickly and on top of that we had already played together with Chrislain during preseason, so we had already created a sense of how to relate to each other on the pitch. Eliot is a very intelligent person so he already knew how to handle the situation. And the same goes for Giulian (Biancone), even if he already knows the highest level since he was on loan at the Cercle Brugge last season, so he’s used to dealing with this kind of situation. In the end we managed to earn the result and that’s the most important thing. AS Monaco have been known for a long time for their academy, there are a lot of players who manage to come out of it and it is good for the club’s image and for the youngsters who can benefit from it. “

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Academy 28 septembre 2020, 18:06

La jeunesse monégasque à l’honneur face à Strasbourg

La jeunesse monégasque à l’honneur face à Strasbourg
Au terme de la victoire obtenue face à Strasbourg ce week-end au Stade Louis-II (3-2), l’AS Monaco a terminé le match avec quatre jeunes issus de l’Academy sur les neuf joueurs présents sur le terrain.

Ils étaient donc quatre au coup de sifflet final sur les neufs joueurs monégasques encore sur le terrain à représenter l’Academy de l’AS Monaco. Benoît Badiashile, Giulian Biancone, Chrislain Matsima et Eliot Matazo ont en effet été mis à contribution par Niko Kovac, pour conserver le résultat et obtenir les trois points face à Strasbourg ce dimanche au Stade Louis-II (victoire 3-2). Un coaching forcé pour le coach des Rouge et Blanc, qui ne s’attendait certainement pas à ce que son équipe finisse la rencontre à neuf contre onze.

Une moyenne d’âge de 19 ans pour les quatre entrants

Même Enzo Millot, présent lui aussi sur le banc des locaux, était prêt à rentrer, même si son profil plus offensif et les circonstances du match ont fait que le staff de l’AS Monaco a dû revoir rapidement ses plans. Néanmoins, la moyenne d’âge des Rouge et Blanc au coup de sifflet final était d’à peine plus de 22 ans (22,4), contre 19 ans de moyenne pour les quatre joueurs entrants. Un signe de confiance envoyé par Niko Kovac et le club envers les jeunes issus du centre de formation, qui peuvent avoir leur chance en équipe première. D’ailleurs l’entraîneur monégasque aligne en moyenne huit joueurs français depuis le début de la saison en Ligue 1, comme le rappelle notre partenaire Stats perform/Opta.

51e match avec l’AS Monaco pour Benoît Badiashile

Un bon signal donc, d’autant qu’encore une fois les faits de match n’ont pas permis à Chrislain Matsima et Eliot Matazo de rentrer sans pression au moment de fêter la première sortie en Ligue 1 de leur jeune carrière. Tant bien que mal, ils se sont adaptés aux circonstances et ont livré une prestation pleine de courage et de détermination, avec l’envie de démontrer que le coach peut compter sur eux, quelle que soit la situation.

Au lendemain de cette belle victoire décrochée, la troisième de la saison pour l’AS Monaco, les quatre « Munegu babies » étaient encore sur leur petit nuage. Même Benoît Badiashile, qui vivait pourtant déjà son 51e match sous les couleurs de son club formateur et Giulian Biancone, prêté la saison dernière au Cercle Bruges (25 matchs, 1 but).

Réactions des intéressés recueillies à froid au centre d’entraînement de La Turbie.

A partir du moment où le coach m’a envoyé à l’échauffement j’avais des papillons dans le ventre, mais une fois que tu mets le pied sur le terrain, faut se mettre directement dedans. Le coach fait confiance aux jeunes, on a bossé très dur pendant la préparation et c’est pour ça qu’on était prêts à répondre sur ce match.
Eliot Matazo

Eliot Matazo :

« C’est une immense fierté, un honneur de faire mes débuts avec l’AS Monaco, mon club formateur. C’est quelque chose que j’attendais depuis tout petit. Ça a été un moment particulier que j’ai savouré sur le terrain. En plus c’est vrai que ce n’était pas les meilleures conditions pour faire ses débuts (Monaco ne mène plus que 3-2 à la 70e à neuf contre onze, ndlr). Mais dès que j’ai mis les pieds sur le terrain il y a eu un bon état d’esprit de l’équipe qui m’a encouragé, et ça m’a facilité la tâche car je me suis mis direct dans le bain. A la fin on était neuf contre onze et il ne fallait pas réfléchir, directement s’adapter à la situation et faire avec. Il y aura de nombreuses situations à gérer comme celle-ci dans notre carrière donc franchement ce n’était pas plus mal. C’est un autre aspect du jeu que l’on a découvert. C’est rare et ce n’était pas facile mais je pense qu’on s’est bien débrouillés et qu’on peut être fiers de nous. A partir du moment où le coach m’a envoyé à l’échauffement j’avais des papillons dans le ventre, mais une fois que tu mets le pied sur le terrain, faut se mettre directement dedans. Le coach fait confiance aux jeunes, on a bossé très dur pendant la préparation et c’est pour ça qu’on était prêts à répondre sur ce match. »

Ça fait plaisir que le coach me fasse confiance malgré des circonstances de match défavorables. J’ai envie de lui rendre cette confiance, lui prouver au quotidien qu’il peut compter sur moi. Je suis arrivé en U17 ici, j’ai franchi les étapes et aujourd’hui fouler la pelouse Stade Louis-II devant le public c’est l’aboutissement d’un long travail. J’espère continuer encore et encore et prouver à l’AS Monaco qu’ils peuvent me faire confiance.
Chrislain Matsima

Chrislain Matsima :

« C’était un grand plaisir pour moi de faire mes débuts avec l’AS Monaco devant notre public. C’est vrai que c’était un match assez compliqué mais malgré cela le coach a su nous faire confiance à nous les jeunes. On a su répondre présents sur le terrain et franchement c’est que du bonheur. Je savais que ça allait être des débuts compliqués au moment de rentrer, il fallait que je sois tout de suite au niveau défensivement. Mais mes coéquipiers m’ont directement mis à l’aise, donc je n’ai pas forcément ressenti de pression et j’ai su m’adapter. Depuis le début de la saison je suis avec l’effectif professionnel et je travaille dur à l’entraînement pour avoir du temps de jeu avec l’équipe première. Je pense qu’hier (dimanche) c’était le début de quelque chose, et j’espère jouer le plus possible ici à l’AS Monaco. Ça fait plaisir que le coach me fasse confiance malgré des circonstances de match défavorables. J’ai envie de lui rendre cette confiance, lui prouver au quotidien qu’il peut compter sur moi. Je suis arrivé en U17 ici, j’ai franchi les étapes et aujourd’hui fouler la pelouse Stade Louis-II devant le public c’est l’aboutissement d’un long travail. J’espère continuer encore et encore et prouver à l’AS Monaco qu’ils peuvent me faire confiance. »

C’est toujours une fierté de porter le maillot de l’AS Monaco, je suis là depuis que j’ai 15 ans donc le club c’est spécial pour moi. Après c’est dommage que tous nos supporters n’aient pas été présents en raison des restrictions, mais cette victoire elle est pour tous ceux qui étaient devant leurs écrans, ceux qui étaient au Stade Louis-II et tous ceux qui nous supportent dans toute la France.
Giulian Biancone

Giulian Biancone :

« Dans un premier temps, il fallait qu’on pense à préserver le score, parce qu’on avait cette victoire qui nous tendait les bras. Il y a eu des faits de jeu importants avec les deux cartons rouges qu’on a pris. Alors après à neuf contre onze notre seule mission c’était de garder le score. Ensuite, quand la pression est un peu redescendue après le match, on a tous savouré, les jeunes qui sont rentrés pour leur premier match en Ligue 1 et même moi on était tous heureux de cette première cette saison et de cette victoire. Comme le coach l’a dit en conférence de presse, il nous a un peu jeté à la mer pour savoir si on savait nager, et il s’est avéré qu’on a bien su s’en sortir. Mais c’était tous ensemble. Tous les jeunes qui sont rentrés ont beaucoup été aidés par ceux qui étaient déjà présents sur le terrain. En plus on a un groupe soudé, uni, donc il n’y a vraiment pas eu de soucis sur ça, sur la cohésion et le travail qu’il y avait à faire. C’est toujours une fierté de porter le maillot de l’AS Monaco, je suis là depuis que j’ai 15 ans donc le club c’est spécial pour moi. Après c’est dommage que tous nos supporters n’aient pas été présents en raison des restrictions, mais cette victoire elle est pour tous ceux qui étaient devant leurs écrans, ceux qui étaient au Stade Louis-II et tous ceux qui nous supportent dans toute la France. »

Ils ont su s’adapter vite et en plus de ça on avait déjà joué ensemble avec Chrislain durant la préparation, donc on avait déjà créé certains automatismes. Eliot c’est quelqu’un de très intelligent donc il a su directement comment gérer la situation. Et c’est la même chose pour Giulian (Biancone), même s’il connaît déjà le haut niveau puisqu’il était en prêt au Cercle Bruges la saison dernière, donc il a l’habitude de gérer ce genre de situations.
Benoît Badiashile

Benoît Badiashile :

« C’était très particulier, surtout au vu des circonstances du match. On finit la rencontre à neuf, donc forcément le coach fait des changements pour s’adapter aux circonstances. Les jeunes qui sont rentrés, Chrislain (Matsima) et Eliot (Matazo) ont très très bien joué. Ils ont fait une bonne rentrée et je suis content pour eux. Ils ont su s’adapter vite et en plus de ça on avait déjà joué ensemble avec Chrislain durant la préparation, donc on avait déjà créé certains automatismes. Eliot c’est quelqu’un de très intelligent donc il a su directement comment gérer la situation. Et c’est la même chose pour Giulian (Biancone), même s’il connaît déjà le haut niveau puisqu’il était en prêt au Cercle Bruges la saison dernière, donc il a l’habitude de gérer ce genre de situations. Au final on a réussi à garder le résultat et c’est la chose la plus importante. Ça fait longtemps que l’AS Monaco est réputé pour son centre de formation, il y a énormément de joueurs qui arrivent à en sortir et c’est bien pour l’image du club et pour les jeunes qui peuvent en profiter. »

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.