Close
WHAT A GOAL ! 22 November 2019, 08:20

WAG : The dance of Ali Benarbia

WAG : The dance of Ali Benarbia
Before facing Bordeaux on Sunday from 15h, today's WAG brings us back to August 1995, when AS Monaco dominated Les Girondins at Parc Lescure, including a very nice goal by Ali Benarbia.

At the start of the action, made by an opening for Patrick Blondeau, who had been left alone at the back of the Bordeaux defense, Ali Benarbia was there to receive and finish a perfect cross from the right and beat Gaëtan Huard with a sublime volley. This goal had the mark of FC Martigues, where Benarbia and Blondeau had rubbed shoulders at the beginning of their pro career in the late ’80s.

0-4 at the half !

It allowed AS Monaco to lead 0-3 at the Parc Lescure against the hapless Girondins. Once was not enough, though; it was Lilian Thuram who opened the scoring from the 4th minute in this encounter on the 6th matchday of D1. The Liberian striker, Christopher Wreh, widened the gap ten minutes later. After Benarbia’s goal, Wreh would even double his tally to make it 0-4 in the 44th minute. At the end of an incredible first period, AS Monaco had mystified Bordeaux on their own pitch.

An epic run and survival for Bordeaux

The goals of Bancarel and Tholot in the second half made the final margin a little more respectable for the hosts, but the mission was accomplished for the Red and Whites, who won 2-4 and finished the season in third while Bordeaux would narrowly survive, although not without reaching the final of the UEFA Cup after eliminating the great AC Milan.

Not the last dance

As for Ali Benarbia, this little “dance” was not the last for him at Lescure. Indeed, the Algerian playmaker joined Les Girondins three years later. After being champion of France 1997 with AS Monaco and semi-finalist in the Champions League in 1998, he won another title in 1998-1999, before joining PSG (1999-2001), then Manchester City (2001 -2003)  before finishing his fine career in Qatar (2003-2006).

August 26, 1995 – Parc Lescure
Division 1 – 6th matchday
AS Monaco 4-2 Girondins de Bordeaux
Official : M. Bré
Goals: Thuram (4), Wreh (13, 44), Benarbia (32) for AS Monaco – Bancarel (63e), Tholot (75e) for Bordeaux
FCG Bordeaux : Huard, Croci (Varesanovic 15), Witschge, Prunier (De Blasiis 46), Dogon, Lizarazu, Lucas (Tholot 46), Dutuel, Zidane, Bancarel, Dugarry – Manager : Slavo Muslin
AS Monaco : Piveteau, Blondeau, Thuram, Boli, Dos Santos, Di Méco, Legwinski, Benarbia (Puel 73), Scifo, Anderson, Wreh (Dumas 57) – Manager : Jean Tigana

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
WHAT A GOAL ! 22 novembre 2019, 08:19

WAG : la danse d'Ali Benarbia

WAG : la danse d'Ali Benarbia
Avant le rendez-vous bordelais de dimanche 15h, le WAG nous ramène en août 1995, quand l'AS Monaco dominait largement les Girondins à Lescure, avec notamment ce très joli but d'Ali Benarbia.

Au départ de l’action pour une ouverture vers Patrick Blondeau, parti dans le dos de la défense bordelaise, Ali Benarbia est à l’arrivée pour réceptionner le centre parfait du latéral droit et ajuster Gaëtan Huard d’une belle reprise de volée. Ce but porte le sceau du FC Martigues, où Benarbia et Blondeau se sont côtoyés au début de leur carrière pro à la fin des années 80.

0-4 à la pause !

Il permet à l’AS Monaco de mener 0-3 à Lescure devant des Girondins désemparés. Une fois n’est pas coutume, c’est Lilian Thuram qui a ouvert la marque dès la 4e minute dans cette rencontre de la 6e journée de D1. L’attaquant libérien, Christopher Wreh, creuse l’écart dix minutes plus tard. Après le but de Benarbia, Wreh s’offrira même un doublé pour porter le score à 0-4 à la 44e minute. Au terme d’une première période incroyable, l’AS Monaco a mystifié Bordeaux sur sa pelouse.

L’épopée et le maintien pour Bordeaux

Les buts de Bancarel et Tholot en seconde période donnent un aspect moins sévère à la défaite bordelaise. Mais la mission est accomplie pour les Rouge et Blanc qui s’imposent 2-4 et termineront la saison sur la troisième marche du podium, tandis que Bordeaux se maintiendra de justesse, non sans avoir atteint la finale de la C3 après avoir notamment éliminé le grand Milan AC.

Pas la dernière danse

Quant à Ali Benarbia, cette petite danse n’est pas la dernière pour lui à Lescure. En effet, le meneur de jeu algérien rejoint les Girondins trois ans plus tard. Après avoir été champion de France 1997 avec l’AS Monaco et demi-finaliste de la Ligue des Champions en 1998, il remporte un nouveau titre en 1998-1999, avant de rejoindre le PSG (1999-2001), puis Manchester City (2001-2003) et d’achever sa belle carrière au Qatar (2003-2006).

26 août 1995 – Parc Lescure
Division 1 – 6e journée
FCG Bordeaux 2-4 AS Monaco
Arbitre : M. Bré
Buts : Thuram (4e), Wreh (13e, 44e), Benarbia (32e) pour l’AS Monaco – Bancarel (63e), Tholot (75e) pour Bordeaux
FCG Bordeaux : Huard, Croci (Varesanovic 15e), Witschge, Prunier (De Blasiis 46e), Dogon, Lizarazu, Lucas (Tholot 46e), Dutuel, Zidane, Bancarel, Dugarry – Entraîneur : Slavo Muslin
AS Monaco : Piveteau, Blondeau, Thuram, Boli, Dos Santos, Di Méco, Legwinski, Benarbia (Puel 73e), Scifo, Anderson, Wreh (Dumas 57e) – Entraîneur : Jean Tigana

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.