Close
Interview 10 September 2020, 18:25

Bertrand Reuzeau : "Train players for our first team"

Bertrand Reuzeau : "Train players for our first team"
With the three Academy teams having just kicked off their season, six months after the end of the 2019-2020 season, the Director of the AS Monaco training center, Bertrand Reuzeau, gives us an update on the Red and Whites' goals for the season to come.

Six months. Six long months have passed since the abrupt end of the 2019-2020 season for the trainees of AS Monaco’s Academy, due to the health crisis. There was a difficult period of quarantine, then a gradual return to training this summer, before a final ramp-up during preseason. From the U17s of Manu Dos Santos to the reserves managed by David Bechkoura, through the U19 squad led by Frédéric Barilaro, the return to football has not been easy for the members of the Principality’s club training center.

A very promising start

However, the results obtained since the restart by the three teams of the Academy have been very good. While we are at the start of a season that promises to be still unique, from the point of view of the health situation, the Director of the training center, Bertrand Reuzeau, has taken stock of this difficult period, and reflects here on the resumption of competition, as well as the Academy’s goals for the coming season.

To begin with, let’s talk about this unprecedented period that has just taken place, from quarantine until the return of the youngsters. How did you handle this?

It was difficult because we lost contact and a level of estrangement developed with all of our youngsters. We were very happy to see them and they were also very happy to come back after a few weeks of absence. Everyone was happy, even if it was quite complex in terms of the organization of things, because with COVID, we had to adapt, to get organized and put into place protocols to respect social distancing. By thinking carefully, and  using the different components we have on hand, we have managed to organize everything well. It was very challenging but we had to do it, to adapt things with the safety and protection of the young players and all the staff in mind. It was my priority as manager and it was also that of the management of the Club. We had a lot of appointments and meetings to get it all settled. We were also lucky enough to move into a great building (La Diagonale), which gave us a bit of warmth in our hearts. This place is exceptional.

I can't see AS Monaco and the Academy not having former players of the team within their structure and staff. It is crucial for me to have players with exceptional careers, who have trained with the Club, to deliver messages. Young people will always be ready to listen to them owing to their careers and experience.
Bertrand Reuzeau


On the sporting side of things, the season has started off pretty well for the various teams, with wins for all of them. What are the goals that have been given to these different groups and to the Academy as a whole?

The simplest and most effective goal is to train players for our first team. This is the top priority. Our place in the league is going to be important, but we are not going to focus on it even if it is true that in AS Monaco, we are obliged to get results. Last year we had a difficult season but we still found ourselves with three National 2 players who are now in training with the professionals in preseason. (Eliot Matazo, Chrislain Matsima and Enzo Millot). These players have benefited from playing in N2 and working in training to progress. We almost had forgotten about our ranking in the end. We are also fortunate to have a real bridge between the Academy and Cercle Bruges. With Paul Mitchell and Laurence Stewart, we look at the course and the path of the player to give him them the benefit of going to Cercle Brugge if he needs playing time before joining the club. It is something which is adapted according to the profiles of each player, in order to send a player to the first team.

You were talking about Eliot Matazo, Chrislain Matsima and Enzo Millot. It must be a satisfying outcome for you to see them join the first team…

This is what makes AS Monaco so strong. It is true that we were lucky that Niko Kovac and his staff were able to integrate them into training  with the first team when they arrived. It’s something important. And seeing that the coach keeps them with the first team makes us very proud of our work. This is beneficial. We also have the example of Giulian Biancone, who spent time on loan at Cercle Bruges and who has joined the first team. It’s interesting, we have different backgrounds in the first team, which also includes Benoît Badiashile from the Academy. These are interesting elements, which influence the discussions we have with to parents during our recruitment, to convey our message.

All young people who train here must earn a diploma upon leaving, even if they become professionals. This is also a priority for the management of the Club.
Bertrand Reuzeau

Cercle Bruges continues to restructure itself with, notably, the arrival of a new coach and a new technical director. Do you follow what is happening in Belgium, where the team has made a good start to the season?

We look at the results every weekend. The new management of Paul Mitchell is looking at how to revamp a player’s trajectory. Bruges will be used to improve and give playing time to players who are looking to break into the first team. Paul Mitchell, who will lead this succession in his role as Sporting Director, has a real idea of what he wants to do. It is certain that this will bring us real added value for players from the Academy. And I am delighted that Cercle Bruges is doing well today, with a coach that I know well, Paul Clement, having worked with him alongside Carlo Ancelotti at PSG.

What relationship do you have with Paul Mitchell?

In the various discussions I have had with him and his team, it appears that we have the same guiding idea. Paul and Laurence told us that they wanted to rely on the French talent pool which is of a very high standard. The Academy of AS Monaco, which has produced great champions for several decades, is the best example of this. We must have the possibility of integrating young people from the Academy into the first team, either directly or through Cercle Brugge. Once again, Paul Mitchell has a very clear idea of each player’s path and journey. We are very happy to have someone who knows his job inside out and has relied on this way of working in his past experiences, especially in Leipzig. Paul Mitchell and his management will make it possible for the players to take these different courses and I think it will be very beneficial.

The simplest and most effective goal is to train players for our first team. This is the top priority. Our place in the league is going to be important, but we are not going to focus on it even if it is true that in AS Monaco, we are obliged to get results.
Bertrand Reuzeau

Tell us about the three former players working within the Academy who are Manu Dos Santos (U17 Manager), Gaël Givet  (U19 Assistant) and Sébastien Squillaci (N2 Assistant)…

This is a real priority. When I arrived at AS Monaco 4 years ago, there was not a single former player working with the team. I asked myself a lot of questions and I also received a lot of questions. I opened the doors for them because they had a real motivation and already had their coaching badges. I can’t see AS Monaco and the Academy not having former players of the team within their structure and staff. It is crucial for me to have players with exceptional careers, who have trained with the Club, to deliver messages. Young people will always be ready to listen to them owing to their careers and experience. You don’t become a manager just like that – you have to be motivated, available and not be impatient. They really are working in that spirit and it has been a win-win situation since they arrived.

1 / 4
In the various discussions I have had with him and his team, it appears that we have the same guiding idea. Paul and Laurence told us that they wanted to rely on the French talent pool which is of a very high standard. The Academy of AS Monaco, which has produced great champions for several decades, is the best example of this.
Bertrand Reuzeau

We talked about the idea of the athlete, but a young person is also in school. How is this side of things going?

This is a real priority for us. A youngster who arrives in U16 has three primary goals: sports, schooling and education. The sports project is something very classic, but schooling isalso  important because we are obliged to provide the player with the different diplomas depending on what each is able to do in general, whether technologically or professionally and also in their post-baccalaureate education, with BTS for example. I am firm on this — it is an obligation to give them a diploma. I am a father and it is unthinkable for me that my child would have nothing. All young people who train here must earn a diploma upon leaving, even if they become professionals. This is also a priority for the management of the Club. We have the cooperation and supervision of a private high school with about fifteen teachers. Everything is done to ensure that we can continue our success in terms of the players’ exams, even if  it is for the retraining of a player to anticipate him not having a career in football.

And the educational project?

The diploma is also a real balance for these young people. When one is between the ages of 15 and 18, if you only focus on football, you are not balanced. It gives them an opportunity allows them to think and to develop a culture. After a while, at a very high level, one is told about tactics and thinking around the game. This is also very useful.

In closing, what can we hope for from the Academy for this season?

That everyone continues to be healthy is the real priority. And of course, that we can continue to train young players for the first tem, and that those who are currently there continue to work hard to stay there and play in more official matches.

 

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Academy 10 septembre 2020, 15:47

Bertrand Reuzeau : "Former des joueurs pour notre équipe première"

Bertrand Reuzeau : "Former des joueurs pour notre équipe première"
Alors que les trois équipes de l'Academy viennent de donner le coup d'envoi de leur saison, six mois après l'interruption de l'exercice 2019-2020, le Directeur du centre de formation de l'AS Monaco Bertrand Reuzeau fait le point sur les objectifs à venir pour les jeunes Rouge et Blanc.

Six mois. Six long mois sont passés depuis l’arrêt brutal de la saison 2019-2020 pour les jeunes de l’Academy de l’AS Monaco, en raison de la crise sanitaire. L’étape difficile du confinement, le retour progressif à l’entraînement cet été, puis la montée en puissance lors de la préparation. Des U17 de Manu Dos Santos à la N2 managée par David Bechkoura, en passant par le groupe des U19 emmené par Frédéric Barilaro, le retour au football n’a pas été simple pour les membres du centre de formation du club de la Principauté.

Un démarrage très prometteur

Pourtant, les résultats obtenus depuis la reprise par les trois équipes de l’Academy ont été très bons. Alors que l’on est aux prémices d’une saison qui s’annonce encore spéciale, du point de vue de la situation sanitaire, le Directeur du centre de formation, Bertrand Reuzeau, fait le point sur cette période compliquée, la reprise de la compétition, ainsi que sur les objectifs de l’Academy pour la saison qui débute.

Pour commencer, parlons de cette période inédite qui vient d’avoir lieu, du confinement jusqu’au retour des jeunes. Comment avez-vous géré cela ?

C’était difficile car nous avons perdu le contact et un éloignement s’est créé avec tous nos jeunes. Nous étions très contents de les retrouver et eux aussi étaient très heureux de revenir après quelques semaines d’absence. Tout le monde était content, même si ça a été assez complexe dans l’organisation, car avec le Covid, il a fallu s’adapter, s’organiser et mettre en place des protocoles pour respecter les gestes barrières. En réfléchissant bien, et avec les différentes composantes, nous avons réussi à bien organiser tout cela. Ça a été très particulier mais il fallait le faire et s’adapter en pensant à la sécurité et à la protection des jeunes et de tout le personnel. C’était ma priorité en tant que directeur et celle de la direction du Club. Nous avons eu beaucoup de rendez-vous et de réunions pour que tout cela soit bien établi. Nous avons aussi eu la chance d’emménager dans un super bâtiment (la Diagonale), cela nous a redonné un peu de baume au cœur. Cet endroit est exceptionnel.

C’est important d’avoir à l’Academy des anciens qui connaissent bien le club dans la structure et les staffs. Ils ont tous les trois des carrières de joueur exceptionnelles, ils ont été formés au Club. Cela renforce l’identité du club. Les jeunes sont à l’écoute de par leur carrière et leur expérience.
Bertrand Reuzeau


Sur l’aspect sportif, la saison a plutôt bien démarré pour les différentes équipes, avec des victoires pour chacune d’entre elles. Quels sont les objectifs donnés à ces différents groupes et de l’Academy plus globalement ?

L’objectif le plus simple et le plus efficace est de former des joueurs pour notre équipe première. C’est la priorité des priorités. Nos classements dans les championnats vont être importants, mais on ne veut pas trop se focaliser dessus. Malgré une saison difficile l’an dernier, trois joueurs de National 2 s’entraînent avec les professionnels (Eliot Matazo, Chrislain Matsima et Enzo Millot). Ces joueurs ont bénéficié du championnat de N2 et de l’entraînement pour progresser. On en oublie presque notre classement au final. Nous avons également la chance d’avoir une vraie passerelle entre l’Academy et le Cercle Bruges. Avec Paul Mitchell et Laurence Stewart, on regarde le parcours du joueur pour lui faire éventuellement bénéficier de l’expérience de la première division belge au Cercle, dans un club historique, au sein de l’un des championnats  les plus réputés en Europe. C’est une opportunité extrêmement intéressante, qui est adaptée suivant le profil de chacun, dans le but de faire progresser le joueur et de le retrouver en équipe première.

Vous parliez d’Eliot Matazo, Chrislain Matsima et Enzo Millot. Cela doit être un aboutissement pour vous de les voir intégrer le groupe professionnel…

C’est ce qui fait la force de l’AS Monaco. C’est vrai que l’on a eu de la chance que Niko Kovac et son staff puissent les intégrer à l’entraînement du groupe professionnel lorsqu’ils sont arrivés. C’est quelque chose d’important. Et voir que le coach les garde avec eux nous rend très fiers de tout le travail réalisé ici par toutes les équipes. C’est bénéfique. Nous avons aussi l’exemple de Giulian Biancone, passé par le Cercle Bruges et qui s’entraîne avec le groupe professionnel. C’est intéressant, nous avons différents parcours dans le groupe professionnel, qui compte également Benoît Badiashile en provenance de l’Academy. Ce sont des éléments intéressants, qui pèsent dans le discours donné aux parents lors du recrutement, pour faire passer des messages.

Tous les jeunes qui entrent ici doivent avoir un diplôme à leur sortie, qu'ils deviennent professionnels ou pas. C’est aussi une priorité pour la direction du Club.
Bertrand Reuzeau

Le Cercle Bruges continue de se structurer avec l’arrivée d’un nouvel entraîneur et d’un nouveau directeur technique notamment. Comment percevez-vous le bon début de championnat ?

Nous suivons les résultats du club tous les week-end. Encore une fois, le travail réalisé et les synergies avec le Cercle apportent une vraie plus-value pour l’Academy. Nous sommes tous ravis des débuts encourageants du Cercle Bruges, avec à la tête de l’équipe un coach que je connais bien, Paul Clement, pour l’avoir connu aux côtés de Carlo Ancelotti au PSG.

Quelle relation avez-vous avec Paul Mitchell ?

Il y a un alignement clair dans la façon de voir les choses. Paul et Laurence souhaitent s’appuyer sur le vivier français qui est une vraie référence. L’Academy de l’AS Monaco, qui a sorti de grands champions depuis plusieurs décennies, en est le meilleur exemple. Nous devons avoir la possibilité d’intégrer des jeunes de l’Academy à l’équipe première, peut-être directement ou bien via le Cercle Bruges. Encore une fois, Paul Mitchell a une idée très claire sur le chemin et le parcours du joueur.

L’objectif le plus simple et le plus efficace est de former des joueurs pour notre équipe première. C’est la priorité des priorités. Nos classements dans les championnats vont être importants, mais on ne veut pas trop se focaliser dessus.
Bertrand Reuzeau

Parlez-nous des trois anciens au sein de l’Academy que sont Manu Dos Santos (Entraîneur U17), Gaël Givet (Adjoint U19) et Sébastien Squillaci (Adjoint N2)…

Je me réjouis de leur présence. Manu est ici depuis de nombreuses années, Gaël et Sébastien nous ont rejoint l’an dernier. C’est important d’avoir à l’Academy des anciens qui connaissent bien le club dans la structure et les staffs. Ils ont tous les trois des carrières de joueur exceptionnelles, ils ont été formés au Club. Cela renforce l’identité du club. Les jeunes sont à l’écoute de par leur carrière et leur expérience. On ne devient pas entraîneur comme ça et surtout à la formation. Il faut être motivé, disponible et ne pas compter son temps. Ils sont vraiment dans cet état d’esprit et ça a été gagnant-gagnant depuis leur arrivée.

1 / 4
Il y a un alignement clair dans la façon de voir les choses. Paul et Laurence souhaitent s’appuyer sur le vivier français qui est une vraie référence. L'Academy de l’AS Monaco, qui a sorti de grands champions depuis plusieurs décennies, en est le meilleur exemple.
Bertrand Reuzeau

Nous avons parlé du sportif, mais un jeune est aussi scolarisé. Comment se passe son suivi ?

C’est une vraie priorité chez nous. Le jeune qui arrive en U16 a trois gros projets : sportif, scolaire et éducatif. Le projet sportif est quelque chose de très classique, mais le scolaire est important car nous sommes dans l’obligation d’apporter au joueur les différents diplômes en fonction de ce qu’il est capable de faire dans les filières générales, technologiques, professionnelles et aussi dans la scolarité post-bac avec les BTS par exemple. J’insiste, mais c’est une obligation de leur apporter un diplôme. Je suis père et c’est impensable pour moi que mon enfant n’ait rien. Tous les jeunes qui entrent ici doivent avoir un diplôme à leur sortie, qu’ils deviennent professionnels ou pas. C’est aussi une priorité pour la direction du Club. Nous avons l’encadrement d’un lycée privé avec une quinzaine de professeurs. Tout est fait pour que l’on continue dans cette réussite au niveau des examens, que ce soit pour la reconversion du joueur après une carrière, ou pour anticiper si celui-ci ne fait pas carrière.

 

Et le projet éducatif ?

Le diplôme doit apporter un équilibre au jeune. Quand vous arrivez entre 15 et 18 ans, si vous ne vous concentrez que sur le football, vous n’êtes pas équilibré. C’est important de cultiver l’ouverture d’esprit et la réflexion. C’est très utile dans la vie, mais aussi bien sûr sur le terrain au très niveau.

Pour terminer, que pouvons-nous souhaiter à l’Academy pour cette saison ?

Que tout le monde continue à avoir la santé est une vraie priorité. Et bien évidemment, continuer de former des jeunes pour le groupe professionnel, et que ceux qui y sont actuellement continuent de travailler pour y rester et jouer de plus en plus de matchs officiels.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.