Close
Press releases 07 November 2018, 15:31

Official Press Release

Official Press Release
AS Monaco firmly denies defamatory remarks by Mediapart and states that Club President Dmitry Rybolovlev did not withdraw one euro from the club's accounts following the transfer of Kylian Mbappé.

AS Monaco firmly denies defamatory remarks by Mediapart and states that Club President Dmitry Rybolovlev did not withdraw one euro from the club’s accounts following the transfer of Kylian Mbappé.

President Dmitry Rybolovlev has invested nearly 335 million euros since his arrival to fund transfers and player salaries and pay off the club’s debts.

Each season since his arrival, the club has regularly suffered financial losses. Dmitry Rybolovlev has, whenever necessary and in the interest of the club, played his role as shareholder and compensated for the deficits. Thus, of the 335 million euros invested, 182 million euros made it possible to fill these deficits recorded as of June 30, 2017.

In accounting, these transactions are called current account write-offs, and they allow the shareholder to abandon part of his current account investments and advances for cash-flow situations. In return, in order to guarantee the legitimate rights of the shareholder, these current account withdrawals are always accompanied by a return to better fortune clause.

During the 2017-18 season, with the club having made a profit, this clause of better fortune could be naturally activated. In the context of the application of this clause, the sums concerned are no longer considered as “abandoned” by the shareholder and become recoverable but remain in the club’s accounts.

As a result, Dmitry Rybolovlev did not recover, on a personal basis, a single cent of these sums of money, neither on the transfer of Kylian Mbappe nor on any other money entry into the club.

The current account of the shareholder is used for the operation of the club and transfers.

AS Monaco, which can obviously provide the accounting evidence to completely contradict the misleading allegations of Mediapart, is surprised that among the hundreds of questions received from journalists at the time they were conducting their “investigation”, not one precise question on this specific topic had been asked, and the club is now studying all the legal means to assert his rights.

Fermer
Communiqué 07 novembre 2018, 15:31

Communiqué officiel

Communiqué officiel
L’AS Monaco dément fermement les propos diffamatoires de Mediapart et affirme que le Président du Club Dmitry Rybolovlev n’a pas retiré un euro des caisses du club suite au transfert de Kylian Mbappé.

L’AS Monaco dément fermement les propos diffamatoires de Mediapart et affirme que le Président du Club Dmitry Rybolovlev n’a pas retiré un euro des caisses du club suite au transfert de Kylian Mbappé.

Le Président Dmitry Rybolovlev a investi près de 335 millions d’euros depuis son arrivée afin de financer les transferts ainsi que les salaires des joueurs et rembourser les dettes du club.

Chaque saison, depuis son arrivée, le club a en effet régulièrement connu des pertes financières. Dmitry Rybolovlev a, chaque fois que cela s’est avéré nécessaire dans l’intérêt du club, joué son rôle d’actionnaire et compensé les déficits. Ainsi, sur les 335 millions d’euros investis, 182 millions d’euros ont permis de combler ces déficits comptabilisés au 30 juin 2017.

En comptabilité, ces opérations s’appellent des abandons de compte courant, et permettent à l’actionnaire d’abandonner une partie de ses investissements et avances en compte courant pour faire face à des situations de trésorerie. En contrepartie, afin de garantir les droits légitimes de l’actionnaire, ces abandons de compte courant sont toujours accompagnés d’une clause de retour à meilleure fortune.

Lors de la saison 2017/18, le club ayant fait un bénéfice, cette clause de retour à meilleure fortune a pu être naturellement activée. Dans le cadre de l’application de cette clause les sommes concernées ne sont plus considérées comme « abandonnées » par l’actionnaire et deviennent récupérables mais restent dans les comptes du club.

Dmitry Rybolovlev n’a ainsi pas récupéré, à titre personnel, un seul centime de ces sommes d’argent, ni sur le transfert de Kylian Mbappe ni sur aucune autre entrée d’argent dans le club.

Le compte courant de l’actionnaire est utilisé pour le fonctionnement du club et les transferts.
L’AS Monaco, qui peut évidemment fournir les preuves comptables qui permettent de contredire totalement les allégations trompeuses de Mediapart, s’étonne que parmi les centaines de questions reçues des journalistes de ce media au moment où ces derniers effectuaient leur « enquête », aucune question précise sur ce point ne lui ait été posée, et étudie dès à présent toutes les voies juridiques pour faire valoir ses droits.