Close
Matches 03 October 2020, 16:30

Focus on Stade Brest

Focus on Stade Brest
After a very tough start to the league, Stade Brestois has recorded two wins in its last three matches. Here's all you need to know about the Breton side, who will host AS Monaco this Sunday at the Stade Francis-Le Blé (3 p.m.), as part of the 6th matchday of Ligue 1 Uber Eats.

There is always something going on at the Stade Francis-Le Blé. Whether Brest wins, as against Lorient two weeks ago (3-2), or that Olivier Dall’Oglio’s men fall in a match’s final moments, as they did against OM on the second matchday (3-2), one is never bored at the tip of Brittany this season. It’s an impression that is verified by a look at the table as Stade Brestois 29 have yet to record a draw this season in Ligue 1.Three players trained at AS Monaco

After five matchdays the teammates of Irvin Cardona, who took the time to speak before the game, have recorded two wins and three losses. Their matches have been systematically punctuated with goals and plenty of spectacle, which makes Brest the third best attack in the league, tied with… Monaco. But they also have the worst defense in the top flight so far, with no less than 12 goals conceded, five of which were at home.

It was indeed this defensive permeability that prevented SB29 from obtaining an unlikely result against Olympique de Marseille, despite 19 shots attempted against 7 for OM, and fifteen good chances. Teammates Ibrahima Diallo (leaving for Southampton) and Romain Faivre, who also trained at AS Monaco’s academy, like Irvin Cardona, winner of the Coupe Gambardella in 2016 with the Red and Whites with the youngest of the Diallo brothers, would therefore never refuse to play their style.Even if Olivier Dall’Oglio has admitted having focused the sessions of the last few days partly on defensive work, he has already demonstrated an offensively minded and ambitious game on the Dijon bench .

Undeniable attacking assets

Brest conceded three more goals in Angers last weekend in a 3-2 defeat, which brought their average goals conceded to 2.4 after a heavy opening day defeat in Nîmes (4-0). Still, the Bretons, who finished in 14th place last season when Ligue 1 was finally ended, have some attacking strengths. In addition to Irvin Cardona, who arrived from the Principality club in the summer of 2019, and was the author of a sumptuous goal in Dijon, Gaëtan Charbonnier, new signing Steve Mounié and left back Romain Perraud have already each scored two goals since the start of the season.

Two other newcomers this summer have also found the net — Franck Honorat and Romain Philippoteaux. More importantly, Brest have lost just three of their last 16 Ligue 1 matches at the Stade Francis-Le Blé since rising to the top last year. Niko Kovac’s men will therefore have a lot to dor their third away match of the league season, après le succès à Metz lors de la 2e journée (1-0) et la courte défaite en fin match face à Rennes il y a deux semaines (2-1).


Press conference excerpts

I am not afraid to give the youngsters a chance. They may make mistakes, but you have to give them a chance so that they can progress. I am happy with their performances so far. Sometimes they can slip up but the important thing is that they get back up and then we are there to help them. It’s part of their learning process.
Niko Kovac

Read Niko Kovac’s pre-match press conference

At AS Monaco, there is a huge pool of players lacking playing time. For teams like ours, it's interesting to look in this direction and then see if we can give them playing time, to these young players. To bring in young players like that, these are bets but they are still calculated risks. Our scouts have been following them for a long time so we can identify their potential. Our three former Monegasques have been winning bets, that's for sure.
Olivier Dall’Oglio

Stade Brestois – AS Monaco by the numbers…

. 23: Total matches played in Ligue 1, with 13 wins for AS Monaco, 5 draws and 5 losses (41 goals scored, 15 conceded).
. 11: Total number of matches played in Brittany, with an overall record of 5 wins for AS Monaco, 3 draws and as many losses (14 goals scored, 11 conceded).
. 56.5%: AS Monaco’s winning percentage against Stade Brestois in the top flight, the worst record of the 19 other Ligue 1 teams against the Red and Whites behind Angers (80%) and Nantes (57.1%).
. 76: This is the number of shots the Bretons have attempted this season in the top flight. Only Lyon (101) and Paris (77) have done better.
. 16: This is the number of consecutive matches in which AS Monaco has scored at least one goal in Ligue 1.

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 03 octobre 2020, 16:30

Focus sur le Stade Brestois

Focus sur le Stade Brestois
Après un démarrage très compliqué en championnat, le Stade Brestois a obtenu deux victoires sur ses trois derniers matchs. Présentation de l’équipe bretonne, qui accueille l’AS Monaco ce dimanche au stade Francis-Le Blé (15h), pour le compte de la 6e journée de Ligue 1 Uber Eats.

Il se passe toujours quelque chose au Stade Francis-Le Blé. Que Brest s’impose, comme face à Lorient il y a deux semaines (3-2), ou bien que les hommes d’Olivier Dall’Oglio s’inclinent dans les derniers instants, comme contre l’OM lors de la 2e journée (3-2), on ne s’ennuie pas à la pointe de la Bretagne cette saison. Une impression qui se vérifie rapidement dans les chiffres, puisque le Stade Brestois 29 n’a pas encore connu de match nul cette saison en Ligue 1.

Trois joueurs formés à l’AS Monaco

Après cinq journées disputées, les coéquipiers d’Irvin Cardona, qui a pris le temps de se confier avant le match, ont connu deux succès et trois défaites jusqu’à maintenant. Des rencontres systématiquement rythmées, avec des buts et du spectacle, ce qui fait de Brest la 3e meilleure attaque du championnat à égalité avec… Monaco. Mais aussi la pire défense de l’élite pour le moment, avec pas moins de 12 buts encaissés, dont cinq déjà dans l’enceinte des Bretons.

C’est même cette perméabilité défensive qui a empêché le SB29 d’obtenir le résultat escompté face à l’Olympique de Marseille, malgré 19 tirs tentés contre 7 pour l’OM, et une bonne quinzaine d’occasions. Les partenaires d’Ibrahima Diallo (en partance pour Southampton) et Romain Faivre, eux aussi formés à l’Academy de l’AS Monaco, comme Irvin Cardona, vainqueur de la Coupe Gambardella en 2016 avec les Rouge et Blanc avec le cadet des frères Diallo, ne refusent donc jamais le jeu. Même si Olivier Dall’Oglio a reconnu avoir axé les séances des derniers jours en partie sur le travail défensif, lui qui proposait déjà un jeu offensif et ambitieux sur le banc de Dijon.

Des atouts offensifs indéniables

Il faut dire que les Brestois ont encore encaissé trois buts à Angers le week-end dernier (défaite 3-2), ce qui porte à 2,4 la moyenne de but pris par match depuis la punition inaugurale subit à Nîmes (4-0). Malgré tout, les Bretons, qui ont terminé à la 14e place la saison dernière au moment de l’arrêt définitif de la Ligue 1, ont des atouts offensifs. Outre Irvin Cardona, arrivé en provenance du club de la Principauté à l’été 2019, et auteur d’un but somptueux à Dijon, Gaëtan Charbonnier, la recrue Steve Mounié et le latéral gauche Romain Perraud se sont déjà offerts deux buts depuis la reprise.

Deux autres nouveaux venus cet été ont eux aussi trouvé le chemin des filets, avec Franck Honorat et Romain Philippoteaux. Autre point important, Brest n’a perdu que trois de ses 16 dernières réceptions en Ligue 1 à Francis-Le Blé, depuis sa remontée dans l’élite l’an dernier. Les hommes de Niko Kovac auront donc fort à faire pour leur troisième déplacement de la saison, après le succès à Metz lors de la 2e journée (1-0) et la courte défaite en fin match face à Rennes il y a deux semaines (2-1).


Extraits des conférences de presse

Je n’ai pas peur lancer les jeunes. Ils peuvent commettre des erreurs, il faut savoir leur donner leur chance pour qu’ils puissent progresser. Je suis heureux de leur rendement jusqu’à présent. Parfois ils peuvent tomber mais l’important c’est qu’ils se relèvent et puis nous sommes là pour les aider. Cela fait partie de leur processus d’apprentissage.
Niko Kovac

Revivez la conférence de presse d’avant-match de Niko Kovac.

À l’AS Monaco, il y a un vivier énorme de joueurs en manque de temps de jeu. Pour des équipes comme la nôtre, c'est intéressant d'aller voir dans cette direction et ensuite regarder si on peut donner du temps de jeu à ces garçons-là. Engager de jeunes joueurs comme ça, ce sont des paris mais tout de même calculés. Nos recruteurs les suivent depuis longtemps donc on arrive à déceler un potentiel. Nos trois monégasques sont des paris gagnants en tout cas.
Olivier Dall’Oglio

Stade Brestois – AS Monaco en chiffres c’est….

. 23 : Le nombre de confrontations en Ligue 1, pour 13 victoires de l’AS Monaco, 5 matchs nuls et 5 défaites (41 buts marqués, 15 encaissés).
. 11 : Le total des confrontations en Bretagne, avec un bilan de 5 victoires monégasques, 3 nuls et autant de défaites (14 buts marqués, 11 encaissés).
. 56,5% : Comme le pourcentage de défaites du Stade Brestois face à l’AS Monaco dans l’élite, soit le pire bilan des 19 autres équipes de Ligue 1 contre les Rouge et Blanc derrière Angers (80%) et Nantes (57,1%).
. 76 : C’est le nombre de tirs tentés par les Bretons cette saison dans l’élite. Seuls Lyon (101) et Paris (77) font mieux.
. 16 matchs : Soit le nombre de rencontres consécutives au cours desquelles l’AS Monaco a inscrit au moins un but en Ligue 1.

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.