Close
Matches 04 October 2020, 17:16

Monaco's brave young side narrowly lose to Brest

Monaco's brave young side narrowly lose to Brest
AS Monaco lost playing a very young side away to Stade Brestois (1-0), on the sixth matchday of Ligue 1.

On the 6th matchday in Ligue 1, Niko Kovac was deprived of several players through injury (Golovin, Henrique, Maripan, Ballo-Touré) and suspension (Axel Disasi and Aurélien Tchouameni), the latter two being regular starters since the beginning of the season. The Monegasque coach decided to start in his traditional 4-3-3, with three defenders who were  Academy products, including Giulian Biancone at left back. Sofiane Diop started in the midfield three as Gelson Martins played on the left wing.

Pressure from the Bretons

As usual, Stade Brestois pressed from the start of the match, living up to their reputation as a very attacking team. After a first chance for Wissam Ben Yedder on a super delivery from Chrislain Matsima (8′), who was starting in central defense, it was the Bretons who found the opening goal. On a cross from Gaëtan Charbonnier from the left, Romain Faivre, a product of AS Monaco’s academy, couldn’t miss from six meters (1-0, 8′).

With the intense pressing by Brest, the Monegasques were nearly surprised again on a run by Steve Mounié on the right side of the area. But the strike was deflected by Benjamin Lecomte and blocked on the line by the very involved Chrislain Matsima, who was celebrating his first start in Ligue 1 (10′). Shortly thereafer, Gelson Martins scared the Stade Francis-Le Blé crowd with a curled shot that slipped a few centimeters wide of the left post of Gautier Larsonneur (13′).

Monaco are in control, but continue to search for a breakthrough

The rest of the half was largely a battle in midfield between two teams who do not want to leave anything to their opponent. Despite this, possession predominantly fell to the Monegasques, with 60% possession for Niko Kovac’s men, who still struggled to get close to the opponent’s area and offer much that was really dangerous, with only one shot on target among their nine attempts. Only a half-volley from Giulian Biancone made the locals worry, just before half-time, after a chance from Wissam Ben Yedder on a free kick, which was blocked by the wall (45′).

As a result, Niko Kovac decided to bring in the most recent recruit of Monaco’s summer transfer window, the Portuguese midfielder Florentino Luis, to patrol midfield in front of the Red and Whites’ defense. Despite this, the opposition started the second half as they had the first, with two chances in quick succession for Gaëtan Charbonnier (50′). It was only shortly before the hour mark that the teammates of Cesc Fabregas, now playing higher up the pitch, showed more urgency, on a cross from Giulian Biancone well met by a header on the other side, by Ruben Aguilar, who had scored last weekend against Strasbourg (60′).

The match changes its pace from the hour mark

Then there was a volley from Sofiane Diop at the edge of the are, following a mis-cleared ball in the center of the pitch (61′). To further this new period of domination by the visitors, Niko Kovac decides to bring on fresh blood. Stevan Jovetic and Enzo Millot, making his first appearance in Ligue 1, thus came on, to energize things in the midfield. At that moment, AS Monaco had five players trained at the Academy on the pitch at the Stade Francis-Le Blé, including Romain Faivre with Brest, but above all four “Munegu Babies” playing for the Red and White.

AS Monaco were fielding a very rejuvenated team, and bravely tried their luck against a valiant Breton team. It was this daring that lead to an off-target shot from Jovetic (72nd). Shortly thereafter, the staff of the Principality’s club changed the Monegasque eleven once more, with Pietro Pellegri and Willem Geubbels coming on just before the last quarter of an hour. Niko Kovac also made an important tactical change as AS Monaco moved to three at the back.

 

Monaco push but can’t make a breakthrough

This upheaval was even on the verge of bearing fruit through a header by Stevan Jovetic, whose shot passed very close to the left post of Gautier Larsonneur (83′). Once again Ruben Aguilar was brilliant on the right flank, even coming close to scoring shortly after Jovetic’s chance (85′). The Monegasques were pushing for an equalizer but the Bretons remained very compact with a block of nine players in midfield, protecting the penalty area.

AS Monaco eventually lost by the smallest of margins, despite having the lion’s share of possession (67%) and no less than 21 shots attempted. Despite the result, the Red and Whites remain sixth in the Ligue 1 table, three points from the podium.

 

Match details

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – Matchday 6

Brest 1-0 AS Monaco
Halftime: 1-0

Goals: Faivre (8′) for Brest

Bookings: Gelson Martins (38′), Volland (52′), Biancone (72′) and Matsima (84′) for Monaco; Belkebla (7′), Mounié (68′) and Lasne (84e) for Brest

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Matsima, Badiashile, Biancone (Geubbels, 75′) – Fofana (Florentino Luis, 46′), Fabregas (Millot, 65′), Diop – Volland (Pellegri, 74′), Ben Yedder (Jovetic, 65′), Gelson Martins
Manager: Niko Kovac

Brest : Larsonneur – Pierre-Gabriel, Duverne, Chardonnet, Perraud – Lasne, Belkebla – Faivre, Charbonnier (Honorat, 79′), Le Douaron (Magnetti, 88′) – Mounié
Manager: Olivier Dall’Oglio

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 04 octobre 2020, 17:16

La valeureuse jeunesse monégasque s'incline de justesse

La valeureuse jeunesse monégasque s'incline de justesse
L’AS Monaco s’est incliné avec une équipe très rajeunie sur le terrain du Stade Brestois (1-0), à l’occasion de la 6e journée de Ligue 1.

Pour cette 6e journée de Ligue 1, Niko Kovac était privé de plusieurs joueurs blessés (Golovin, Henrique, Maripan, Ballo-Touré) en plus des suspensions d’Axel Disasi et Aurélien Tchouameni, deux titulaires en puissance depuis le début de saison. Le coach monégasque décidait donc de démarrer dans son traditionnel 4-3-3, avec trois défenseurs formés à l’Academy, dont Giulian Biancone positionné sur le flanc gauche. Sofiane Diop démarrait lui dans le milieu à trois alors que Gelson Martins était positionné sur l’aile gauche de l’attaque.

Pression d’entrée des Bretons

Comme à son habitude, le Stade Brestois pousse dès l’entame de la rencontre, fidèle à sa réputation d’équipe très offensive. Après une première opportunité pour Wissam Ben Yedder sur une super ouverture de Chrislain Matsima (8e), titulaire dans l’axe de la défense, ce sont les Bretons qui trouvent l’ouverture d’entrée. Sur un centre de Gaëtan Charbonnier venu de la gauche, Romain Faivre, formé à l’Academy de l’AS Monaco, reprend victorieusement le ballon dans les six mètres (1-0, 8e).

Pris par le pressing intense des Brestois, les Monégasques manquent de se faire de nouveau surprendre sur une incursion de Steve Mounié sur la droite de la surface. Mais la frappe déviée par Benjamin Lecomte est dégagée sur sa ligne par le très présent Chrislain Matsima, qui fête sa première titularisation en Ligue 1 (10e). Dans la foulée, Gelson Martins fait trembler le stade Francis-Le Blé sur une frappe enroulée qui vient mourir à quelques centimètres du poteau gauche de Gautier Larsonneur (13e).

Une maîtrise monégasque pas récompensée

S’en suit une grosse bataille au milieu de terrain entre deux équipes qui ne veulent pas laisser la maîtrise technique à l’adversaire. Malgré tout le ballon est majoritairement monégasque, avec 60% de possession pour les hommes de Niko Kovac, qui peinent malgré tout à s’approcher des 16 mètres adverses et se montrer réellement dangereux, avec seulement un tir cadré sur neuf tentatives. Seule une demi-volée de Giulian Biancone fait douter les locaux, juste avant la mi-temps, après une opportunité de Wissam Ben Yedder sur coup-franc, renvoyée par le mur (45e).

Résultat, Niko Kovac décide de faire rentrer la dernière recrue du mercato monégasque, le milieu de terrain portugais Florentino Luis, pour surveiller l’axe devant la défense des Rouge et Blanc. Malgré tout l’opposition repart sur les mêmes bases qu’en première période, avec deux opportunités coup sur coup pour Gaëtan Charbonnier (50e). Ce n’est que peu avant l’heure de jeu que les coéquipiers de Cesc Fabregas, positionné plus haut, se montrent plus pressants. D’abord sur un centre de Giulian Biancone bien repris de la tête par l’autre latéral, Ruben Aguilar, buteur le week-end dernier face à Strasbourg (60e).

Changement de rythme à l’heure de jeu

Puis sur une volée de Sofiane Diop à l’entrée de la surface, suite à un ballon dégagé dans l’axe (61e). Comme pour appuyer cette nouvelle domination des visiteurs, Niko Kovac décide de faire rentrer du sang neuf. Stevan Jovetic et Enzo Millot, pour sa première en Ligue 1, font ainsi leur entrée sur le terrain, pour dynamiser l’animation au milieu de terrain. A cet instant, l’AS Monaco compte cinq joueurs formés à l’Academy sur la pelouse de Francis-Le Blé, avec Romain Faivre côté brestois, mais surtout quatre « munegu babies » au sein des Rouge et Blanc.

L’AS Monaco, qui aligne alors une équipe très rajeunie, tente crânement sa chance face à une valeureuse formation bretonne. Une audace qui mène à une frappe non cadrée de Jovetic (72e). Dans la foulée, le staff du club de la Principauté rajeunit encore un peu plus le onze monégasque, avec les entrées de Pietro Pellegri et Willem Geubbels à l’orée du dernier quart d’heure. Niko Kovac opère même un changement tactique important puisque l’AS Monaco passe à trois défenseurs.

Monaco pousse mais ne trouve pas la faille

Un bouleversement qui est à deux doigts de porter ses fruits sur cette tête de Stevan Jovetic, qui passe très près du poteau gauche de Gautier Larsonneur (83e). Encore une fois Ruben Aguilar était à la manoeuvre sur le flanc droit. Ce dernier est même proche d’inscrire un centre-tir dans la continuité de cette action (85e). Les Monégasques poussent mais les Bretons restent très compacts avec un bloc de neuf joueurs dans l’axe, pour protéger la surface de réparation.

L’AS Monaco s’incline finalement sur la plus petite des marges, malgré une possession largement favorable (67%) et pas moins de 21 tirs tentés. Les Rouge et Blanc restent malgré tout sixièmes au classement de Ligue 1, à trois longueurs du podium.


La feuille de match

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – 6e journée

Brest 1-0 AS Monaco
Mi-temps : 1-0

Buts : Faivre (8e) pour Brest

Avertissements : Gelson Martins (38e), Volland (52e), Biancone (72e) et Matsima (84e);  pour Monaco; Belkebla (7e), Mounié (68e) et Lasne (84e) pour Brest

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Matsima, Badiashile, Biancone (Geubbels, 75e) – Fofana (Florentino Luis, 46e), Fabregas (Millot, 65e), Diop – Volland (Pellegri, 74e), Ben Yedder (Jovetic, 65e), Gelson Martins
Entraîneur : Niko Kovac

Brest : Larsonneur – Pierre-Gabriel, Duverne, Chardonnet, Perraud – Lasne, Belkebla – Faivre, Charbonnier (Honorat, 79e), Le Douaron (Magnetti, 88e) – Mounié
Entraîneur : Olivier Dall’Oglio

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.