Close
Uncategorized 07 January 2021, 16:03

Marco Simone, a fox in the box

Marco Simone, a fox in the box
AS Monaco wishes an excellent birthday to its former striker, champion of France in 2000, who is celebrating his 52nd birthday today.

The blonde locks of Marco Simone are no longer there, but the statistics of the former Italian striker continue to impress in the history of AS Monaco. After giving headaches to Serie A defenders in an AC Milan jersey, the player of Lombard origin crossed the Alps to join Paris Saint-Germain in 1997, then headed for the Principality two years later, in the summer of 1999.

A very complementary duo with David Trezeguet

You would think history was written when he picked his number. In a bit of poetic circumstance, the former number 11 only needed eleven minutes to open his tally at the Stade Louis-II, on an evening in July 1999 when Ligue 1 would see the power of a combination between he and David Trezeguet. The latter would score 22 goals that season while the native of Castellanza, a small Lombard town of 15,000 inhabitants, would finish with 21 goals and the title of  assists leader in the league, with 12.

His adaptation to the Principality was more than successful. He would add further trophies to his cabinet, already well stocked with four Scudetti won with AC Milan. He would be crowned champion of France in 2000 playing under Claude Puel and he also took home a Coupe de la Ligue in 2003, won with Marcelo Gallardo & co, with Didier Deschamps on the bench for the Rouge et Blanc.

High-level statistics

With 99 matches played for AS Monaco, the milestone of 100 was very close. But Marco Simone would console himself with remarkable statistics: 44 goals scored and many assists (12 in his first season), during his stay in the Principality. He would then return to his country, once again for AC Milan, before having a last experience on the Côte d’Azur, making a brief return to the Rock between 2011 and 2012 on the Monegasque bench, synonymous with his first experience as a coach in Ligue 2.

AS Monaco wishes a happy birthday to their former striker, who is now turning 52.

 

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Carnet 07 janvier 2021, 16:03

Marco Simone, le renard des surfaces

Marco Simone, le renard des surfaces
L'AS Monaco souhaite un excellent anniversaire à son ancien attaquant champion de France en 2000, qui fête aujourd'hui ses 52 ans.

Les mèches blondes de Marco Simone ne sont plus là, mais les statistiques de l’ancien attaquant italien perdurent dans l’histoire de l’AS Monaco. Après avoir fait des maux de têtes aux défenseurs du Calcio sous le maillot de l’AC Milan, le Lombard d’origine traverse les Alpes pour rejoindre le Paris Saint-Germain en 1997, puis pose ses bagages en Principauté deux ans plus tard, à l’été 1999.

Un duo très complémentaire avec David Trezeguet

On pourrait croire que l’histoire était écrite lorsqu’il choisit son numéro. Comme un symbole, l’ancien numéro 11 n’a besoin que de onze petites minutes pour ouvrir son compteur but au Stade Louis-II, un soir de juillet 1999 où l’Hexagone découvre une entente fusionnelle entre lui et David Trezeguet. Ce dernier marquera 22 buts cette saison-là tandis que la natif de Castellanza, petite ville lombarde de 15.000 habitants, finira avec 21 unités et un titre de meilleur passeur du championnat grâce à 12 offrandes délivrées.

Son adaptation est plus que réussie. Il viendra rajouter quelques belles lignes à son palmarès, déjà bien fourni avec notamment quatre Scudetti remportés avec l’AC Milan. Suivront un titre de champion de France en 2000 sous les ordres de Claude Puel et une Coupe de la Ligue en 2003 remportés avec Marcelo Gallardo & co, avec Didier Deschamps sur le banc des Rouge et Blanc.

Des statistiques de haute volée

Avec 99 rencontres disputés avec l’AS Monaco, la mythique barre des 100 était toute proche. Mais Marco Simone se console avec des statistiques remarquables : 44 buts marqués et de nombreuses passes décisives (12 pour sa première saison), lors de son passage en Principauté. Il repartira ensuite au pays, une nouvelle fois du côté de l’AC Milan, avant de connaître une dernière expérience sur la Côte d’Azur. Attaché au Club, Marco Simone fera un rapide retour sur le Rocher entre 2011 et 2012 sur le banc monégasque, synonyme de première expérience en tant qu’entraîneur en Ligue 2.

L’AS Monaco souhaite un joyeux anniversaire à son ancien buteur, qui fête aujourd’hui ses 52 ans.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.