Close
Uncategorized 09 September 2020, 10:27

Monaco, 2nd place among clubs having supplied the most French internationals

Monaco, 2nd place among clubs having supplied the most French internationals
AS Monaco are on the podium among the French clubs having supplied the most internationals to the French football team since their debut in 1904.

The French national team has been around for 116 years, playing matches against other nations. The end of the first international break of the season, nine months after the last, is as such an opportunity to recall that the Principality club is one of the main suppliers of players in the history of Les Bleus As enumerated by the daily L’Équipe in its Tuesday edition, AS Monaco thus finishes in second place among clubs in France to have supplied the most number of players to the French national team.

AS Monaco has sent 67 players to Les Bleus

Just after Olympique de Marseille, who have sent 81 players to the French national team, AS Monaco club has had 67 players called up to wear the blue, white and red. Wissam Ben Yedder, a starter with Didier Deschamps’ Bleus against Croatia this Tuesday evening at the Stade de France in a 4-2 win is part of this long list. The captain of the Rouge et Blancs, who was involved in the first two goals by Les Bleus against the Croats, has been regularly called up by Didier Deschamps since June 2019.

He thus joins a long line of big names to have played at the foot of the Rock, and who have had a great career with the French team. We can cite here Manuel Amoros (61 caps), Champion of Europe in 1984, who remains to this day the most-capped player for Les Bleus during his career at AS Monaco. But there is also Fabien Barthez (37), a 1998 World Champion and winner of Euro 2000, Bruno Bellone (31), who was also crowned champion in 1984, and World Champions David Trezeguet (21) and Djibril Sidibé (18) .

Ranked fourth among French clubs for total selections

But AS Monaco has also trained other Les Bleus stars who have reached the top of the world, such as Emmanuel Petit, Lilian Thuram, Thierry Henry and Kylian Mbappé. An impressive breeding ground since the mid-1980s, this further propels the Principality club into fourth place in the ranking of clubs with the most international caps won. The Red and Whites have thus thus accumulated 545 caps, against 783 for the leader of this second table, which is still OM. These are figures that fuel the club’s pride in having so many important players in their history, the majority of whom were trained here at La Turbie.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Sélection 09 septembre 2020, 10:27

Monaco, 2e club ayant fourni le plus d’internationaux tricolores

Monaco, 2e club ayant fourni le plus d’internationaux tricolores
L’AS Monaco est sur le podium des clubs français ayant fourni le plus d’internationaux à l’équipe de France de football depuis ses débuts en 1904.

Voilà 116 ans que l’équipe de France existe et dispute des matchs contre d’autres nations. La fin de la première trêve internationale de la saison, neuf mois après le dernier rendez-vous en sélection, est à ce titre l’occasion de rappeler que le club de la Principauté est un des principaux pourvoyeurs de joueurs dans l’histoire des Bleus. Comme le rappelait le quotidien L’Équipe dans son édition de mardi, l’AS Monaco arrive ainsi à la deuxième marche du podium des clubs de l’Hexagone ayant fourni le plus de joueurs à l’équipe de France.

L’AS Monaco a envoyé 67 joueurs en Bleus

Juste après l’Olympique de Marseille, qui a contribué à envoyer 81 joueurs en sélection tricolore, le club du Rocher compte ainsi 67 éléments à ce jour, ayant revêtu la tunique bleue, blanc, rouge. Wissam Ben Yedder, titulaire avec les Bleus de Didier Deschamps face à la Croatie ce mardi soir au Stade de France (succès 4-2) fait ainsi partie de cette longue liste. Le capitaine des Rouge et Blanc, impliqué dans les deux premiers buts des Bleus face à la sélection au damier, est systématiquement appelé par Didier Deschamps depuis le mois de juin 2019.

Il succède ainsi à de grands noms passés au pied du Rocher, qui ont eu une grande carrière en équipe de France. On peut citer ici Manuel Amoros (61 sélections), champion d’Europe 1984, qui reste à ce jour le joueur le plus appelé avec les Bleus durant sa carrière à l’AS Monaco. Mais aussi Fabien Barthez (37), champion du Monde 1998 et vainqueur de l’Euro 2000, Bruno Bellone (31), également couronné d’or en 84, et les champions du Monde David Trezeguet (21) et Djibril Sidibé (18).

Quatrième club français au cumul des sélections

Mais l’AS Monaco a aussi formé d’autres stars des Bleus arrivés sur le toit du monde, comme Emmanuel Petit, Lilian Thuram, Thierry Henry et Kylian Mbappé. Un vivier impressionnant depuis le milieu des années 80, qui propulse même le club de la Principauté à la quatrième place du classement des clubs comptant le plus de sélections. Les internationaux tricolores Rouge et Blanc ont ainsi accumulé 545 capes, contre 783 pour le leader de cette autre hiérarchie, toujours l’OM.

Des chiffres qui alimentent la fierté du club de compter autant de joueurs majeurs dans son histoire, dont la majorité ont été formés ici, au centre d’entraînement de La Turbie.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.