Close
Reactions 20 September 2020, 00:53

Niko Kovac: "Regrets over the first half"

Niko Kovac: "Regrets over the first half"
Logically frustrated for his players following AS Monaco's first loss of the season, with a goal conceded at the death against Stade Rennais (2-1), the Monaco coach was keen to highlight the Red and Whites' performance after the match.

As Niko Kovac has announced before the match, this Matchday 4 clash in Ligue 1 would be his side’s first test. An so it was, resulting in a frustrating first defeat for AS Monaco. After having dominated Stade Rennais thanks to a goal from the captain in the first half hour from Wissam Ben Yedder (1-0, 28′), the Red and Whites saw Julien Stéphan’s men turn things around in just over ten minutes at the very end of the match. It was an undeserved setback for Niko Kovac’s squad, who insisted on highlighting his players’ first half performance in a post-match press conference.

Coach, what feeling is predominant after this match?

We are obviously disappointed to have lost in the last minute but it is part of football, you have to know how to accept it. My regret relates in particular to a very good first half, one in which we played with intensity, animation and a team spirit. We have a young team that must develop. We need to keep our heads up, to work hard and come back even stronger against Strasbourg to win our third match of the season.

Wissam scored a fantastic goal that few attackers can score. I told him he was going to get a brace, and his second strike hit the bar -- it will be one for next time.
Niko Kovac

What did your team lack to come away from this match still undefeated?

We created two chances to seal the result but we did not succeed. For their part, Rennes fought back and pushed us. It was in the small details that the game was turned upside down, but I also remember that we showed a lot of courage and battled well against one of the best teams in Ligue 1, a side who will play in the Champions League.

You announced at the pre-match press conference that Wissam Ben Yedder would soon score his first goal. You were not mistaken …

Wissam scored a fantastic goal that few attackers can score. I told him he was going to get a brace, and his second strike hit the bar — it will be one for next time. But I’m happy with his goal, it will give him even more confidence and it will probably be the first in a long series.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Réactions 20 septembre 2020, 00:53

Niko Kovac : "Des regrets sur la première période"

Niko Kovac : "Des regrets sur la première période"
Logiquement frustré pour ses joueurs à l’issue de la première défaite de la saison de l’AS Monaco in extremis face au Stade Rennais (2-1), le coach monégasque a tenu à souligner la prestation des Rouge et Blanc après la rencontre.

Niko Kovac l’avait annoncé avant la rencontre, ce sommet de la 4e journée de Ligue 1 était un premier test. A l’arrivée, première défaite frustrante pour l’AS Monaco. Longtemps dominateurs du Stade Rennais grâce à un but dans la première demi-heure du capitaine Wissam Ben Yedder (1-0, 28e), les Rouge et Blanc ont vu les hommes de Julien Stéphan renverser la situation en à peine plus de dix minutes en toute fin de match. Un revers immérité pour les protégés de Niko Kovac, qui a tenu à mettre en avant la première mi-temps de ses joueurs en conférence de presse d’après-match.

Coach, quel sentiment prédomine à l’issue de cette rencontre ?

Nous sommes forcément déçus de nous être inclinés à la dernière minute mais cela fait partie du football, il faut savoir l’accepter. Mon regret porte notamment sur cette très bonne première période que nous avons réalisée avec de l’intensité, de l’animation et de la générosité. Nous avons une équipe jeune qui doit progresser. Nous devons garder la tête haute, travailler dur et revenir encore plus forts face à Strasbourg pour remporter notre troisième match de la saison.

Wissam a marqué un but fantastique que peu d’attaquants sont capables d’inscrire. Je lui avais dit qu’il allait réaliser un doublé, sa deuxième frappe s’est écrasée sur la barre, ce sera pour la prochaine fois.
Niko Kovac

Qu’a-t-il manqué à votre équipe pour repartir invaincue ?

Nous nous sommes créés deux occasions de plier la rencontre mais nous n’y sommes pas parvenus. De son côté, Rennes a poussé et nous a fait reculer. Ce sont des petits détails qui ont fait basculer le match mais je retiens aussi que nous avons montré beaucoup de courage et de très belles choses face à l’une des meilleures équipes de Ligue 1 qui va disputer la Ligue des Champions.

Vous aviez annoncé en conférence de presse d’avant-match que Wissam Ben Yedder allait rapidement marquer son premier but. Vous ne vous êtes pas trompé…

Wissam a marqué un but fantastique que peu d’attaquants sont capables d’inscrire. Je lui avais dit qu’il allait réaliser un doublé, sa deuxième frappe s’est écrasée sur la barre, ce sera pour la prochaine fois. Mais je suis content de son but, cela va lui donner encore plus de confiance et cela sera sans doute le premier d’une longue série.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.