Close
WHAT A GOAL ! 09 January 2020, 14:34

WAG : Marcelo Gallardo, Prince du Parc

WAG : Marcelo Gallardo, Prince du Parc
On January 5, 2002, the 20th matchday of the championship led AS Monaco to the Parc des Princes. The Red and Whites beat PSG thanks to this delicious goal from Marcelo Gallardo, scored in the last moments of the game.

It is with a small nod to the calendar that we today, share this goal by the Argentinian playmaker, and current River Plate coach. But it is also a mea-culpa concerning his absence in the Top 100 that we had shown you during the end of year celebrations, to select the “Goal of the Century” among the thousand goals scored by the AS Monaco in the league since January 1, 2000. Indeed, this sequence by Marcelo Gallardo fully deserved a place in the Top 100.

We look back to the 93rd minute of PSG – AS Monaco on January 5, 2002, when “El Muñeco” is found by Shabani Nonda on the left side of the Paris penalty area. Facing several defenders, Gallardo controls, gets into a shooting position with his right foot and calmly loops the ball into Lionel Letizi’s top corner.

 

Two precious points

With this world class goal, AS Monaco managed to prevail in the last moments of a highly contested match at the return from the winter break. Behind after a penalty converted by Ronaldinho just before the break, Didier Deschamps’ men found the resources to equalize at the hour of play through young Souleymane Camara, then 19 years old. Gallardo’s talent did the rest.

Despite this prestigious victory, AS Monaco would finish this transitional season – the first of Didier Deschamps on the sidelines – in 15th position, while PSG will finish just off the podium (4th). However, this goal will brought two precious points in the race for safety. Marcelo Gallardo did not yet know it, but five years later his role would be reversed. Because on February 10, 2007, then a PSG player, he scored again at the Parc des Princes during a PSG – AS Monaco match, but this time contributing to a Parisian victory (4-2) … The red and white supporters did not hold it against him.

 

January 5, 2002 – Parc des Princes
Division 1 – Matchday 20
Paris SG 1-2 AS Monaco
Referee :
M. Duhamel
Goals : Ronaldinho (41′ pen) for PSG – Camara (63′), Gallardo (93′) for AS Monaco
Paris SG : Letizi, Potillon (Agosthinho 68e), Pochettino, El Karkouri, Cristobal (Mendy 68e), Dehu, Hugo Leal, Cissé, Leroy (ALoisio 30e), Ronaldinho, Ogbeche – Manager : Luis Fernandez
AS Monaco : Roma, Cubilier, Rodriguez, Marquez, Rool, Nyarko (Abidal 90e), Jugovic, Farnerud, Gallardo, Camara (Eloi 84e), Nonda – Manager : Didier Deschamps

Crédit : Jean BIBARD / FEP / PANORAMIC
Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
WHAT A GOAL ! 09 janvier 2020, 12:30

WAG : Marcelo Gallardo Prince du Parc

WAG : Marcelo Gallardo Prince du Parc
Le 5 janvier 2002 la 20e journée du championnat conduisait déjà l'AS Monaco au Parc des Princes. Les Rouge et Blanc y avait renversé le PSG grâce à ce délicieux but de Marcelo Gallardo, marqué dans les derniers instants de la partie.

C’est un petit clin d’oeil au calendrier que nous faisons aujourd’hui en partageant ce but du meneur de jeu argentin, actuel entraîneur de River Plate. Mais il s’agit également d’un mea-culpa concernant son absence dans le Top 100 que nous vous avions proposé durant les fêtes de fin d’année, pour élire le « But du Siècle » parmi le millier de buts marqués par l’AS Monaco en championnat depuis le 1er janvier 2000. En effet, cet enchaînement de Marcelo Gallardo méritait amplement sa place dans ce Top 100.

On joue la 93e minute de ce PSG – AS Monaco le 5 janvier 2002, quand « El Muñeco » est trouvé par Shabani Nonda sur la gauche de la surface parisienne. Faisant face à plusieurs défenseurs, Gallardo contrôle, se met en position de tir sur son pied droit et enroule tranquillement son ballon pour l’envoyer dans la lucarne gauche d’un Lionel Letizi désabusé.

Deux points précieux

Avec ce but de classe mondiale, l’AS Monaco parvient à s’imposer dans les derniers instants d’un match de rentrée très disputé. Pourtant menés au score après un pénalty transformé par Ronaldinho juste avant la pause, les hommes de Didier Deschamps ont trouvé les ressources pour égaliser à l’heure de jeu par le jeune Souleymane Camara, alors âgé de 19 ans. Le talent de Gallardo a fait le reste.

Malgré cette victoire de prestige, l’AS Monaco achèvera cette saison de transition – la première de Didier Deschamps sur un banc de touche – en 15e position, tandis que le PSG terminera au pied du podium (4e). Néanmoins, ce but aura apporté deux précieux points dans la course au maintien. Marcelo Gallardo ne savait pas encore que cinq ans plus tard son rôle serait inversé. Car le 10 février 2007, alors joueur du PSG, il marquait à nouveau au Parc des Princes lors d’un PSG – AS Monaco, mais pour cette fois-ci contribuer à la victoire parisienne (4-2)… Les supporters rouge et blanc ne lui en ont pas tenu rigueur.

5 janvier 2002 – Parc des Princes
Division 1 – 20e journée
Paris SG 1-2 AS Monaco
Arbitre :
M. Duhamel
Buts : Ronaldinho (41e sp) pour le PSG – Camara (63e), Gallardo (93e) pour l’AS Monaco
Paris SG : Letizi, Potillon (Agosthinho 68e), Pochettino, El Karkouri, Cristobal (Mendy 68e), Dehu, Hugo Leal, Cissé, Leroy (ALoisio 30e), Ronaldinho, Ogbeche – Entraîneur : Luis Fernandez
AS Monaco : Roma, Cubilier, Rodriguez, Marquez, Rool, Nyarko (Abidal 90e), Jugovic, Farnerud, Gallardo, Camara (Eloi 84e), Nonda – Entraîneur : Didier Deschamps

Crédit : Jean BIBARD / FEP / PANORAMIC

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.