Close
Matches 30 August 2020, 17:18

A courageous first win for AS Monaco in Metz

A courageous first win for AS Monaco in Metz
The Red and White obtained their first win of the new season thanks to a big show of solidarity away to FC Metz (1-0), on their first trip of the season in Ligue 1.

A week after their draw against Reims at the Stade Louis-II (2-2), Niko Kovac’s players were looking for their first victory of the season in Ligue 1. For the first away trip of the Red and Whites’ league campaign, the Monegasque coach had chosen to play almost the same starting eleven. The only notable change was Djibril Sidibé, back in group training this week, who was lined up on the left flank of the defense.

Badiashile is decisive again

The match started quickly the same as it had against Reims, with possession of the ball largely in favor of the Principality club in the first quarter of an hour. This domination was rewarded very early on, once again on a set piece, just after the exit through injury of Aleksandr Golovin (16′). Following a free kick from Sofiane Diop poorly cleared by the Metz defense, Benoît Badiashile, as he had against the Champagne side last weekend, hit the ball on the half-volley to send it into the top corner of Alexandre Oukidja’s goal (22nd, 1-0). Called up this week with the French U-21 side, the central defender scored his second goal in two Ligue 1 games.

Almost immediately thereafter, Benjamin Lecomte did well to save a free kick from the edge of the area by Farid Boulaya. The latter again tried his luck from 25 meters and narrowly failed to beat the Monegasque goalkeeper with a vicious shot (27th). The big save by ASM’s number 40 thus allowed his teammates to go in at halftime with a one-goal advantage. The players of Niko Kovac, who had been on the verge of doubling the lead on an attempt by Wissam Ben Yedder (45′), went into halftime ahead after a hotly contested half in midfield (15 fouls, 3 yellow cards).

A second half with ten against eleven

The match resumed along the same lines after returning from the locker room, and a foul from Youssouf Fofana on Victorien Angban resulted in a second yellow for the Monegasque midfielder (47th). The Reds and Whites were to play a man down for the entire second period. FC Metz pushed, but AS Monaco did not break as Benjamin Lecomte was saved by his crossbar on a point blank shot from Fabien Centonze (60′).

Standing confidently on his line, the goalkeeper stood out on several occasions, notably on a shot from Ibrahima Niane, which he tipped away for a corner (60′), and then a header from Habib Diallo (61′). Niko Kovac took the opportunity to bring on Jean-Eudes Aholou in place of Henry Onyekuru, to solidify the AS Monaco midfield. There was another opportunity for Metz on a set piece from Boulaya, who sent a shot towards Benjamin Lecomte’s top corner, to no avail, as the goalkeeper would again impress in the last quarter of an hour.

 

A victory full of team spirit

Lecomte moved perfectly to turn aside a header from Vincent Pajot from six meters (80′). FC Metz, with their numerical superiority, continued to put pressure on the Monegasque goal. But the defense of the Red and Whites held up well until the last moments. Even on a final free kick, the hosts were once again denied by Lecomte (96th), author of an incredible performance. Niko Kovac and his players therefore got their first away win of the season through their courage, having spent nearly 50 minutes playing with ten against eleven.

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – Matchday Two

Match details:

FC Metz 0-1 AS Monaco

Halftime : 0-1
Goals: Badiashile (22′) for AS Monaco
Bookings: Aguilar (19′), Fofana (24′, 47′) and Gelson Martins (42′) for AS Monaco
Dismissals: Fofana (47′) for AS Monaco

FC Metz : Oukidja – Centonze, Boye, Bronn, Udol – Maïga, Angban (Diallo, 59′), Pajot – Boulaya (Sabaly 79′), Nguette (Ambrose 70′), Niane (Yade, 70′)
Manager : Vincent Hognon

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Sidibé – Tchouameni (Maripan, 75′), Fofana, Golovin (Diop, 16′) – Gelson Martins (Geubbels, 75′), Ben Yedder (Jovetic, 75′), Onyekuru (Aholou, 59′)
Manager : Niko Kovac

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Ligue 1 Uber Eats 30 août 2020, 17:18

Premier succès au courage pour l'AS Monaco à Metz

Les Rouge et Blanc ont obtenu grâce à une grosse solidarité les trois points sur le terrain du FC Metz (1-0), pour leur premier déplacement de la saison en Ligue 1.

Une semaine après le match nul accroché face à Reims au Stade Louis-II (2-2), les joueurs de Niko Kovac étaient à la recherche de leur première victoire de la saison en Ligue 1. Pour le déplacement inaugural des Rouge et Blanc, le coach monégasque avait fait le choix de reconduire le même onze de départ. Seul changement notable, Djibril Sidibé, de retour à l’entraînement collectif cette semaine, était aligné dans le couloir gauche de la défense.

Badiashile de nouveau décisif

Rapidement le match part sur les mêmes bases que contre les Rémois, avec une possession de balle largement en faveur des joueurs du club de la Principauté dans le premier quart d’heure. Une domination récompensée très tôt, encore une fois sur coup de pied arrêté, juste après la sortie sur blessure d’Aleksandr Golovin (16e). Suite à un coup franc de Sofiane Diop mal dégagé par la défense messine, Benoît Badiashile, comme face aux Champenois le week-end dernier, reprend de volée le ballon pour l’expédier dans la lucarne droite d’Alexandre Oukidja (22e, 1-0). Appelé cette semaine avec les Espoirs tricolores, le défenseur central s’offre son 2e but en deux matchs de Ligue 1.

Quasiment dans la foulée, Benjamin Lecomte se signale sur un coup-franc des locaux frappé par Farid Boulaya. Ce dernier tente ainsi sa chance de 25 mètres et manque de peu de tromper le portier monégasque avec un rebond vicieux (27e). La parade du numéro 40 asémiste permet ainsi à ses coéquipiers de basculer à la mi-temps avec un avantage d’un but. Les joueurs de Niko Kovac, à deux doigts de doubler la marque sur une tentative de Wissam Ben Yedder (45e), tiennent le coup au terme d’une mi-temps très disputée au milieu de terrain (15 fautes, 3 cartons jaunes).

Les Rouge et Blanc ont plus couru à dix que Metz

Le match reprend sur les mêmes bases au retour des vestiaires, et une semelle de Youssouf Fofana sur Victorien Angban est sanctionnée d’un deuxième jaune pour le milieu de terrain monégasque (47e). Les Rouge et Blanc se retrouvent en infériorité numérique pour l’intégralité de la deuxième période. Le FC Metz pousse, mais l’AS Monaco ne rompt pas. Benjamin Lecomte est d’abord sauvé par sa barre sur une frappe à bout portant de Fabien Centonze (60e).

Imperturbable sur sa ligne, le gardien azuréen se met en évidence à plusieurs reprises, notamment sur une frappe d’Ibrahima Niane qu’il claque en corner (60e), puis sur une tête d’Habib Diallo (61e). Niko Kovac en profite pour faire rentrer Jean-Eudes Aholou à la place d’Henry Onyekuru, pour solidifier le milieu de terrain de l’AS Monaco. Nouvelle opportunité messine sur un coup de pied arrêté de Boulaya, qui termine sa route dans le petit filet de Benjamin Lecomte, lequel va de nouveau se mettre en évidence dans le dernier quart d’heure.

Il se détend parfaitement pour détourner une tête de Vincent Pajot dans les six mètres (80e). Le FC Metz, en supériorité numérique, continue de mettre la pression sur le but monégasque. Mais la défense des Rouge et Blanc tient bon jusque dans les derniers instants. A l’image de cette statistique : à dix, les partenaires de Djibril Sidibé ont davantage couru que les Lorrains (105,8 kilomètres parcourus sur tout le match contre 105,7 pour les onze messins). Imperturbables, même sur cet ultime coup-franc une fois de plus détourné par le portier asémiste (96e), auteur d’une prestation incroyable. Niko Kovac et ses joueurs obtiennent donc au courage leur premier succès de la saison, à l’extérieur, en ayant passé près de 50 minutes à dix contre onze.

Ligue 1 Uber Eats – 2e journée

La feuille de match :

FC Metz 0-1 AS Monaco

Mi-temps : 0-1
Buts : Badiashile (22e) pour l’AS Monaco
Avertissements : Aguilar (19e), Fofana (24e, 47e) et Gelson Martins (42e) pour l’AS Monaco
Exclusion : Fofana (47e) pour l’AS Monaco

FC Metz : Oukidja – Centonze, Boye, Bronn, Udol – Maïga, Angban (Diallo, 59e), Pajot – Boulaya (Sabaly 79e), Nguette (Ambrose 70e), Niane (Yade, 70e)
Entraîneur : Vincent Hognon

AS Monaco : Lecomte – Aguilar, Disasi, Badiashile, Sidibé – Tchouameni (Maripan, 75e), Fofana, Golovin (Diop, 16e) – Gelson Martins (Geubbels, 75e), Ben Yedder (Jovetic, 75e), Onyekuru (Aholou, 59e)
Entraîneur : Niko Kovac

L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.