National teams 11 November 2022, 11:08

Krépin Diatta and Ismail Jakobs head to the World Cup with Senegal!

Krépin Diatta and Ismail Jakobs head to the World Cup with Senegal!
AS Monaco's right winger and left back are among the 26 players selected by Aliou Cissé to compete in the World Cup for the Teranga Lions!

And two more to make it five! After Takumi Minamino with Japan, Breel Embolo for Switzerland and Youssouf Fofana with the French team, we now know that two more AS Monaco players will play in the 2022 World Cup, bringing the Monegasque contingent in Qatar to five — Krépin Diatta and Ismail Jakobs have been called up for Senegal by Aliou Cissé.

A first World Cup

It’s a big honor for the two, who will have the chance to play in the first World Cup of their careers. It will even be a first major international competition for the left back, who has only two caps after being called up for the first time in September. His teammate,  has already had the opportunity to in play AFCON  in 2019 (one goal) and has played already 26 games with the Lions of Teranga, at only 23 years old.

A group with the hosts

Present among a list of 26 players, Krépin Diatta, Ismail Jakobs and their teammates have been drawn into Group A with the Netherlands, Ecuador and Qatar. If the Oranje seem to be the top team in this group, everything is open behind to obtain the second qualifying place for the round of 16, a stage which Senegal have not reached since 2002 when they made the quarterfinals.

The two will also be accompanied by two former Academy players: Abdou Diallo and Nampalys Mendy, as well as former Monegasque Fodé Ballo-Touré. This is without forgetting the star of the team — Sadio Mané who has been included despite some doubts about his participation. Congratulations Ismail and Krépin and good luck!

Senegal at the World Cup:

Monday, November 21 – Matchday 1, Group A : Senegal – Netherlands,  17:00
Friday, November 25  – Matchday 2, Group A : Qatar – Senegal, 14:00
Tuesday, November 29 – Matchday 3, Group A : Ecuador – Senegal, 17:00

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.