Close
Matches 23 December 2020, 11:00

Focus on AS Saint Étienne

Focus on AS Saint Étienne
AS Monaco welcomes AS Saint-Étienne to the Stade Louis-II this Wednesday (9 p.m. behind closed doors), for the final home match before the end of the year. Here's our focus on Les Verts.

It’s time for the last match before the end of year for AS Monaco. The Red and Whites will host AS Saint-Étienne this Wednesday at the Stade Louis-II (9 PM, behind closed doors) to conclude the 17th Matchday in Ligue 1.

Five games unbeaten

With three wins over the first three Matchdays, then a slump until the end of November, AS Saint-Etienne has alternated the good and the bad since the start of the season. However, Saint-Etienne has been doing better over the last five matches. Les Verts recorded four draws (1-1 against Lille, 0-0 in Dijon, 0-0 against Angers and 2-2 against Nîmes) and a win on their trip to Bordeaux (1-2)  on Matchday 15.

The Loire club have won twice away in their last eight trips in the league, enough to place Claude Puel’s men in 14th place in the away table (as well as in the general table). The tactician will undoubtedly benefit from the recent return of Arnaud Nordin, the team’s form player with three assists and two goals.

 

A rejuvenated team

After the departure of club legend Loïc Perrin to retirement and rising star Wesley Fofana to Leicester, ASSE had to find alternatives to fill the shoes of these important departures. Central defence was a main project last summer for Roland Romeyer and Bernard Caïazzo. Slowly but surely, Harold Moukoudi has won a starting role starting the last seven games in Ligue 1.

As a bonus, he scored his first goal in green in the last match against Nîmes (2-2). Despite that, he will be absent for this match, because he is suspended. In front of him, the Cameroonian defender can count on his compatriot who is none other than Yvan Neyou, the revelation of this Saint-Etienne side since the resumption of the league in August. Launched into the deep end against PSG in the final of the Coupe de France (1-0), the native of Douala impresses by combining speed, physical prowess and vision, making him the centerpiece of the Stéphanois‘ way of playing.

 

Press conference extracts:

We are a great club, with a great team and we have to give everything to have a great game to end the year well. For that, it will be necessary to be at 100%, because we will face a team which has played well these last matches.
Niko KovacManager, AS Monaco

Read the pre-match press conference from Niko Kovac.

I don't have a preferred system, I adapt pretty quickly no matter the tactics. It’s the coach who decides that, and then it’s up to us to perform in matches in the positions we need to be in. I can adapt to any position where I am called upon. I try to help the team as much as possible.
Sofiane Diop

Read the pre-match press conference from Sofiane Diop.

AS Monaco – AS Saint-Étienne by the numbers…

  • 103: Number of matches in Ligue 1, for a total of 35 wins 26 draws and 42 losses (121 goals scored, 141 conceded).
  • 49: Total number of matches played at the Stade Louis-II, with a record of 22 wins 15 draws and 14 losses (71 goals scored 59 conceded).
  • 3-0: On May 20, 1961, the Monegasques achieved their biggest win the Greens. Lucien Cossou (double) and Théophile Szkudlapski were the scorers in this match played in front of almost 4000 spectators.
  • 10: The Rouge et Blanc have lost just one of their last 11 matches at home in Ligue 1 ( 7 wins, 3 draws).
  • 5: AS Monaco have won five of AS Saint-Etienne’s ast six visits to the Stade Louis-II in Ligue 1 (4 wins, 1 draw).
  • 134: Niko Kovac’s team have made 134 high recoveries (in the opposing 40 meters) in Ligue 1 this season, only Paris has done better in this area (149).
Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Matchs 23 décembre 2020, 11:00

Focus sur l'AS Saint Étienne

Focus sur l'AS Saint Étienne
L'AS Monaco reçoit l'AS Saint-Étienne au Stade Louis-II ce mercredi (21h à huis-clos), pour l'ultime match à domicile avant les fêtes de fin d'année. Focus sur les Verts.

C’est l’heure de l’ultime rendez vous avant les fêtes de fin d’année pour l’AS Monaco. Les Rouge et Blanc reçoivent l’AS Saint-Étienne ce mercredi au Stade Louis-II (21h à huis clos), pour le compte de la 17e journée de Ligue 1.

Cinq matchs sans défaite

Avec trois succès lors des trois premières journées, puis un passage à vide jusqu’à fin novembre, l’AS Saint-Etienne alterne le bon et le moins bon depuis le début de saison. Cependant, la formation stéphanoise va mieux depuis cinq rencontres. Les Verts ont enregistré quatre matchs nuls (1-1 face à Lille, 0-0 à Dijon, 0-0 face à Angers et 2-2 contre Nîmes) et une victoire lors du déplacement à Bordeaux (1-2) lors de la 15e journée de Ligue 1.

Le club de la Loire s’est imposé à deux reprises à l’extérieur lors de ses huit derniers déplacements en championnat, de quoi placer les hommes de Claude Puel à la 14e place au classement à l’extérieur tout comme au classement général. Le tacticien pourra sans doute bénéficier d’Arnaud Nordin, homme en forme du côté de l’ASSE. Avec trois passes décisives et deux buts, il est l’un des atouts offensifs stéphanois.

Une équipe rajeunie

Après le départ de l’enfant du club Loïc Perrin et de l’étoile montante Wesley Fofana à Leicester, l’ASSE a du trouver des alternatives pour combler ses départs importants. La charnière était un chantier principal lors de l’été dernier pour Roland Romeyer et Bernard Caïazzo. Doucement mais sûrement, Harold Moukoudi s’est imposé au poste de défenseur central, enchaînant sept matchs complets lors des sept dernières rencontres de Ligue 1.

En prime, il a inscrit son premier but sous le maillot vert lors du dernier match face à Nîmes (2-2). Mais il sera absent pour ce match, car suspendu. Devant lui, le défenseur camerounais peut compter sur son compatriote qui n’est autre qu’Yvan Neyou. C’est la révélation stéphanoise depuis la reprise du championnat. Lancé dans le grand bain face au PSG en finale de Coupe de France (1-0), le natif de Douala impressionne. Mêlant vitesse, impact physique et vision de jeu, il est la pièce maîtresse de l’entre-jeu stéphanois.

Extraits de la conférence de presse de l’AS Monaco :

Nous sommes un grand club, avec une grande équipe et nous devons tout donner pour faire un grand match pour bien finir l’année. Pour cela, il faudra être à 100%, car nous ferons face à une équipe qui revient bien ces derniers matchs.
Niko KovacEntraîneur de l'AS Monaco

Revivez la conférence de presse d’avant-match de Niko Kovac.

Je n’ai pas de système préférentiel, je m’adapte assez vite aux options tactiques. C’est le coach qui décide de cela, à nous ensuite de performer lors des matchs dans la position dans laquelle nous devons évoluer. Je m’adapte à tous les postes où l’on fait appel à moi. J’essaye d’aider l’équipe au maximum.
Sofiane Diop

Revivez la conférence de presse d’avant-match de Sofiane Diop.

AS Monaco – AS Saint-Étienne en chiffres c’est….

  • 103 : Le nombre de confrontations en Ligue 1, pour 35 victoires de l’AS Monaco, 26 matchs nuls et 42 défaites (121 buts marqués, 141 encaissés).
  • 49 : Le total des confrontations au Stade Louis-II, avec un bilan de 22 victoires monégasques, 15 matchs nuls et 14 défaites (71 buts marqués, 59 encaissés).
  • 3-0 : Le 20 Mai 1961 , les Monégasques réalisent leur plus large succès face aux Verts. Lucien Cossou (doublé) et Théophile Szkudlapski étaient les buteurs de la rencontre devant presque 4000 spectateurs.
  • 10 : Les Rouge et Blanc n’ont perdu qu’un seul de ses 11 derniers matchs à domicile en Ligue1 ( 7 victoires, 3 nuls).
  • 5 : L’AS Monaco a remporté cinq des six dernières réceptions de l’AS Saint-Etienne au Stade Louis-II en Ligue 1 (4 victoires, 1 nul).
  • 134 : Les hommes de Niko Kovac affichent 134 récupérations hautes (dans les 40 mètres adverses) en Ligue 1 cette saison, seul Paris fait mieux dans ce domaine (149).

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.