Close
Interview 12 March 2021, 11:24

Paul Mitchell: "Give young players the opportunity to improve"

Before the crucial match this weekend against Lille, the current leader of Ligue 1, AS Monaco's Sporting Director spoke about the club's strategy, which aims to develop young talent, while quickly getting back to playing in Europe.

He arrived at the beginning of the summer to lead in the rebuilding of the sporting strategy of AS Monaco. With his arrival and that of Niko Kovac, the Principality club has thus laid the foundations for a new era, with a strong desire to develop the academy’s young talents. Before facing the leader of Ligue 1 this weekend, Paul Mitchell took the time to outline the club’s goals, while detailing what has been put in place so far.

A desire to get back to European football and develop young players

“Niko knows that I am never satisfied (laughs). But I am very happy. After Christmas, the team did very well in coming back. Niko found a good balance in developing and improving our youngsters, whether it be the players trained at the Academy, or those that we have recruited… Their integration with the experienced players of the squad has been very good,” averred AS Monaco’s Sporting Director.

With his experiences in England (Southampton, Tottenham) and within the Red Bull group, Mitchell aims to bring the club back to a European level, thanks to this perfect mix between talented young players and experience. “At the start of the season, we said we had certain objectives. We want to bring the club back to playing in Europe, but also to continue to allow this young team to grow,” says Paul Mitchell. “The core, the heart of our project, will be the young players. Youngsters from our academy like Chrislain Matsima, Eliot Matazo, Enzo Millot, who are making the leap from our academy to the first team.”

 

Progress in each department

But the Sporting Director of the Rouge et Blanc does not want to stop there — these high goals obviously demand a high level of exigence: “For the end of the season, I want us to continue to grow, and to work hard every day. But what is even more important for me is is also to off the field continue to develop our high standards in every department: psychology, sports science, nutrition, medicine, the way we travel, how we recover… We have to push every detail to its maximum to be the best we can be.”

It’s his stated ambition, then, for the club to the reach its heights vis-a-vis its DNA: the training of young players, who can thrive alongside by highly experienced high-level players. Watch the full interview with Paul Mitchell below.

 

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Interview 12 mars 2021, 11:24

Paul Mitchell : "Donner aux jeunes l’opportunité de grandir ici"

Avant le match crucial de ce week-end contre Lille, leader de Ligue 1, le Directeur Sportif de l’AS Monaco s’est exprimé sur la stratégie du club, qui vise à développer les jeunes talents, tout en retrouvant l’Europe très rapidement. Extraits.

Il est arrivé au début de l’été pour reconstruire, conduire la stratégie sportive de l’AS Monaco. Avec son arrivée et celle de Niko Kovac, le club de la Principauté a ainsi posé les bases d’une nouvelle ère, avec la forte volonté de développer les jeunes talents du centre de formation. Avant d’affronter le leader de Ligue 1 ce week-end, Paul Mitchell a pris le temps d’exposer les objectifs du club, tout en détaillant ce qui a été mis en place jusqu’à maintenant.

La volonté de retrouver l’Europe et de développer les jeunes

« Niko sait que je ne suis jamais satisfait (rire). Mais je suis très content. Après Noël, l’équipe est vraiment très bien revenue. Niko a trouvé un bon équilibre entre développer et exposer nos jeunes, les joueurs formés à l’Academy, ceux qu’on a recrutés… Leur intégration avec les joueurs d’expérience du groupe est très bonne », a d’abord constaté le Directeur Sportif du club du Rocher.

Fort de ses expériences en Angleterre (Southampton, Tottenham) et au sein du groupe Red Bull, ce dernier a pour ambition de ramener le club au niveau européen, grâce à ce parfait mix entre la jeunesse talentueuse et l’expérience. « En début de saison, on avait dit qu’on avait certains objectifs. On veut ramener le club en Coupe d’Europe, mais aussi continuer de faire grandir ce jeune groupe, abonde Paul Mitchell. Le noyau, le cœur de notre projet, seront les jeunes. Des jeunes de notre Academy comme Chrislain Matsima, Eliot Matazo, Enzo Millot, qui grimpent de notre centre de formation jusqu’à l’équipe première. »

Progresser dans chaque département

Mais le Directeur Sportif des Rouge et Blanc ne veut pas s’arrêter là. Puisque les objectifs élevés demandent évidemment un niveau d’exigence élevé : « Pour la fin de saison, je souhaite que l’on continue de grandir, et à travailler dur tous les jours. Mais ce qui est encore plus important pour moi, c’est aussi hors du terrain. Continuer de développer des standards élevés dans chaque département : psychologie, « sport scientist », nutrition, médecine, la façon dont on voyage, comment on récupère… On doit pousser chaque détail à son maximum pour être les meilleurs possibles. »

Une ambition commune donc, retrouver les sommets grâce à l’ADN du club, la formation de jeunes talents, encadrés par des joueurs de haut niveau très expérimentés. Retrouvez l’intégralité de l’entretien avec Paul Mitchell en images.

Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.