Close
History 30 December 2020, 11:41

When Lucien Leduc put AS Monaco on the map in France

When Lucien Leduc put AS Monaco on the map in France
The iconic coach of the Principality club, three times champion of France with the Rouge et Blancs, would have turned 102 today, on Wednesday, December 30.

He passed away a little over 16 years ago now. A former player and French international (4 caps, 1 goal), Lucien Leduc first sat on the AS Monaco bench in 1958. At that time, the Principality’s record was still devoid of titles, and it was a real opportunity for the coach from Le Portel to show his skills in management and his tactical nous. Flamboyant football, as we have known it in other times at the foot of the Rock, was embodied by him.

The precursor of the beautiful Monegasque game

His style of play was the precursor of the beautiful game, an offensive game, which would highlight the sublime talents of players such as Michel Hidalgo, Jean Petit or even, later Glenn Hoddle, Rui Barros, Marcelo Gallardo, James Rodriguez or Bernardo Silva. Less than three years after his arrival, Lucien Leduc won the first trophy for the club, with the Coupe de France in 1960. As a symbol, it was lifted at the same time as the team adopted, for the first time, the red and white jersey, the famous Diagonale imagined by Princess Grace. The following year he won the club’s first French title with the generation of Michel Hidalgo (1961).

It was the start of a golden era on the French Riviera, won over by a team that plays well and wins. Two years go by, before the iconic coach of the Rouge et Blanc delivered the first and only double to date for AS Monaco (1963). The Coupe de France thus nestled for a second time in the trophy cabinet of the Principality club, like the French league title It was a culmination for Lucien Leduc, who decided to turn the page on Monaco to try his hand with Servette, Angers, and eventually Olympique de Marseille.

A successful return in 1976

He was, however, called back to the fold in 1976, when AS Monaco had just descended into the second division. True to his reputation as a winner and maker of champagne football, he built a team worthy of the name, led by young talents from the local region. Jean-Luc Ettori, Rolland Courbis and Alfred Vitalis came up alongside legends such as Jean Petit, Raoul Noguès, Christian Dalger and Delio Onnis. Things came together very quickly and AS Monaco immediately climbed back into the elite, under the impetus of their mentor.

The most beautiful set of prizes in France

Better still, the architects of this comeback offer themselves an unprecedented performance by winning the title of French Division 1 champion in the process. It was a double over two seasons, which put Lucien Leduc among the most important part of the history of the club and indeed French football. A true monument, he would end his career at the foot of the Rock with three league titles and two Coupe de Frances. But the greatest trainer of the 1960s and 1970s also won two straight titles with OM (1971-1972), with whom he scored a second double in 1972.

He was a great man of French football, and one who perfectly symbolizes the common history shared by these two emblematic clubs of the French championship. On this day when the greatest coach in the history of the Red and Whites would have been 102 years old, AS Monaco salutes his memory. Merci Monsieur Lucien !

Jean-Louis Campora celebrates his first title as champion of France in 1978.
1 / 8
Rise. Risk. Repeat.

But what are your cookies used for? 🤔

You accept them several times a day on the different sites you visit. But what do you know about them? These cookies are obviously not eaten, and they are not dangerous either. They just help us to personalize your internet experience. When you visit asmonaco.com, these allow us to first analyze the audience as well as the performance of the site. And they are mainly used to deliver ads and content to you that match what you like. Note that you can change your preferences at any time, thanks to the regulations on protection of personal data, and feel free to contact our team for any clarification. Thank you for your trust!

Strictly necessary cookies
This cookie allows us to retrieve the language in which your browser is configured and to store the choices you make on this page regarding your privacy.
Statistic cookies
We use open-source statistical measurement software for websites.
Third part cookies
To test the effectiveness of advertising on various websites using their services. And targeting, analytics / measurement, content personalization, optimization.

Fermer
Carnet 30 décembre 2020, 11:41

Quand Lucien Leduc mettait l’AS Monaco sur la carte de France

Quand Lucien Leduc mettait l’AS Monaco sur la carte de France
L’entraîneur emblématique du club de la Principauté, trois fois champion de France avec les Rouge et Blanc, aurait eu 102 ans aujourd’hui, en ce mercredi 30 décembre. Récit.

Il nous a quittés il y a un peu plus de 16 ans maintenant. Ancien joueur et international tricolore (4 sélections, 1 but), Lucien Leduc s’assoit pour la première fois sur le banc de l’AS Monaco en 1958. A cette époque, le palmarès du club de la Principauté est encore vierge de titres. L’occasion pour le coach originaire du Portel, de montrer ses compétences dans le management et sa science tactique. Le football flamboyant, tel qu’on l’a connu à d’autres périodes au pied du Rocher, c’est lui.

Le précurseur du beau jeu à la monégasque

Lui le précurseur du beau jeu, du jeu offensif, qui mettra en valeur des prodiges du ballon rond tels que Michel Hidalgo, Jean Petit et bien plus tard Glenn Hoddle, Rui Barros, Marcelo Gallardo, James Rodriguez ou encore Bernardo Silva. Moins de trois ans après son arrivée, Lucien Leduc décroche le premier trophée du club princier, avec la Coupe de France 1960. Comme un symbole, elle est soulevée avec la première tunique rouge et blanche barrée par la Diagonale imaginée par la Princesse Grace. L’année suivante il remporte le premier titre de champion de France de l’histoire avec la génération Michel Hidalgo justement (1961).

Le début d’une ère dorée sur la Côte d’Azur, séduit par une équipe qui joue bien et qui gagne. Deux ans s’écoulent, avant que l’emblématique entraîneur des Rouge et Blanc ne s’offre le premier et seul doublé à ce jour de l’AS Monaco (1963). La Coupe de France atterrit ainsi une deuxième fois dans l’armoire à trophées du club de la Principauté, comme le championnat français. Un aboutissement pour Lucien Leduc, qui décide de tourner la page monégasque pour tenter des expériences au Servette Genève, à Angers ou encore à l’Olympique de Marseille.

Un come-back réussi en 1976

Seulement le soldat est rappelé au bercail en 1976, alors que l’AS Monaco vient de descendre en deuxième division. Fidèle à sa réputation de gagneur et artisan d’un football champagne, il remonte une équipe digne de ce nom, emmenée par de jeunes talents issus du cru local. Jean-Luc Ettori, Rolland Courbis ou encore Alfred Vitalis sont encadrés par les cadres que sont Jean Petit, Raoul Noguès, Christian Dalger et le grand Delio Onnis. La mayonnaise prend très vite et l’AS Monaco remonte immédiatement dans l’élite, sous l’impulsion de son mentor.

Le plus beau palmarès de France

Mieux, les artisans de ce come-back s’offrent une performance inédite en décrochant le titre de champion de France de Division 1 dans la foulée. Un doublé en deux saisons, qui fait un peu plus rentrer Lucien Leduc dans l’histoire du club et du football tricolore. Véritable monument, ce dernier terminera donc sa carrière au pied du Rocher avec trois titres de champion et deux Coupe de France en poche. Mais le grand entraîneur des années 60-70 aura également raflé au passage deux titres d’affilée avec l’OM (1971-1972), avec qui il réalise un deuxième doublé en 1972.

Un grand monsieur du football français donc, qui symbolise parfaitement l’histoire commune que partagent ces deux clubs emblématiques du championnat de France. En ce jour où le plus grand coach de l’histoire des Rouge et Blanc aurait eu 102 ans, l’AS Monaco salue sa mémoire. Merci Monsieur Lucien !

1 / 8
Rise. Risk. Repeat.

Mais au fait, à quoi servent vos cookies ? 🤔

Vous les acceptez plusieurs fois par jour sur les différents sites que vous consultez. Mais que savez-vous d’eux ? Les cookies ne se mangent pas évidemment, et ils ne sont pas dangereux non plus. Ils nous aident simplement à personnaliser votre expérience sur internet. Lorsque vous visitez asmonaco.com, ces derniers nous permettent d’abord d’analyser l’audience et les performances du site. Et ils nous servent surtout à vous proposer des publicités et des contenus qui correspondent à ce que vous aimez. Sachez que vous pouvez à tout moment modifier vos préférences, grâce à la réglementation sur la protection des données personnelles. Ou bien contacter notre équipe pour toute précision. Merci pour votre confiance !

Cookies strictement nécessaires
Ces cookies nous permettent de vous proposer une utilisation du site optimale. Ils n'utilisent pas de données personnelles.
Cookies statistiques
Ces cookies nous permettent de mesurer et analyser le trafic de notre site web. Les données ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.
Cookies tiers
Ces cookies nous permettent principalement de vous proposer des publicités ciblées.