Close
History 18 November 2020, 10:30

They played for both PSG and AS Monaco

They played for both PSG and AS Monaco
Two days before the match against PSG, we look back at some of the 39 players who have worn the colors of both AS Monaco and Paris Saint-Germain.

It’s a story that is one that remains current between AS Monaco and Paris Saint-Germain, and you only have to look at the rosters of the two teams this season to realize it. A player trained at PSG plays for AS Monaco in Fodé Ballo-Touré, while three from the Rouge et Blanche Academy are in the Parisian ranks: Layvin Kurzawa, Abdou Diallo, and of course Kylian Mbappé.

Only four double champions

The latter of course is also part of a very small group of players who have been champions of France with both teams (in 2017 with AS Monaco, in 2018, 2019 and 2020 with PSG), along with Abdou Diallo (2017 with AS Monaco, 2020 with Paris), Alain Couriol and Omar Da Fonseca. An AS Monaco youth product, Alain Couriol won the title in 1982, before joining PSG, with whom he did the same in 1986. Today recognized for his talents as a consultant, Omar Da Fonseca won the title with PSG in 1986, before being champion with AS Monaco, two years later in 1988. Another player who was champion with both clubs is Layvin Kurzawa, but only in Ligue 2 with AS Monaco in 2013 , before winning four titles, three Coupes de la Ligue and a Coupe de France with PSG.

Prestigious names

While not all of them have had the joy of a league title with both sides, many have made their mark in the history of AS Monaco and PSG. Just a mention of their names is enough evidence: George Weah, Youri Djorkaeff, Daniel Bravo, Marco Simone, Marcelo Gallardo, Jérôme Rothen, Ludovic Giuly have all won at least one trophy with AS Monaco or PSG. In this prestigious list, Marco Simone joins Omar Da Fonseca in having first shone in the French capital, before doing the same on the Rock. Simone, who also coached AS Monaco in 2011-2012 was already a confirmed talent at international level when he arrived in Paris in 1997 after eight seasons at AC Milan.

 

Youri Djorkaeff and Daniel Bravo face off during PSG-AS Monaco. After winning the Coupe de France with Monaco (1985 for Bravo, 1991 for Djorkaeff), the two players together won the Cupwinners Cup with PSG in 1996.

Guignedoux, Rostagni, Rémond…

All the others were successful and made their international debuts in Red and White, before embarking on a Parisian adventure, sometimes directly (Couriol, Weah, Djorkaeff, Rothen, Kurzawa, Mbappé), sometimes after wearing the colors of ‘another club (Bravo, Gallardo, Giuly). Behind these big names in French and international football who wrote the history of the two clubs, there are others less known today who deserve their honors just as much, with Bernard Guignedoux in the lead. The native of Saint-Germain-en-Laye (yes, really!) was the first goalscorer in the history of PSG in 1970, a pioneer of the Parisian club’s beginnings in the top flight, before contributing to the return of AS Monaco to the first division in 1977, after having experienced relegation in 1976. At his side during his Parisian adventure, Jean-Paul Rostagni and Jacques Rémond had previously started their professional careers in the Monegasque jersey.

Poullain, from the pitch to management

Louis Floch and Jean-Pierre Dogliani did not meet on the Rock in the early 1970s, but subsequently played together at PSG, which they helped stabilize at the highest level in France, before the club won their first title in 1986. Fabrice Poullain also wore the Parisian jersey but he did not experience the same success after arriving at AS Monaco in 1988, in a team which had just won the title. A beaten finalist in the Coupe de France in 1989  (AS Monaco lost 4-3 against OL), the attacking midfielder subsequently assumed the function of general manager of AS Monaco in the heart of the 2000s. We could of course detail the contribution of each player who played with the two clubs, but that would require much more than an article.

 

1 / 9

On the coaches side…

This also true in that the players are not the only ones to have this common history. We can thus recall that Lucien Leduc was the architect of the first successes of AS Monaco in 1960, 1961, 1963 and 1978, before ending his coaching career at PSG in 1983-1984. In the opposite direction, Guy Lacombe was on the bench at PSG from 2005 to 2007, before joining AS Monaco in 2009. Winner of the Coupe de France 2006 with the Parisian club, he did not go far from doing the same with AS Monaco in 2010, but was beaten in the final by… PSG. The rest of his time in the Principality was much more complicated and it was after another Coupe de France match, this one lost against Chambéry that his Monegasque adventure ended at the beginning of 2011.

To be totally complete concerning the coaches who have traversed the divide, we also must make note of Guy Lacombe having succeeded a certain Ricardo Gomes on the Monegasque bench. A leader of the Parisian defense from 1991 to 1995, it was with PSG that he began his coaching career in 1996, before winning the Coupe de France and the Coupe de la Ligue in 1998. His period in Monaco, with his former teammate of the Parisian defense, Patrice Colleter, as assistant, from 2007 to 2009, was not as rich. More recently, Claude Makélélé completed his playing career at PSG, before starting that of coach, then occupying the position of technical director of AS Monaco for a few months in 2016. To complete this overview as it began, through the prism of training,  the current director of the Academy of AS Monaco, Bertrand Reuzeau, previously had the same role at PSG.

Ricardo congratulates Nenê in 2008. The player would join PSG two years later.

Complete list of players who have worn both the PSG and AS Monaco jersey

Goalkeepers: Daniel Bernard

Defenders: Fodé Ballo-Touré, Abdou Diallo, Arthur Zagre, Laywin Kurzawa, Eric Cubillier, Yvon le Roux, Jimmy Algerino, Daniel Zorzetto, José-Karl Pierre-Fanfan, Patrice Evra (réserve PSG)

Midfielders: Nenê, Jérôme Rothen, Edouard Cissé, Ali Benarbia, Daniel Bravo, Youri Djorkaeff, Xavier Gravelaine, Christian Perez, Franck Gava, Fabrice Poullain, Jean-Paul Rostagni, Bernard Guignedoux, Jean-Pierre Dogliani

Forwards: Jean-Kévin Augustin, Kylian Mbappe, Ludovic Giuly, Marcelo Gallardo, George Weah, Marco Simone, Michael Madar, Jérémy Menez, Omar Da Fonseca, Amara Simba, Bruno Rodriguez, Jacques Remond, Louis Floch, James Debbah, Alain Couriol

AS Monaco uses cookies on this website. With your agreement, we use them to access how this website is used (analytic cookies) and to adapt it to your needs and interests (customization cookies depend on your browsing and your browser). By continuing your browsing, you give us the permission to use them.

Fermer
Histoire 15 janvier 2020, 12:00

Ils ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco et du PSG

Ils ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco et du PSG
Nombreux sont les joueurs qui ont porté le maillot de l’AS Monaco et du Paris Saint-Germain. La deuxième confrontation entre les deux équipes ce mercredi soir est l’occasion de revenir sur cette histoire commune.

Une histoire toujours très contemporaine et il suffit d’observer les effectifs des deux équipes cette saison pour s’en rendre compte. Trois joueurs formés au PSG évoluent à l’AS Monaco : Jean-Kévin Augustin, Fodé Ballo-Touré et Arthur Zagré, tandis que trois joueurs formés à l’AS Monaco figurent dans les rangs parisiens, Layvin Kurzawa, Abdou Diallo et bien entendu Kylian Mbappé.

Seulement trois « champions » communs

Ce dernier fait d’ailleurs partie du club très fermé des joueurs ayant été champions de France avec les deux équipes (en 2017 avec l’AS Monaco, en 2018 et 2019 avec le PSG), avec Alain Couriol et Omar Da Fonseca. Révélé par l’AS Monaco, Alain Couriol a remporté le titre en 1982, avant de rejoindre le PSG avec qui il en faisait de même en 1986. Aujourd’hui reconnu pour ses talents de consultant, Omar Da Fonseca a quant à lui remporté le titre avec le PSG en 1986, avant d’être champion avec l’AS Monaco deux ans plus tard en 1988. Champion avec les deux clubs, Layvin Kurzawa l’a également été, mais seulement en Ligue 2 avec l’AS Monaco en 2013, avant de remporter trois titres, trois coupes de la Ligue et une coupe de France avec le PSG.

Des noms prestigieux

Si tous n’ont pas eu cette double joie d’un titre de champion, ils sont plusieurs à avoir marqué l’histoire de l’AS Monaco comme du PSG. Il suffit de citer leur nom pour que l’évidence en soit faite aux yeux de tous : George Weah, Youri Djorkaeff, Daniel Bravo, Marco Simone, Marcelo Gallardo, Jérôme Rothen, Ludovic Giuly ont tous remporté au minimum un trophée avec l’AS Monaco et le PSG. Dans cette liste prestigieuse, Marco Simone est avec Omar Da Fonseca, le seul à avoir d’abord brillé dans la capitale française, avant d’en faire de même sur le Rocher. Celui qui fut également entraîneur de l’AS Monaco en 2011-2012 était déjà un talent confirmé au niveau international à son arrivée à Paris en 1997 après huit saisons au Milan AC.

Youri Djorkaeff et Daniel Bravo adversaires lors d’un PSG – AS Monaco. Après avoir gagné la Coupe de France avec Monaco (1985 pour Bravo, 1991 pour Djorkaeff), les deux joueurs remportent ensemble la Coupe de Vainqueurs de Coupe avec le PSG en 1996.

Guignedoux, Rostagni, Rémond…

Tous les autres ont connu le succès et gagné leurs galons internationaux sous le maillot rouge et blanc, avant de tenter l’aventure parisienne, parfois directement (Couriol, Weah, Djorkaeff, Rothen, Kurzawa, Mbappé), parfois après avoir porté les couleurs d’un autre club (Bravo, Gallardo, Giuly). Derrière ces grands noms du football français et international qui ont écrit l’histoire des deux clubs, d’autres moins connus aujourd’hui méritent tout autant les honneurs, Bernard Guignedoux en tête. Le natif de Saint-Germain-en-Laye (cela ne s’invente pas !) fut le premier buteur de l’histoire du PSG en 1970, pionnier des débuts du club parisien au sein de l’élite, avant de contribuer au retour de l’AS Monaco en D1 en 1977, après avoir connu la relégation en 1976. À ses côtés durant son aventure parisienne, Jean-Paul Rostagni et Jacques Rémond avaient auparavant débuté leur carrière professionnelle sous le maillot monégasque.

Poullain, du terrain à la direction

Louis Floch et Jean-Pierre Dogliani ne se sont pas côtoyés sur le Rocher au début des années 70, mais ont par la suite évolué ensemble au PSG, qu’ils ont contribué à stabiliser au plus haut niveau français, avant que le club ne remporte son premier titre en 1986. Fabrice Poullain portait alors le maillot parisien. Il ne connut pas la même réussite après son arrivée à l’AS Monaco en 1988, dans une équipe qui venait de remporter le titre à son tour. Finaliste malheureux de la Coupe de France 1989 (défaite de l’AS Monaco 4-3 contre l’OL, ndlr), le milieu de terrain offensif a par la suite assuré la fonction de directeur général de l’AS Monaco au coeur des années 2000. On pourrait bien entendu détailler la contribution de chaque joueur ayant joué avec les deux clubs, mais il faudrait pour cela bien plus qu’un article.

1 / 9

Du côté des entraîneurs…

D’autant plus que les joueurs ne sont pas les seuls acteurs de cette histoire commune. On peut ainsi rappeler que Lucien Leduc fut l’architecte des premiers succès de l’AS Monaco en 1960, 1961, 1963 et 1978, avant d’achever sa carrière d’entraîneur au PSG en 1983-1984. Dans le sens inverse, Guy Lacombe officiait sur le banc du PSG de 2005 à 2007, avant de rejoindre l’AS Monaco en 2009. Vainqueur de la Coupe de France 2006 avec le club parisien, ce dernier n’est pas passé loin d’en faire de même avec l’AS Monaco en 2010, battu en finale par… le PSG. La suite fut bien plus compliquée et c’est après un autre match de Coupe de France perdu contre Chambéry que son aventure monégasque s’acheva en début d’année 2011.
Pour être tout à fait complet concernant les entraîneurs, on peut souligner que Guy Lacombe avait succédé à un certain Ricardo Gomes sur le banc monégasque. Patron de la défense parisienne de 1991 à 1995, c’est avec le PSG qu’il a débuté sa carrière d’entraîneur en 1996, avant de remporter la Coupe de France et la Coupe de la Ligue en 1998. Sa période monégasque, avec son ancien coéquipier de la défense parisienne, Patrice Colleter, comme adjoint, ne fut pas aussi riche de 2007 à 2009. Plus récemment, Claude Makélélé a achevé sa carrière de joueur au PSG, avant d’y débuter celle d’entraîneur, puis d’occuper le poste de directeur sportif de l’AS Monaco durant quelques mois en 2016. Pour achever ce tour d’horizon comme il a débuté, sous le prisme de la formation, précisons que l’actuel directeur de l’AS Monaco Academy, Bertrand Reuzeau, a auparavant occupé les mêmes fonctions au PSG.

Ricardo félicite Nenê en 2008. Ce dernier renjoindra le PSG deux ans plus tard.

Liste complète des joueurs ayant porté le maillot du PSG et de l’AS Monaco

Gardien : Daniel Bernard

Défenseurs : Fodé Ballo-Touré, Abdou Diallo, Arthur Zagre, Laywin Kurzawa Eric Cubillier, Yvon le Roux, Jimmy Algerino, Daniel Zorzetto, José-Karl Pierre-Fanfan, Patrice Evra (réserve PSG)

Milieux : Nenê, Jérôme Rothen, Edouard Cissé, Ali Benarbia, Daniel Bravo, Youri Djorkaeff, Xavier Gravelaine, Christian Perez, Franck Gava, Fabrice Poullain, Jean-Paul Rostagni, Bernard Guignedoux, Jean-Pierre Dogliani,

Attaquants : Jean-Kévin Augustin, Kylian Mbappe, Ludovic Giuly, Marcelo Gallardo, George Weah, Marco Simone, Michael Madar, Jérémy Menez, Omar Da Fonseca Amara Simba, Bruno Rodriguez, Jacques Remond, Louis Floch, James Debbah, Alain Couriol

Crédits : N. LE GOUIC/ FEP / PANORAMIC – Ph PERUSSEAU / FEP / PANORAMIC –  Panini
L'AS Monaco utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les exploitons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques) et pour l'adapter à vos intérêts et usages (cookies de personnalisation en fonction de votre navigation et de votre navigateur). En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez leur utilisation.